We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
107
28
10
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
28
10
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews windsurfing school sea view wind surfers beach bar top floor few minutes walk beautiful hotel windsurfing kit vassiliki bay rooms are clean greece lefkada equipment kitchenette island wave balconies
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Nefeli in october 2013, the stay was amazing and the staff was great and helpful. The beach was beautiful and the water crystal clear, there was alot of good restuarants near the hotel with great views. We would love to visit again sometime.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Isabell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Having Googled 'star ratings in Greece', it seems that the Greeks are able to award themselves their own ratings..... This is not a 4 start hotel as we understand it in the UK. Additionally, be aware that some of the rooms in the hotel are NOT as they appear on their website.

I don't normally moan - and if I have a problem, I tend to forget it....if it is sorted out and handled well. However, I feel I need to forewarn further guests:

We booked a Grande Suite and requested it to be on the top floor. We booked this specifically because we wanted the promised 'amazing sea view...' and the seperate bedroom (family with teenage boys). We arrived and were given a ground floor room with absolutely no view (as it was hidden behind a big bush). It was dark, dreary and absolutely not worth the price we had paid for the week.

After much haggling, we were moved to a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor - which was much more along the lines of what you see on the website. However, it was 840 euros cheaper than the Grand Suite (for the week) and did not have the seperate bedroom.

Intitally, it did not look like we would receive any refund - the manager was trying to sort something else out and really didn't understand our problem. After waiting until the next day, the alternative solutions offered were not satisfactory, so we asked for the refund. This took some strong negotiation, with the manager, owner (his mother) and the poor hard-working receptionist. They did not seem to understand why we thought we should receive the refund - luckily we had our friends staying here, so they helped us. At one point the owner said that if she refunded us the money, then it would have to be paid by the receptionist, as she is the one who had given the room we requested to someone who arrived before us!

We did come to an agreement that they would refund half the money and the remaining amount would be credited to their windsurfing school/hire shop - as our children wanted to windsurf.

Throughout our stay, we saw several guest complaining about their rooms. We were lucky, as we had a solution - however, the hotel was full and somebody else would have suffered from us being moved.....and so the 'domino effect' would continue.

The Junior Suite we were given, was fine...yes, it wasn't perfect, yes the water flow was sporadic - but, this is Greece.

Additionally, I would advise that you pay for extras seperately and don't add them to your room. There was confusion when we left on what had been charged and we had not been given any receipts.

Further advice:

When eating in tavernas - ask for a bill and query it if necessary (as frequently we were asked for an amount with no bill....and when queried, the amount decreased).

Be wary if you want to hire little motor boats for the day from Nidri....do NOT use the boat hire services offered from the AVIS office. We were royally stitched-up and it wasted a lot of our time....we booked, over the phone, but on arrival they increased the price by 50% (knowing we wouldn't be able to get another boat anywhere else as it was peak season). We were then sent to the harbour to collect the boat.....only to find that there was no boat!......

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere, great location, fantastic view from the balcony. Enjoyed my time watching water sports and swimming on nice sandy beach next to the hotel. There are a couple of good Greek restaurants around the hotel. Great place for wind surfing enthusiasts!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is rather 3 stars than 4. It is quite expensive for what you get. The rooms are ok but everything looks outdated. The 'management' pictures on tripadvisor don't match to reality. Also the swimming pool is not very clean, but maybe that is because it is so close to the sea.

Be prepared for a lot of wind surfers. If wind surfing is not what you are looking for, this is not a good beach. The sea is really full of surfers. On the other hand the sea is very shallow for more than 100 metres, so perfect to play in.

Wifi is only available in the lobby and speed is very slow.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We're not windsurfing people but choose Vassiliki because its have better prices, less tourists than other resorts at Lefkada, and because its convenient to reach the west coast beaches, as Port Katsiki, Egremni beach e Katisma, the most beautiful at the island. I always prefer stay in apartments, and stay as long as I can at a place on my vacations, so, Grand Nefeli has everything you need from a hotel - nice people to help you, local advices, services, fresh towels and a comfortable bed - and from a self catering accommodation, with a kitchenette, appliances, and a great balcony to take a relaxed breakfast in the morning and a couple of wine glasses in the evening. Staff are great and to reach the beach is just leave your room. Very important: good bed and pillows, everything extremely clean and air conditioning.

Room Tip: second or third floor, never ground floor. sea view its nice, but not essencial.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank niqueoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews