We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely beach”
Review of Le Duc de Praslin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Duc de Praslin
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Le Duc is very nice hotel. My husband and I stayed in the eco wing and were very impressed with the room, which was spacious with a lovely bathroom. The room had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool, which was nice to sit out on, as it also had a comfortable daybed.

Breakfast was plentiful, including a great (and very friendly) omelette chef.

The walk to the beach was short and the beach itself is beautiful, although the sun does set behind the island, so you do miss out on the beautiful Seychelles sunset that you might see from other beaches.

We did not eat in the restaurant as there was only ever a buffet option, that was pretty pricey. The rule that men have to wear long trousers in the evening also put us off. The islands are very relaxed and the imposition of a dress code did feel a little out of place.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Le Duc and were impressed with the housekeeping.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissiJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Le Duc is an excellent option for your stay on Praslin. Is is not too big, giving an intimate feeling, but still big enough to ensure privacy. The pool is great! Le Duc lies a step away from the beautiful beach of Cote d’Or. Beach beds are available and complimentary for guests. Our room was beautiful, and the balcony perfect. Breakfast is available until 11.00, which is not very often at hotels! This gave us the chance to explore beaches in the early morning and still be on time for the breakfast. A special thanks to Lisa who helped us really well at our early arrival. We would recommend Le Duc for anyone visiting Praslin. Practical advice: Make sure you book the ferries in advance. We did not, and were limited in departure times due to availability. We rented a car at Maki Car Rental, which was perfect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

This is a perfect place to have a nice relaxing holiday. Good service, good food. I am from west coast Sweden, and if something is unique then west coast Swedish fish is the one. I was travelling a lot in my time, but fish was everywhere not good or just a fish food.
In my time on the Seychelles I eat nothing but fish. The price in the restaurant is like in Vest Europa a little more expensive, on the streets is like 5€ to 10€ but is something to try.

Room Tip: The hotell is just as it has to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JZL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

The room was beautiful and quite spacious. It was also well set up with drawers and shelves so we could take many of our things out of our luggage. I am not sure, but we were likely staying in the new eco wing as there was separate pool for use by those in our wing. Our only complaint with the room was that we had limited ability to reduce the temperature which made it too warm for my spouse to sleep comfortably. Perhaps this was part of the "eco wing" feature. There is a nice outdoor balcony with lounge chairs, however you essentially share the balcony with the room next door so there is no privacy. There is a partial divider, but one can easily walk from the neighboring room's balcony to ours. This could work well for families or couples traveling together that rent both rooms, but did not work well for us. While there was no beach view, we loved the location which was a short walk from beach and the village with multiple restaurants and shops. We had the buffet dinner one night. It was okay, but limited offerings given the cost. The staff was extremely pleasant and always asked if there was anything they could do for us. That said, they made it clear that they could not take away our sandy beach towels at any other time other than at night during the turn down service even if we took the towels down to the front desk. As a result we ended up with sand on the floor in our room. The hotel claims to have Wifi, but it never worked the entire 4 days we were there. Concerned that it was user error on our part, we asked about it at a desk in the lobby and the woman working (who said she was the manager) shrugged it off and said it did not work for her either. They should not say they have wifi if does not work. Would we stay there again----Maybe because of the very nice rooms and location and staff who were nice, but have a bit of a disconnect when it comes to fine tuning the service.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BonyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This was mine and my husbands second stop while honeymooning in Seychelles. My husband upgraded us to the honeymoon package which included a car rental, massage and candle lit dinner.

The honeymoon suite was beautiful and well kept! We were extremely pleased with the room!

The rental car was totally worth it! We were a little confused on how they have you return the car fuel wise. When we received the car, it only had 4 bars worth of gas (we had no idea how far four bars would get us) and was told to make sure when we returned the car, we had 4 bars of fuel in the tank...we over filled the car, and provided the owner and the next drivers with plenty of gas.

The massage was nice, a little strange, they were hard to book as a couples massage but they were able to make it work for us. When we showed up and the masseuse found out we were from the US, she immediately started talking to us about Trump... The actual massages were really nice, when laying on my back though, I noticed all of the black mold on the ceiling.

We were both really excited about the candle lit dinner, we assumed it was going to be on the beach and somewhat secluded from others. It wasn't, we ate the same dinner as everyone else, it the same area, the only difference was that we had flowers on our table. My husband was really disappointed because that was the only "candle lit dinner" he has reserved for us on the trip.

Over all we enjoyed our stay. There were just a few things that we had paid extra for and was expecting something a little different based on what we had seen at other hotels we had stayed at.

We also booked a book excursion through the hotel, it was nice but very confusing. We weren't really sure what we had signed up for. It was nice and we were happy we went, but it wasn't what we expected.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClaireHoneyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.3 km away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,464 reviews
4.4 km away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
824 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
2.4 km away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
615 reviews
1.3 km away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Duc de Praslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Duc de Praslin

Address: Cote d'Or Beach, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: AU$419 - AU$997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Duc de Praslin 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an 'out of this world' location combined with world-class facilities and amenities, it is no wonder that Le Duc de Praslin is often considered as the 'Jewel of Cote D'Or'! It is set on Praslin's outstanding Cote D'Or beach in the Seychelles. The turquoise sea lapping the fine white sand of Cote D'Or beach is your daily playground - just a few steps away from your luxurious retreat amidst lush tropical gardens. Your ideal dream holiday becomes a reality with the widest choice of luxury accommodation and exquisite dining options. Le Duc de Praslin offers the holiday of a lifetime with true Seychellois hospitality and exceptional value. Extensive improvements and new additions to its facilities have won Le Duc de Praslin many awards to position it amongst the best hotels of Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Duc de Praslin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Duc De Praslin Hotel Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Island
Le Duc De Praslin Praslin Island, Seychelles - Anse Volbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing