We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
491
438
229
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
438
229
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomson reps kids club alykanas village lemon tree snack bar evening entertainment water park beach pool next year family resort self catering ice cream air con stray dogs soft play area young children horse and cart
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We just flew back from a 2 weeks stay here! Very poor! We spent a lot of money on this holiday and it was a complete let down! The staff at the hotel make it bearable as they are all so helpful and work incredibly hard.
The food was beyond disgusting, towards the end of our stay, not even edible, as it had been reheated and left out so many times. Wouldnt of served the food to my dog.
As I was travelling with a young baby, I relied on the facilities in the room... The kettle broke twice, the third one worked thankfully, my babies cot was broken so I had to pad out the bottom so he didn't fall through. At no point we're we told it was closing season either, so the majority of shops and bars were closing. This hotel has the potential to be very nice, but it needs a lot of work. The earthquakes were the icing on the cake and we shall not be returning to Zante!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Explore04238150348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

I amazed by the poor reviews I have seen from people staying at the hotel the same week as us! Hotel is in a fantastic location right on the beach with some rooms having sea views (we were in room 123 and had a great sea view). Our room was spotless and cleaned every day, we did have heavy rain one day and water was pouring through the bathroom ceiling, reception were lovely and offered us a different room straight away (we didn’t bother moving as we knew rain would stop the next day so just took an umbrella into the bathroom and put a bucket and towels down to deal with the flood!). It was end of season so hotel was only 10-15% full, even though it was half term, hence they had scaled back on lifeguard availability and amount of food in the restaurant. I think this was completely reasonable, the splash park was still open most of the day with a lifeguard, and the other pools were open all day, albeit with no lifeguard. The restaurant looks fairly new and was spotlessly clean, like the rest of the hotel. Food was more than adequate both in choice and quality, lovely fresh salads and bread, pasta, omelette type pies, as well as the usual chicken nuggets and chips for the kids. I don’t eat meat but my husband and kids do and they said it was fine, sometimes a bit over cooked but nothing to complain about. Fantastic desserts every day. As with any all inclusive it does get a bit repetitive so we did eat out one night, looks like in busier season there would be more of the restaurant open serving crepes etc. Snack bar was just baguettes and ice cream, again there may be more choice in the summer. Our kids are too old for kids club but little ones looked like they were having a fab time and the reps were great. Evening entertainment most nights was a duo called ‘Acoustics’, absolutely fantastic musicians and a pleasure to listen to, lovely people too and would come and chat or dance with the kids. One night was Greek dancing, brilliant night and got everyone involved and having a laugh. Without exception the staff in the hotel were amazing, so friendly and just lovely people. I would definitely stay here again, just probably in the summer when weather is better and hopefully more older kids the same age as mine.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Where to start!
Food is an absolute disgrace! Warmed up food from the previous day which is cold and completely inedible! We've been here 3 days and already counting down to go home! We paid well over £2000 for this holiday and feel completely ripped off! We've resorted to eating out to avoid food poisoning! Seriously it's that bad!

Entertainment? What entertainment? Today it has rained and the guests had no option other than to sit in the hotel lobby with not even any music to listen to! There was only 2 board games for children and a handful of books! Kids club was open but whilst on holiday, our children wish to spend their time with us so we cannot comment on the club. The staff are always friendly when we see them and work hard.

The rooms and location are the only positives. We've been to the resort lots of times but this is by far the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MJP1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We visited the hotel for a family holiday during October half term.
At no point during the booking of this holiday were we told that the hotel would be 2 weeks off shutting for the winter.
This is absolutely shocking from Tui. The food as in many reports was stone cold, and then heated up the following day.
We as many families here are eating out after 2 days. When we spoke to the rep she said that the hotel had taken the decision to cut everything right back due to the amount of guests in the hotel and that they had seen a deterioration in the food but it was the hotels decision. The splash park was only open from 11 - 3 as they did not want to pay for a life guard, the entertainment was appalling, it was just a guitarist and singer in the bar area.
The drink was cheap local alcohol and the fizzy drink was far from fizzy, we had to buy mixers from the local shop.
They say beach front location but this is covered in seaweed.
All in all it was the worst decision we have made to book this.
I would not recommend this hotel purely on the food alone
If you like reheated food that is bought out day after day, bone cold or swimming in its on fat then you may well enjoy it otherwise look elsewhere
Tui will be hearing from us as this was sold as a 4 star hotel your lucky if it’s 1 star, and we were certainly not told that it would be on a reduced service on what would be served as food and entertainment

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Jamiecratchley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in October 2013 when the hotel was still self catering and in our opinion, it should have stayed that way. Luckily we have really nice rooms with a sea view but other than that the hotel has completely gone down hill. The food is appalling! The presentation is disgraceful and it is generally cold! A review made a few months ago refers to ‘The chicken nugget brigade’ - well we have joined that brigade because simply there is nothing else edible apart from baguettes and ice cream!

Aside from the food, the fact that there is NOTHING to do here - not even a pool table! When we came 5 years ago, the downstairs entertainment room was still open which was a nice place to sit in the evening whilst watching the kids disco and to have a couple of drinks. Now, that same entertainment room (now with ‘no entry’ stuck on the doors) is used as a stock room whilst guests have to just accumulate in the reception area in the evening. Thankfully a lovely duet ‘Acoustics’ are here most nights to lighten the mood.

So, please do not even consider booking here! We had free child places but even with those still paid over £800 each and it just honestly is not worth it. We love Alykanas and have previously stayed next door at Alykanas Beach (which is fantastic). Thomson should be completely ashamed advertising this as a Thomson family hotel! Yes there is a water park (a few slides) and a kids club but that is it. Today it’s raining so we’re sat in reception with the children playing cards - the bar isn’t even open to get them drinks! SHOCKING!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Pu11ens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews