We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PLEASE DONT GO TO THIS ISLAND IF YOU ARE ENGLISH” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Djerba Sun Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Djerba Sun Club
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PLEASE DONT GO TO THIS ISLAND IF YOU ARE ENGLISH”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

I just came back from this Island on the 14th May 2011, it was bad, i stayed in the Djerba Sun Club for 1 week, i was the ONLY English person in there, about 10 Germans, Me and 300 French, the Hotel is all for the the French, and i understand that Thomas Cook are trying to break into this area, i will be E - Mailing them as well, The food was bad, Beef, Turkey, Beef, Beef, Turkey, the Beach was one of the worse i have EVER seen, Seeweed, Bolders, and dead Things ?, the pool bar was closed, i never found out why ?, so only soft drinks around the pool, or you could walk into the Main Bar and bring out around a quater of a pint of Lager if you were lucky, i dont run down where i go or stay, But Please be advised that you will be the Only English over there, i couldnt speak French and apart from that they dont like us anyway. Best of luck if you still go, Billericay Bobby

Helpful?
1 Thank Billericaybob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    511
    233
    89
    70
See reviews for
372
354
86
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

I had a funny week meeting new people there. But let's have a short look:

-First impression: Hotel was easy and clean. Rooms in the first floor less clean because of bugs and ants .. so we changed the room and it was better on the second floor.
-Restaurant: i didn't like the food ... but the food in general is fit to eat (i prefere more the food of my mom haha)
-Pool: if you don't want to fall in love with an animator, don't spend your time there! ;-)) I was the fulltime on the beach .. for people who likes to play volley and ride horses it's good!
-Show's in the evening: very professional.. there are a lot of artists who are wasted for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monbijoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dordogne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2007

just back from one week in this hotel and would rate it as a good holiday, I am an expat living in france and booked the holiday on a french website, flying from paris, the hotel and facilities are basic but clean and set in a nice garden area, the sea is only a few minutes away. The food was excellent although the breakfasts were a bit mundane and had no worries about any tummy upsets compared to staying at the sheraton sharm el sheik last year where I had food poisioning for a week. The staff are all friendly, but of course speak mainly french and a bit of german which you will find on most of the island, the souk at houmt souk is a pain with all the hassling but if you stand your ground and not be intimidated it is good fun, overall a good cheap holiday, compared to something the same price in say Spain

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank helart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa Sidi Mehrez hotels

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2006

I went for 2 weeks all inclusive at the end of Oct 06 with a friend. As a last min holiday for me and a mate - it was ok.
The hotel is part of a closed off complex which does make you feel better. The rooms are in seperate blocks spread throughout the complex. There is security on the front gate and a guard on the back gate.
The pool in the complex is lovely with loads of really comfy sun loungers available. The beach is just outside the back of the complex. The beach is nice. The hotel has its own little bit which has sun loungers and parasols. There is also a little kiosk bit for drinks etc. You do get a little hassled for horse rides etc, but they tend to leave you alone if you are English. They don't seem to speak any English at all so that does work to your advantage.
The food was ok. Was always something to eat as long as you are not too fussy.
The all inclusive alcohol was bad! only the beer was drinkable! The Germans and French all seemed to be able to drink the wine & cocktails but personally could not even stomach it.
The entertainment was the worst ever! Cringe worthy but again the other Nationalities seem to enjoy it!
All in all was nice for a 2 week last min get away for good weather at that time of year, but if I had gone with family, i.e kids etc I think I would have been very dissapointed. Make sure you speak either a little German or French or you will be totally stuck if you have any questions or problems.
Overall opinion : don't expect too much and you will have a good time!

  • Liked — cheap and cheerful
  • Disliked — Hassel from the locals
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not admit to speaking anything but English and you get left alone pretty much!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank aerolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunclubDjerba, Directeur général at Djerba Sun Club, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de poster vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor, et très heureux de vous accueillir encore une fois parmi nous.

Meilleures salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Sidi Mehrez
4.4 km away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
2.9 km away
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
SENTIDO Djerba Beach
#2 of 109 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
1.1 km away
Caribbean World Djerba
Caribbean World Djerba
#6 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Vincci Helios Beach
Vincci Helios Beach
#1 of 46 in Midoun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Palace Resort & Thalasso, Djerba
3.3 km away
Les jardins de Toumana
Les jardins de Toumana
#13 of 46 in Midoun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Djerba Sun Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Djerba Sun Club

Property: Djerba Sun Club
Address: Zone Touristique, Playa Sidi Mehrez, Djerba Island 4179, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Medenine Governorate > Djerba Island > Playa Sidi Mehrez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Sidi Mehrez
Price range (per night): $30 - $178
Hotel Class:4 star — Djerba Sun Club 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Djerba Sun Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Djerba Sun Club Hotel Playa Sidi Mehrez
Djerba Sun Hotel
Hotel Djerba Sun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing