We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Valais Hotel(Alykanas)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Letsos(Alykanas)
USD 90
USD 59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Antonio Studios(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zante Nest Studios & Apartments(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zante Flower(Alykanas)
USD 73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Venus Studios(Alykanas)
USD 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Eleni's Gardens(Alykanas)
USD 56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Mantalena(Alykanas)
USD 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Valianos Studios(Alykanas)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
485
417
216
63
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
417
216
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubthomson repsalykanas villagelemon treesnack barevening entertainmentwater parkplastic cupsfamily resortbeach poolself cateringnext yearice creamair constray dogsyoung childrensoft play area
Filter
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I can honestly say this was the best holiday as a family we have ever had. Alykanas itself is stunning and as the hotel is a minute away from the beach its a great location.

13 of us went away and ages are from 7 months to 50ish.. we all had a thoroughly enjoyable time and the entertainment was excellent. The reps are the best I have ever encountered and were great with all our kids who were a variety of ages. The baby room is very clean and the toys are in excellent condition, the kids clubs were varied so they never got bored.

Hotel staff were amazingly kind and helpful, Gloria the manager couldn't of gone out of her way to help anymore than she did, we had two casualties and nothing was too much trouble for her. The reception staff all very polite and helpful as were the ladies in the village shop, prices are not as expensive as some reviews make out. As for the snack bar by the pool the food was excellent and not overpriced at all, infact we ate there alot as food was so yummy! only thing I would say is its a shame they shut at 6.

Personally think its a great family holiday, older children 16+ maybe slightly bored as it a quiet resort, however the reps tried there hardest and managed to win round our teenagers!

We loved it so much we have already booked for next year. As for reviews saying the families are worse than the cast of shameless, all I can say is we only met lovely groups who wanted to join in all the fun and activities, we never witnessed any children running riot only enjoying themselves, which is surely the point of a family holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

TRAVELLED ALONE WITH ENORMOUS SUITCASE AND 2 YR OLD (groan)
Lovely reps, huge difference between staff at Birmingham Airport (vile & unhelpful-awful start to holiday almost went home in tears) and virtually everyone we met from plane touchdown onwards in Zante. Reps at Zante airport couldn't have been more welcoming & helpful-offered help with too large suitcase, escorted me to correct bus, folded down pushchair, even put toddler on the transfer bus and strapped him into seat for me! (after asking my permission first of course) The excellent service continued with a brilliant reception at hotel (Gloria) and amazing Thomson resort team. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to help me in every way. Creche staff friendly and well qualified. (Dizzy Daz, Little Laura & Mojo-jo). Airport staff also amazingly helpful on return journey.

Never failed to be amused/amazed by saddos who crept out of their appartments at 7am to lay towels. How bizarre! We never had a problem at any time of day around any pool and just asked people if they had or knew of any spare beds (they always offered us beds when we asked and we were there 2 weeks). Disagree with previous review comments about other guests being rough. This was not our experience although sometimes the people with loud Bolton accents could've been quieter returning to the apartment next door though at 2am (woke us up every night of 2nd week).

Accomodation=ok, Location=gorgeous, Value of holiday=good, Price of food shopping in local supermarkets-ASTRONOMICAL!
Food reccomendations-Lavante (reasonably priced, good for little kids), 12 Gods (amazing zakynthos chicken and waiting staff brilliant with kids) & the Valais bar on the beach do amazing pizza.

Downsides=cleaning was not consistent and out of sight areas (under bed) not cleaned leading to ants. Vagi restaurant (just down the road) knicked my son's toddler cutlery. Okay, we forgot to take it off the plate before they cleared but when we returned the next day they said they had kept it safe for us but then mysteriously could not find it. After several visits, they admitted it was gone but were completely unconcerned. I know i sound pathetic, it's only cutlery but it was my son's favourite set and i would have expected it to be returned. Luckily a rep managed to find some alternatives for us to use during stay.

overall ok holiday but would not return.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Just returned from a week stay at the Alykanas Village. Very warm and quite a quiet place. Mostly familes. Apartment was fair to stay in for just a week. Rooms where an okay size. Beds very uncomfortable. Bathroom needs a bit upgraded too. 3 pools, 2 large and 1 small. Had to put towels on sunbeds early in the morning as the got taken very quickly.Apartments are on the beach so was very handy. Beach was lovely, clear sea and golden sand. 7 euros for 2 sunbeds and an umberella. Snack bar between the pools. Okay food, but very pricey. Location was good a few shops and lots of bars and restraunts. Marble stairs at apartments where very slippy. Not very good entertainment, only for young children. Fair apartments and location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Had a great week went with my grandaughters age 4 and 15 they loved it, the weather was great and rooms cleaned everyday and had clean towels every other day the pool by the beach was the one we used every day so we could go to the beach for a paddle in the afternoon, staff were friendly and polite Chris the Thomson swimming instructor was
great with my 4 year old and taught her to swim in a week, the views were just lovely, The Lemon Tree Restaurant is a must visit on the Horse and Cart......I could go on and on.........What a lovely week we had

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

What a nitemare just returned from two weeks at the Alykanas Village Hotel, if you do not get your towel on a sunbed by 8.30 don't botha going to any of the pools, and many of the people that do get there first thing are not even from the hotel it self as we watched them from our balconey coming from off the beach, very over crowed around the pools, restaurant area not cleaned very often, oh and when leaving the complex beware the leaflet run, you will be sure to have to run it, saving grace is Bonkers Bar, fantastic, will we return, never in a million years, disagree all you like, Im sure the hotel it self and reps make up these reviews, its an awful hotel with lots of awful people who let there kids run riot instead of looking after them, the cast of shameless would look posh compared to the people who stay at the Alykanas Village Hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddy253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews