We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine greek hospitallity!!!!”
Review of Grand Nefeli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Nefeli
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Vasiliki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Our stay was wonderful!!!
The ambient was excellent, our room very clean and comfortable. Everyone was helping us with everything we need ..information about the island, where to go, what to do, helping us to orginize our everyday activities... Goodhearted people, genuine & caring!!! The restaurant was excellent & the bar too. We also tried to windsurf & it was a wonderful experience!!!!
Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Try to windsurf :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spkatsoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

32 - 36 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2015

We spent a week here with friends who have also commented accordingly below. There is clearly an issue with admin at the hotel, which resulted in considerable problems regarding room allocations. The main issue stemmed from inaccurate room descriptions. The Grand Suite details 'balcony with sea view'. However, there is a Grand Suite on the ground floor which is dingy and certainly doesn't have a sea view as it's blocked by bougainvillea and even beyond the bougainvillea is the unattractive dining area off the beach. The owner and manager were indeed reluctant to refund the difference between this room and the Junior Suite, for the simple reason they didn't want to give back money. They did finally understand that the description on their website doesn't match reality, and said they would change it accordingly. As of today it remains unchanged which is totally unacceptable and disrespectful.
We also had lunch there on the first day, and quickly understood that it is not a place for dining. The 'Nachos' on the menu were literally just that topped with only melted cheese! Despite the description of sauce etc. We sent it back and it returned with an unpalatable squirty cheese sauce (as well as the melted cheese)!
On check out we queried the lunch bill as my wife said she'd paid cash at the time. However, they were unable to provide a copy of the receipt, even thought they's charged 23% tax on it! What's interesting is that vat has increased from 13% to 23% in order to address the defecit, yet it is clear that for many of the restaurant owners, this is just additional profit that isn't being declared. With so many tourists paying with cash (especially this summer), there is probably less tax being paid than ever before, and increased margins being enjoyed by the restaurants instead!....
Positives include an over-worked receptionist with a good attitude and another good over-worked beach waiter.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Nefeli in october 2013, the stay was amazing and the staff was great and helpful. The beach was beautiful and the water crystal clear, there was alot of good restuarants near the hotel with great views. We would love to visit again sometime.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Isabell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Having Googled 'star ratings in Greece', it seems that the Greeks are able to award themselves their own ratings..... This is not a 4 start hotel as we understand it in the UK. Additionally, be aware that some of the rooms in the hotel are NOT as they appear on their website.

I don't normally moan - and if I have a problem, I tend to forget it....if it is sorted out and handled well. However, I feel I need to forewarn further guests:

We booked a Grande Suite and requested it to be on the top floor. We booked this specifically because we wanted the promised 'amazing sea view...' and the seperate bedroom (family with teenage boys). We arrived and were given a ground floor room with absolutely no view (as it was hidden behind a big bush). It was dark, dreary and absolutely not worth the price we had paid for the week.

After much haggling, we were moved to a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor - which was much more along the lines of what you see on the website. However, it was 840 euros cheaper than the Grand Suite (for the week) and did not have the seperate bedroom.

Intitally, it did not look like we would receive any refund - the manager was trying to sort something else out and really didn't understand our problem. After waiting until the next day, the alternative solutions offered were not satisfactory, so we asked for the refund. This took some strong negotiation, with the manager, owner (his mother) and the poor hard-working receptionist. They did not seem to understand why we thought we should receive the refund - luckily we had our friends staying here, so they helped us. At one point the owner said that if she refunded us the money, then it would have to be paid by the receptionist, as she is the one who had given the room we requested to someone who arrived before us!

We did come to an agreement that they would refund half the money and the remaining amount would be credited to their windsurfing school/hire shop - as our children wanted to windsurf.

Throughout our stay, we saw several guest complaining about their rooms. We were lucky, as we had a solution - however, the hotel was full and somebody else would have suffered from us being moved.....and so the 'domino effect' would continue.

The Junior Suite we were given, was fine...yes, it wasn't perfect, yes the water flow was sporadic - but, this is Greece.

Additionally, I would advise that you pay for extras seperately and don't add them to your room. There was confusion when we left on what had been charged and we had not been given any receipts.

Further advice:

When eating in tavernas - ask for a bill and query it if necessary (as frequently we were asked for an amount with no bill....and when queried, the amount decreased).

Be wary if you want to hire little motor boats for the day from Nidri....do NOT use the boat hire services offered from the AVIS office. We were royally stitched-up and it wasted a lot of our time....we booked, over the phone, but on arrival they increased the price by 50% (knowing we wouldn't be able to get another boat anywhere else as it was peak season). We were then sent to the harbour to collect the boat.....only to find that there was no boat!......

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere, great location, fantastic view from the balcony. Enjoyed my time watching water sports and swimming on nice sandy beach next to the hotel. There are a couple of good Greek restaurants around the hotel. Great place for wind surfing enthusiasts!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vasiliki
1.2 km away
Grand Theoni Hotel
Grand Theoni Hotel
#5 of 12 in Vasiliki
82 reviews
21.4 km away
Villa Olga Lounge Hotel
8.6 km away
Rouda Bay Hotel
Rouda Bay Hotel
#26 of 78 in Lefkada
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
13.2 km away
Apartments George
Apartments George
#3 of 14 in Nidri
212 reviews
0.2 km away
Ponti Beach Hotel
Ponti Beach Hotel
#18 of 78 in Lefkada
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Nefeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Nefeli

Address: Agiou Petrou-Vasilikis, Vasiliki 31082, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Vasiliki
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vasiliki
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vasiliki
Price Range: $70 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Nefeli 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the island of Lefkada and hotel GRAND NEFELI 4 ****.The 4**** Hotel Grand Nefeli stands at Vassiliki Ponti 33klm from the city of lefkada. Completed at 2004 in accordance with E.O.T (Hellenic organization of tourism) that stands the upcoming needs for luxurious tourism. The hotel is placed in one of the most beautiful places of Lefkada the beach Ponti in Vasiliki. We Offer high standards accommodation with many services. The region of Southern Lefkada is famous for Ponti beach, one of the ten best windsurfing beaches worldwide and Porto Katsiki beach which is included in the three most beautiful beaches worldwide!In hotel GRAND NEFELI 4 we provide windsurfing lessons for all levels-beginners up to advanced- by experienced pro windsurfers.You will also enjoy all comforts of luxurious stay as our rooms will exceed your expectations.GRAND NEFELI 4 waits for you in Vasiliki and promises that it will make your stay unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Grand Nefeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Nefeli Lefkada/Vasiliki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing