We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and location”
Review of Portofico Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vasiliki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portofico Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Vasiliki
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We returned to Vassiliki after 19 years - we had been to Vass 4 times previously. On the basis of our knowledge and this site we booked Portofico Hotel. I was pleasantly surprised that many of our favourite restaurants/bars were still there and shared stories with the owners of our previous visits. Its still a very quaint place and was happy to return.

Jane, one of the owners was a great communicator on email and made us feel very welcome when we arrived. She is australian and her husband Greek. We were a family of 4 all sharing one room as the 2 bedroom room was already taken. There was plenty of room with our bed, single bed and a rollaway bed. The view over the beach was just magnificent. For all of us we loved the fact you could walk from the dining room/lobby area down the steps to the pool/lounge beds, then down to a big grass area where my children loved the tightrope and my youngest the little sandpit area, then from the grass you were on the pebble beach then the sea.

We also chose it as it had a windsurfing centre at the bottom of the pathway with a good selection of boards, sails and lessons should you require and we could pay by the hour. You get 10% discount being a hotel guest. We did need to buy water shoes from the local supermarket as we found walking over the pebbles in the sea quite painful!

Breakfast was sufficient for all of us with lovely home made breads, cakes etc. Outside a bar area served snacks/drinks - we had a large greek salad which we had everyday and my daughter loved the hot dog and chips - the waitress was always full of smiles and would bring the food to us where ever we were sitting.

Jane and her husband were very helpful and friendly and always happy to help.

We did walk down into the town but since we had a hire car we drove. The hotel is based Ponti end of the beach where there are a lot of restaurants which were a shorter distance.

My only comment I would say is I wish there was a mini kettle, tea/coffee facility in the room as waiting for everyone to organise themselves for getting dressed for the day I would have loved to have sat with a cup of tea on the balcony. I would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Always go for a seaview room as the views are just amazing, the mountain side rooms look out over on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumofeleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have stayed in vassiliki twice now and we keep coming back to the Portofico hotel.
It has by far the best ad most picturesque beach side hotel set up with pool, grass and trees overlooking Ponti beach. Our sea side view in the morning on our balcony was heaven and the service and accommodation was just what we were looking for.

Perfect for families or couples!

I highly recommend this for anyone visiting not only vassiliki but lefkada!

Room Tip: Seaside views are special, though the Mountain view are still beautiful too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissieA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We are a young australian family, 2 boys aged 7 & 4. Had never travelled out of australia with the kids before so was very nervewracking being met with the chaos of athens. However once we arrived at the Porto Fico we were instantly at ease. The owners are extremely welcoming and genuinly honest & friendly> (which we have discovered can be a little hard to come by in some parts of greece) they spoke and understood english which was defiantly a bonus!
The pool was perfect for all of us, with a shallow kids pool on one end, and a deep end that noone can stand in! The staff were all friendly, the drinks always cold and the breakfast had something for everyone!

We travelled to zakynthos for a few days and found that we even missed the Porto Fico!! On our return to the Porto Fico we got that feeling of 'ahhh feels good to be home' that you get!!
Central location to board the cruise boats that travel to some of the best beaches ive seen!

Overall, we love this place and would recommend it to everyone we can who is after a nice relaxing, stress free holiday in an awesome village with fantastic shops within walking distance!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank outNboutNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I don't understand how this is rated number 6. The accommodation was spotless, offered wireless internet and full buffet breakfast, we ate so much. There was a pool with a bar that was perfect for the end of day and the staff all were friendly and helpful One of our boys had windsurfing lessons right out front of the hotel and we had plenty of parking for our car and bikes which we hired from up the street. Close by there was a water sports with activities for the kids.The restaurants had fresh food and we ate crepes to die for in the early hours of the morning. We would rate this hotel as the best and definitely will come back, no matter which room is available. Perfect spot for us and the kids. Oh and the price was relatively cheap.
Hmm maybe I should have kept this a secret!!

Room Tip: We preferred seaview as they had balconies with great scenery and we could keep an eye on the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carmine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at Portofico for 5 days in early September 2011. The room was spacious and very clean, with fridge and freezer section, facing the sea. There is a lift to make moving with heavy suitcases easier. There parking lot is large enough to accommodate all guests.
The hotel is situated right on the beach with a nice lawn between the pebble beach (the pebbles being a bit large and rough though) and the pool.
This is the ideal location for windserfers, and although I am not one of them I enjoyed our stay there a lot. The breakfast is fantastic with the greatest choice I've ever seen during my viists to Greece.
There is no restaurant and actually you don't need one, since the Vassiliki taverns are just a stone's throw away from the hotel. Otherwise you may not even get out of the hotel.
From the Vassiliki port you can get a boat to Porto Kastiki, Egremni and Agiofili beach. Nidri is 20 min away by car.

I can surely recommend Portofico even to non-surfers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
0 km away
Grand Nefeli
Grand Nefeli
#6 of 12 in Vasiliki
146 reviews
0 km away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#2 of 12 in Vasiliki
82 reviews
0 km away
Thomais Boutique Hotel
Thomais Boutique Hotel
#7 of 12 in Nikiana
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#14 of 76 in Lefkada
121 reviews
0 km away
Enodia Hotel
Enodia Hotel
#3 of 12 in Vasiliki
318 reviews
0 km away
Maistrali
Maistrali
#10 of 12 in Vasiliki
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofico Hotel

Address: Ponti Beach, Vasiliki 310 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vasiliki
Price Range: $100 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Portofico Hotel Lefkada/Vasiliki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing