We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, pick river view if it's in your budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I wish we had a king bed but everything else was wonderful. We stayed in one of the new river view units that were just built in the summer 2017; they were lovely. Everything was modern and working well. I do wish there were a few more hangers, but we never did ask for more. They used Beekman 1802 soaps which smelled wonderful. Our room had a lovely view although it was over the highway, but it's Alaska so the road traffic was not too bad. The staff had our key on arrival by the Alaska railroad so we didn't even have to stop by the front desk to check in. They also delivered our luggage to our room and picked it up the day we left. You do have to walk up and down short trails to get to and from your room, but this was not an issue for us. There were a few golf carts that we saw delivering guests and their luggage to their room if the walk was a problem. Shuttle service was timely and we enjoyed the little seasonal Denali town.

Room Tip: Get a riverview room, the walk is longer but it will have a better view and newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Julie R, thanks so much for the wonderful review. Thanks for complimenting our new rooms, right down to our soaps! The views are spectacular and with the sliding door closed the road traffic is minimal - but I encourage all our guests to open the door to hear the river! Thanks for mentioning the delivery of your keys to the rail depot - we want to make sure that you feel taken care of from the time you step foot into Denali until the time you depart and it seems that we succeeded in doing that! Come back soon! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed here for three nights. I got sick during that time and could not sleep the entire night on our check out day. We were running late, so my husband asked the front desk staff for extra time to check out. The front desk said that the latest they can do is 11 AM (10AM is checkout). We were okay with that. However right at 10AM, we got a call to our room. It was a front desk person, saying that our check out time is 10 AM. We explained that we have permission till 11. Then she said okay. At 10:15 AM there was a knock at the door. There was a hotel staff and she said that we should leave by 10 AM. We said we have permission till 11 AM. She said okay. But anyway, we left around 10:20 AM. The staff who knocked on our door, kept staring at me when I was leaving the room. We spent close to $850 including stay and food and got treated like crap. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dracarys23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Dracarys23, I am so very sorry that should NOT have happened - Check out time is 10am as we do have train arrivals that start coming in at noon and we try to accommodate their needs. Our staff should NOT have treated you in that manner. I will make sure the front desk and housekeeping managers are both aware of this situation - I suspect that the late check out did not get communicated to the housekeeper that was in charge of that group of rooms but either way, all our guests should be treated with respect and not feel uncomfortable as they are leaving. I am so very sorry! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Spent one night here and glad it wasn't more! Small room, had to walk to it down a uneven steep path (with my 83 yo father). Place was basically bare bones, patio opened into a tree. We were on the ground floor and room above very noisy...for half the night. Restaurant choices nearby were not great..see separate review about coffee shop. Staff was nice but that was it. We are not too picky about where we stay but this really was uncomfortable and put a damper on our vacation. Avoid.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank littlegoldenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear littlegoldenone, I am so very sorry that you didn't enjoy our stay. Since our hotel is located on the side of a bluff, there are many uneven walking paths - we do try to make sure that guests that need to stay close to the lobby can do so - just need to mention when making your reservation - we also have little golf cart style vehicles that can take you back and forth between your room and the lobby/restaurant area upon request. We do offer a complimentary shuttle to the Denali Canyon Boardwalk and there are several dining options on the boardwalk, as well as a complimentary shuttle to our sister hotel Grande Denali Lodge. We are "out in the middle of the wilderness" and that is part of our mystic -we don't have fast food or chain restaurants located in Denali - not even a grocery store or pharmacy! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Stayed at Denali Bluffs for one night prior to heading to Denali Park. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The Bluffs are close to everything in the small village. Nice trails in the area also. The early morning shuttle to the park entrance is really convenient. The staff really came to my assistance when I had forgotten my camera in the room and realized it 15 minutes prior the bus leaving to Denali. I was at odd at attempting to make it back up to the Bluffs and back down to catch my bus (they don't wait) when the manager offered to bring it down to me at the Denali park entrance. It is only a 5 minute drive but without a ride I would not have been able to take the incredible pictures of Denali (We actually saw this beautiful mountain on 2 clear days we were at the park). Thanks for going all out and taking care of your guests.

Room Tip: balcony over looking the valley- 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyTurtle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Denali Bluffs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear SkyTurtle777, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Our rooms are comfortable and clean and our shuttle service to downtown is very convenient BUT our staff is truly what sets us apart - thanks so much for recognizing them - although many are young and just starting a career in tourism, they care about each and every guest!

Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 uncomfortable nights here, arrived at 9 pm from anchorage for the mountaineer restaurant to be sold out of anything we asked for. Had early starts on our excursions only to be kept awake by people in accomodation above ours. Would not recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank suveran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinley Village
0.2 km away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 7 in McKinley Village
817 reviews
1 km away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
13.2 km away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 km away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#6 of 7 in McKinley Village
224 reviews
19.9 km away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 5 in McKinley Village
690 reviews
16.6 km away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Bluffs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Bluffs Hotel

Address: Mile 238.4 George Parks Hwy, McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > McKinley Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in McKinley Village
Price Range: $294 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Bluffs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay just minutes away from the hustle of the Denali National Park entrance, and you'll be rewarded with great views and a quiet stay. Alaska native owned and operated, we not only have commanding views but the Bluff's design allows our guests to feel at-one with nature while still providing a comfortable stay with 112 Hillside at the Bluffs guest rooms perfectly equipped with all the conveniences of home, such as private baths, cable TV, and much more! Our 64 room addition the Riverview at the Bluffs, was completed in 2017. These new rooms feature Alaskan design and all the comforts of home. Enjoy hearty, home-style Alaskan fare when you dine at the Mountaineer Grill & Bar. Savor your appetite on our patio with a cold local brew, while taking in a beautiful view of Mt Healy. You’ll also find a variety of specialty coffee and beverages, pastries and other delicious food items in the Perky Moose Espresso. Our main lodge features a log-beamed great room, with authentic Alaskan art, a gift shop, and a tour desk at which our staff will be happy to assist you in choosing from a wide variety of optional tours available in Denali National Park. Adventure is just steps away at the Denali Bluffs Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Denali Bluffs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Bluffs
Denali Bluff Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing