We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Reviewed 20 September 2017

There are many buildings in this complex. Our room was supposed to have two beds, but after a mixup they gave us one with only one bed. The room was quite small; it had a shower but no tub. There was a smell of sewage in the parking area. The restaurant and coffee shop didn't wow us with their offerings or their prices. A shuttle was available to go down to the "Glitter Gulch" commercial area, but it didn't go all the way to the far end. Although situated on a hillside, there was really not much of a view. The rooms don't have microwave ovens, but there is one in the laundry room.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear KYProf, thanks for staying with us. I am sorry about the odor - we do have a wastewater treatment plant near the property and if the wind blows in the wrong direction it there might be a slight smell - I will have our operations team look into this. I am sorry that our shuttle was not able to take you all the way to the end but as you can know the boardwalk area has a lot of traffic and we must follow our transportation schedule. Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Excellent hotel that knows how to serve its guests. Outside of the strip of Denali and the National Park but with multiple shuttles. Responsive knowledgeable professional staff. Restaurant overlooks the mountains. Not cheap or moderately priced but in Denali no hotels are.Would return here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Chuck G, thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Our staff is our number one advantage over others in the area. They do a wonderful job - thanks for complimenting them! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

First off, this hotel sits on the side of a pretty steep hill. There was a strong sewage smell outside the main building that was pretty distasteful. The rooms are very small, although the showers are a decent size. I was a single and couldn't imagine having two people trying to walk around the room at the same time. I did sleep well, and I liked the down comforter. There is a hotel shuttle to take you down the hill and back up again, although it is a pretty easy walk down to the restaurant and shopping area. I would probably look for a different hotel, but there aren't a lot of choices in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Diane0405, thanks for staying with us - I do hope that you mentioned the odor to our front desk. We do have a waste water plant near by and sometimes if the wind is blowing in the wrong direction it does affect our fresh clean air. I am glad that you enjoyed the easy walk downtown as well, and I'm glad you slept well underneath our cozy comforter! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Denali Bluffs is located up in the hills overlooking Denali National Park. The rooms have high beamed ceilings and are very clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant is excellent and the shuttle service to several places, including "downtown Denali" with quirky gift shops, is available on a regular basis. Very close to the entrance to the park. The front desk has very helpful people to answer any questions you might have.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Nancy E, thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed downtown Denali as well! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We were fortunate to have a third floor king room in the newest building just completed. Spacious, comfortable room with great views from our balcony of the mountain range at Denali Park entrance. Excellent, reliable, on time shuttle service to park (Wilderness Access Center, Visitor Center) and to "downtown" and rail depot. Mostly helpful concierge staff. Restaurant was good, not great, and a little pricey but extremely convenient with courteous, friendly servers.

Room Tip: Request rooms in new buildings for best comfort/value. Higher floor have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear David A, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. LUCKY YOU - to be on the top floor in our new RiverView rooms - the view is amazing - thanks for complimenting our shuttle service and concierge staff and servers. We are very appreciative of our team. Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinley Village
0.2 km away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
818 reviews
13.2 km away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
395 reviews
1 km away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#10 of 11 in Denali National Park and Preserve
915 reviews
16.6 km away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
20 km away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#6 of 6 in McKinley Village
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Bluffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Bluffs Hotel

Address: Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > McKinley Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in McKinley Village
Price Range: $298 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Bluffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay just minutes away from the hustle of the Denali National Park entrance, and you'll be rewarded with great views and a quiet stay. 112 Hillside at the Bluffs guest rooms are equipped with all the conveniences of home, such as private baths, cable TV, and much more! Our 64 room addition, RiverView at the Bluffs, was completed in 2017, and provides premium accommodations. Enjoy hearty, home-style Alaskan fare when you dine at the Mountaineer Grill & Bar. Enjoy a cold local brew, while taking in a beautiful view of Mt Healy. You’ll also find a variety of specialty coffee and beverages, pastries and other delicious food items in the Perky Moose Espresso. Our main lodge features a log-beamed great room, with authentic Alaskan art, a gift shop, and a tour desk at which our staff will be happy to assist you in choosing from a wide variety of optional tours available in Denali National Park. Adventure is just steps away at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Denali Bluffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Bluffs
Denali Bluff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing