We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So happy to be back”

Review of Villa Eleni

Pool terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool terrace
The villa and pool Amazing infinity pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Pool terrace
The villa and pool
Amazing infinity pool
Infinity pool
Sunbeds and umbrellas by the pool
Outdoor garden furniture
The large pool
Roof terrace
Enjoy your breakfast under the shade
The house front
The villa is surrounded by colourful flowers and potted plants
Spacious living area
Dining area
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
En-suite bathroom with shower cabin
Douliana village
Douliana village
Small picturesque harbour in Kalives
Views to the White Mountains
Sandy beach in Kalives
Almyrida village
Chania Old Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Douliana, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Northernb...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“So happy to be back”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We’ve been lucky enough to stay again in Villa Eleni. Everything I wrote last year still applies. From the moment I first stepped out of the car to open the gate and heard the intense buzzing of hundreds of bees in the carob tree to the moment when we closed it, sadly for the last time to return home, we found peace and beauty there.

Once again the villa was spotless, well equipped and with some nice personal touches. The garden, which I love, was at a slightly different season this year. We enjoyed a large, flowering yucca while flame coloured cape honeysuckle scrambled to unbelievable heights through trees. The fragrance of jasmine and humming of bees was everywhere. We just couldn’t have asked for more. My husband would sit amongst it for hours - I rarely see him this relaxed. The infinity pool is a good size and depth for swimming and we did so every day of our stay. From its quiet, secluded position looking down a wooded valley towards the sea it was easy to believe that we were the only people for miles.

Douliana is a lovely village and is situated in a position convenient for driving to a number of attractive beaches (only 10 to 20 minutes away), mountains and good tavernas. Just wandering through the village lanes and gazing at the amazing views beyond is a pleasure. Douliana is a pretty and peaceful place.

The property manager Sandra, a lady with excellent local knowledge, visited us on the second day and was as welcoming and helpful as ever, finding us new places to visit and new restaurants to try.

We had a wonderful time once again, and would recommend a visit. The villa is spacious enough for a family and cosy enough if, like us, you’re just a couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablo44
Kent, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden…revisited”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit, having first discovered this treasure in 2016.
Villa Eleni is my favourite villa of those we've rented during our many visits to Crete over the last 25 years. Its position, in the picturesque village of Douliana in the hills above Almyrida with no close neighbours except sheep, suited us well as we come here for peace & quiet after a busy season at home. The sheep’s bells became the pleasant background sound to our stay and seeing them occasionally in the village accompanied by their shepherd makes for an ideal photo opportunity. The shepherd is a very friendly chap with white curly hair matching his sheep.

The villa is very well equipped and everything, including the free Wi-Fi, functioned perfectly. The design resembles villas in the South of France and the décor is pleasant and comfortable. Everywhere there is a feeling of spaciousness and having a large terrace is ideal for an ‘Al fresco’ breakfast, lunch and dinner. For sun lovers there is also a very large roof terrace.

The jewel in Villa Eleni's crown for us is the beautiful garden and large swimming pool. A small thing to point out is that pools towels are provided, so often missing at other rentals.
The planting is lush and imaginative and attracted many sorts of butterflies, moths and bees during our stay creating a constant happy buzz. The range of trees and shrubbery surrounding the villa makes for a very private environment, with a very green view down to the sea at Almyrida.

There are plenty of good beaches within a 15-minute drive. Almyrida and Georgeopoulis are probably the best known but our favourite was a long quiet stretch of sand west of Kalives. Having driven right through the town, turn down the little road to the sea opposite the big SYNKA supermarket, then left when you reach the beach. There are a couple of places to have coffee and eat but mostly it’s just sand, sea and views to the Akrotiri peninsula.

The village of Douliana is really peaceful compared to the seaside resorts yet it is only a short drive away from their abundance of coffee shops and tavernas.
The villa is also within easy reach of Vamos, an interesting town further inland as well as Armeni where on a Sunday, at taverna Drosostalia, you can experience lunch with the Greeks, an event I would thoroughly recommend.

Sandra, the property manager, will gladly tell you about many more places to visit, should you be interested.

We had a lovely time at Villa Eleni and hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie Ru...
Nr Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A tranquil, secluded, comfortable and well-equipped villa and pool,surrounded by captivating natural beauty”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This beautiful villa is set in a lovely hillside location in the village of Douliana, close to Vamos town and 5minutes from Kalyves on the coast. It is secluded and peaceful, and has very comfortable furnishings. The kitchen is wonderfully well-equipped and there is a tv, iPod player and wifi. A lovely, proper bathroom enables you to have a bath and there is an en-suite shower room in the main bedroom, which looks out onto the pines - a lovely sight first thing in the morning. The roof terrace gives you a glorious view of the hillside and ocean and is great for star-gazing and sun-bathing. A swim in the wonderful infinity pool surrounded by the captivating beauty of the garden and view of the hillside and sea is excellent therapy. The local taverna 'Heliostasi' is a few minutes walk away and has a great view and wonderful food. This is our 5th stay at Villa Eleni and we will be back again next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northernb...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“The villa is lovely but the garden is special...”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 11 nights at the beginning of October. The villa itself is spacious,spotless, comfortable and peaceful. It's very well equipped with a good library, dishwasher and other things not usually provided in villas we've previously stayed in. But the best part by far is the beautiful garden and the pool set in it. The weather was kind to us and we spent most of our time reading or having our meals by the pool and swimming in it. The gardens are the best of any villa we've rented in Crete over the last 25 years. We were told by the gardener that the lady who owns it is herself a keen gardener and it shows. Even in October there were many plants and shrubs in flower, providing colour and perfume throughout the whole area. We were lucky enough to be there when the brugmansia and Sternbergia lutea were at their best - a real treat. The pool area is secluded and quiet: little to disturb us but swallows and bats dipping into the pool and the continuous buzzing of hundreds of bees in the carob trees' flowers. Two cafes and a taverna are within easy walking distance in the pretty village of Douliana.
We booked through Authentic Crete and found them always helpful. They gave us invaluable advice on where to find the lesser known places of interest in the area.
We enjoyed our time there very much and would strongly recommend it to anyone seeking peace, quiet and natural beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and garden
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and inspiring writing.
It is so important to us, as well as to future guests, to read such genuine comments. To all our team, such reviews are of great value as they increase our motivation to continue and to always improve!
Looking forward to hosting you again at any time in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ks36
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful villa, lovely holiday!”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Eleni was beautiful! It was very well equipped and very comfortable. The pool was lovely, though may not be suitable for small children due to the drop over the infinity edge. The gardens were pretty and larger than we expected. It was completely secluded and had a sea view over the trees.
Sandra from Authentic crete visited us on our first day and was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We also hired a car through authentic crete and were very impressed with the service.
The village of Douliana is small, quiet and pretty. We ate at Ta Douliana four times during our stay and always loved the food and service.
The one small negative was that the cleaner came an hour early on our last day and started cleaning up after us, we felt a bit rushed out.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing