We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but ordinary food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Anse Volbert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We had an enjoyable 3 nights stay at this hotel during mid November. The location of the hotel is beautiful and secluded. In this context, if you drive like we did, then it is quite easy to miss the gate of this property since the sign board is not very prominent. So if you see the signboard of Raffels, take a u turn.
We found the hotel to be quite well maintained and all the common areas and our room were very clean. Our family suite had a very large bedroom, a separate seating area, a big bathroom and a terrace with seating arrangements. The room had enough storage space and also had tea/coffee facility and a room safe. The bathroom had the usual amenities but there was no bedroom slippers. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked perfectly.
We opted for half board, so had our dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast was ok but seeing birds pecking at porridge serving spoon was bit off putting. Our big disappointment was the dinner food. It is not that we were expecting exceptional food but the overall quality was not good at all. This was particularly true for the desserts. Since the hotel is not within walking distance from any outside restaurants, half board is the most convenient option, but be aware that you may have to accept extremely sweet Chili Chicken, hard to chew beef and some dubious sweet dishes.
So far the staff attitude is concerned we found them generally to be polite and helpful but the reception staff can add a smile or two to improve the experience. Saying that I also should mention that the lady who showed us our room was very friendly and cordial.
The hotel pool is large and well maintained. The beach was good too particularly during high tides. There is a staircase at the right side of the beach which takes you to a even more secluded part of the beach and allows you a nice view of the hotel.
Overall a positive experience but they need to improve the food quality to make the experience better.

Room Tip: Select the rooms which are directly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Teertha,

We thank you for your kind review and for staying at Le Domaine de la Reserve.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again in a heartbeat.
I am disappointed that you have not enjoyed our buffets, kitchen team offers different themes with different dishes, so that all the world can find are culinary happiness.

We do care about our guests, and strive to ensure that they enjoy a memorable time with us. Should you ever visit the Seychelles in the future, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back .

Sunshine regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in early November and it was very easy to have an enjoyable break here. The resort is relatively small, and a lot of rooms including ours were right on the waterfront - we walked a few yards off our balcony to get into the water. The balcony included a drying rack, as well as chairs , table and loungers; very handy. The room was well equipped, and included both a bath and a sizeable shower room.
Breakfast and dinner are served in the main restaurant in a buffet fashion, while lunch and complementary afternoon tea are served in the poolside bar. I imagine this could be a little boring for a week or more but was fine for a few days. However I found the food was of a good standard, with plenty of choice for breakfast and different themed buffets each night. The octopus curry for lunch was excellent!
There is plenty of life in the water, although close in there is little coral to start with; however swimming out 30 metres or so there are some lovely coral formations and plenty of fish to go with them.
We had a superb half day trip organised by the hotel, with an excellent snorkelling site and a tour of the nearby Curieuse island with their colony of giant tortoises.
A convenient way of getting around the island is the local bus service; this stops just outside the hotel so we used this one day to visit the Vallee de Mai and travel a bit. Very cheap and fun if busy at times!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShedUpperMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments after you stayed with us on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you enjoyed and keep a good memory of your holiday spending with us at Le domaine de la Reserve
We hope to have another chance to welcome you in the near future and wish you a nice day.

Sunshine regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel does not match up to the good reviews we saw on bookings. Pool facility and location is nice. Service and food is medium. Water in the bay is pretty shallow and there is lots of seaweed - not great for swimming.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jeansse2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments after you stayed with us on Tripadvisor.
We highly value your feedback as it serves to help us improve our services where they may not be to our guests’ satisfaction.I regret the disappointing experiences with certain services in our hotel that happened during your stay with us.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you in the near future and wish you a nice day.

Sunshine regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

the hotel has excellent structure, pool and view but lousy service! people closed, coarse, poor maintenance! dinner with very low variety and low cost food! We stayed for 3 days, two of us without water in the toilet at night, and there was no one at the front desk to help, only a security guard who said nothing could do! The first night there were animals (birds or bats) inside the attic, and no one could help, just the security at the front desk! Great disappointment! Does not match a 4 star hotel ever! Conservation of hotel clearly bad! Weak foods and closed-minded people! I will not go back there!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

We appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your experience.
We remember you very well, and we were disappointed that you did not have a holiday that lived up to your expectations and that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We strive to offer all our guests a stay that is comfortable, enjoyable and memorable and unfortunately we did not succeed during your time with you.
Concerning the "animal" you called the reception and one of our maintenance staff came to see what it was ...and it was geko.
Management team endure to speak to and greet all our guests at Le Domaine de la Reserve and ensure that everyone is having a pleasant time.
Our only aim is to make each guest feel special and to provide a memorable experience.

We do hope that should you ever visit the Seychelles in the future, you give us another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a memorable experience.

Sunshine Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Le Domaine was our first hotel in the Seychelles and made us think that we are the most important guests in the hole of Seychelles.
A great place to be from the arrival to departure. the staff treats you great, they are so welcoming.
the facilities are great and the restaurant is wonderful, located on the ocean it is just perfect.
the bar in the swimming pool is fantastic

Room Tip: the couple suits are enormous rooms with great ocean and sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Aviv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Domaine C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Domaine de La Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review!! Thank you so much !
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us; from our beautiful beaches, services provided, to the dining experiences…
Along with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Domaine de la Reserve in the very near future.

Sunshine Regards,

chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Volbert
0.7 km away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,459 reviews
11.2 km away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 km away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
823 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
615 reviews
5.6 km away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine de La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de La Reserve

Address: | Anse Petite Cour, Anse Volbert, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Volbert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Anse Volbert
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anse Volbert
Price Range: $463 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Domaine de La Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover warm hospitality and Luxury at Le Domaine de La Reserve, a hotel on the north east of Praslin in a National Marine park. Our intimate beachfront hotel is a rare gem surrounded by unobstructed and breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean.Located on a private estate with its very own private beach in the secluded bay of Anse Petite Cour, Le Domaine de la Reserve is reputed to be a leading hotel of the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Le Domaine de La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Praslin Island
Hotel La Reserve
La Reserve Seychelles
Le Domaine De La Reserve Praslin Island, Seychelles - Anse Volbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing