We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
491
438
229
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
438
229
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thomson reps kids club alykanas village lemon tree snack bar evening entertainment water park beach pool self catering family resort next year ice cream air con stray dogs young children soft play area pools are great
Filter
Updating list...
922 - 927 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This was our first stay in a Thomson Family Collection, after hearing raving reviews of other properties in the programme I had no reservations about booking this property. Firstly the reviews about stray dogs are exaggerated, in one week we saw 2, and they just walked away and back out of the hotel if ignored. Facilities for kids are fantastic, 3 pools, beach on the doorstep and a play park, this is all before the excellent kids clubs and fun poolside games come into it. The entertainment around the pool is easily avoided if you don't want to be involved by going to the quieter pool which is right on the beach. The entertainment and kids reps do a brilliant job, without being to forceful, they just come round for a chat most of the time!! The rooms are sufficient, spacious enough for a family of 3 in a studio but for 4 or more an apartment would be essential. The self catering facilities are lacking, however I rarely use them for more than a cup of tea and breakfast a couple of times so we didn't struggle but if you normally cook lots on a self catering holiday it would be fairly difficult I think as there is hardly any space in the kitchenette. As I think is the case with most of Greece they could do with modernisation, a lick of paint etc but definitely 3* standard. The resort of Alykanas was lovely, delicious family restaurants with little play areas in most, a few quiet bars are dotted around too, most of which looked fairly modern. We only did the one trip to smugglers cove, booked through Thomson, 'Pirate Playaway', it was a lovely day out, and again the kids reps that accompany you are fantastic. Overall a fantastic family holiday, I would gladly reccommend to families with kids of all ages.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid being over the main pool if kids have a nap through the day, we overlooked it and sometimes found it hard to get our son to nod off. No noise at all on a night time though.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hillibobs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Spent the last week of the season at the Alykanas. Staff were amazing and could not do enough to help, especially Gloria the Manager. As we were leaving, it looked liked all the rooms were being emptied as modernisation was due to take place on the rooms. So what I am about to write could be totally different next season when the hotel opens again.
Clean spacious rooms, facilities included a fridge, microwave, 2 electric rings, lots of cutlary and crockery. Rooms were allocated on ground, first and 2nd floor, although no lifts unless you stayed in the rooms which were over the bar/reception area. Lovely clean pools, one close to the beach, the other on the opposite side with a children pool too. lots of sun loungers at all pools. Beach towels can be provided for a refundable deposit. A snack bar which is open from breakfast until 6.00pm serving food/drinks/ice cream etc. Entertainment was down stairs in the main building, although perhaps in the summer it may be elsewhere. A mini market on site to get any essentials. Lots of clubs for the children provided by Thomson. A park/play area at the far end of the complex to keep the little ones amused.
We were told that a water park is going to be built on the complex for next year, but not sure how true this is. The brochure will advise. Gardens and surrounding areas, very clean and well kept.
A short walk along the beach will bring you to a couple of bars and restaurants. A MUST is "The Mill" Julie and Spiros are the owners, at the back they have a fabulous pool area with sun loungers, so you have to visit this bar, the hospitality is amazing, they do a Greek night once a week, this should have finished as it was the end of the season, but as we managed to get enough people, Julie very kindly arranged to do one for us and what a fantastic night it was, such a special night and great memories. Many thanks to the two of them, making a lot of people very happy.
At the front of the hotel, you will find horse and carriages which will take you to other restaurants or just for a ride.
There are a selection of bars and restaurants and a handful of shops just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and about 3 super/mini markets too in the resort.
The resort is small and not a lot going on, but enough if you are looking for a relaxed family holiday. The surroundings area is mainly fields with crops and olive trees, it is very pretty. I would like to return and expect the rooms will look great too after the work has been completed, that is of course if this is the plan. The rooms may have been emptied as the hotel was closing for the winter. Either way, no problems, the rooms were clean and comfortable and everything needed was provided.

Room Tip: No lifts to floors unless you are in the main block, so request a ground floor if you have mobility problems or push chairs etc
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anita_and_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Returned on the 31st of October after 7 days at the Alykanas Village hotel. What a mistake it was to visit zante at this time, as the whole island shuts down for the Winter (we were not aware that it was the last week the resort was open) I would estimate that 80 to 90% of the shops and tavernas were closed.

First off the Tompson reps were less than helpfull and one particular was very rude throughout our stay. I personally reported many problems none of which were fixed, however, one rep (the older Alan) was a top bloke and our stay would of been much worse had he not of managed to persuade a few of the local taverna's to stay open for the week.

We arrived at 05:00 and within 10 minutes my two young sons were chased by a pack of the wild dogs that haunt the hotel. Although friendly enough, they constantly scared my children throughout the 7 days, to the extent that we had to move off the bottom floor as they were to scared to sleep on the lowest floor. I spoke at length to the hotel receptionist about the dogs, but she is powerless to do anything about them, especially as a lot of the hotel guests feed them on a daily basis.
I feel the dogs constant presence at the hotel needs to be highlighted in the sales page, as this is certainly not a hotel to visit if you are scared of dogs!! They get everywhere, even inside the hotel reception, on the sofas etc and will attempt to steal food from you.

As for the hotel, it looks loverly and is very close to the beach, but the tiny strip of sand they call a beach which runs from alykansas to Alikes was filthy, without doubt the dirtiest beach I have ever been on.
The swimming pool area is beautiful but the pools were ice cold, to the extent that the children could hardly go in them,(they went in them only twice during the entire week), but they were very clean, however, because it was the last week, the pool bar was being run down and not re-stocked , also the limited food that was available was highly priced and poor quality. Also many of the sun loungers were broken.

The hotel room was ok. I wouldnt say it was clean, but it was not filthy either, although I would say the floors were disgusting, even though they were cleaned on an almost dailiy basis.
The tv did not work at all, and the hob was not up to the task of even boiling water, so we had to eat out every night (this was a problem too and none of the probelms reported were fixed during the week).

The beds and pillows were so uncomfortable it was unbelievable and although the room was for 4 people, there was not enough room on the balcony table for four people at the same time.
The bathroom was functional and reasonably clean. Towels were provided on most days, infact it may well of been the best part of the apartment.

There was a kids club and evening entertainment was provided, but we didnt go to any of it. It was staged in a basement room that had a hell of a stink to it - you have to go to it for the welcome talk by the reps, except they dont tell anyone where it is they have to go and leave you to find it yourself !!

Above is just a handful of the many problems we encountered, and it would seem, after talking to the other guests these were not isolated problems, however, I suspect that had we of holiday'd a few weeks earlier these problems would not of been encountered. (except for the dogs!)

The biggest problem was that the whole island had shut down. Basically this means that there were was almost nothing to do for the whole week, so this was not like a normal hoiday week i.e. No water sports, only 1 trip company that offered only 2 trips the entire week (these were slightly limited excursions due to the taverna's being closed or on a very limited menu), limited car hire, and almost no where to eat at night and where we did manage to eat had a lmited menu on offer and was very expensive.

We rented a car for one day and travelled the entire island. It is a beautiful place out of the resorts, but it was so dead everywhere. We actually visited Laganas for the beach, only to find it a ghost town and also fuel is very expensive. Also the car company rep was clueless about child car seats. Do not let them pressure you into accepting a dangerous child safety seat!

In conclusion, we were very very dissapointed with our week in Zanthe. The hotel was very basic but we felt miss-led about it being a 4 star resort, although I am sure for a Greek / Zanthe hotel its top notch, but I expected much higher quality.

If we were the sort of people who dump their kids in kids club and then get drunk round the pool then I guess this might of been an okay if slightly limited holiday, but if you go in the last week of October and expect to be able to do anything else, or recieve good service from the tompson holday reps you will be left very dissapointed.
I do not believe Thompson should be selling a hoilday to Zanthe at this time of year.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are all the same really, some have a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DelythCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the end of April/beginning of March 2011 and we were pleased to find out that a lot of bad reviews were not entirely true.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable. When we first were checked in we were a bit disappointed with the location of the room as it was overlooking open fields with just a side sea view, however after a few days we realized that that was the best possible location as we could not hear noise from the entertainment venue or children playing at the pool area (or a music played at the pool area non stop).

The cafe on the territory of the hotel is limited in choices and only serves burgers, omelets and pica's, so if you want to try some local cuisine walk to the town instead.

The swimming pools were good, but a little overcrowded with children, so you couldn't relax and read a book without being splashed with water.

In general this is a perfect hotel for a family with children as there was a lot of daytime and evening time activities for children. However we were looking for a different holiday so ventured out a lot!

If you want to relax and swim without being bothered - we found the best place: The Mill Bar (go to the hotel beach and turn right, you will only need to walk around 5 minutes untill you will see sign for it and entrance). This place offers lovely selection of snack and drinks and a private swimming pool for it's visitors. It is very secluded and owners are very friendly , we end up going there every day! I only wish we would find it sooner!!! As well as it does awesome Greek Night, we had a fantastic time there!

Oh by the way do not book excursions at the hotel, they will charge you more that a local organizers. If you want to visit shipwreck (i highly recommend) go to the beach and turn right after The Mill Bar you will see a little blue hut on the beach "Blue Dolphin" they are very friendly and offer very good price and relatively private tour (in the hotel they offer you the trip on the 100 people boat, when here there will be a maximum of around 15 of you), highly recommend!

It was a great holiday and we will certainly come back to this beautiful island, however we will stay at the different hotel. But that is mainly because we would like a more of a couple's retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliaK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Just back from a 10 day last minute holiday with a baby. Resort is set up for kids with creche and kids club, soft play etc. and so relaxing for parents. Pools are nice (cold at this time of year) and sea and beach fine with lovely views.
Rooms are clean and well furnished - we upgraded into a two room appartment half way through via the Thompson rep which was easy and good value. Booked cot and high chair through Thompson too - very expensive if done through hotel.
Bar food was poor - expensive and not very exciting - better to go elsewhere in the village.
Walk into Alykes for a nice coffee (not greek) in the illy cafe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mama33c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews