We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alykanas Village Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Letsos(Alykanas)
USD 48*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Valais Hotel(Alykanas)
USD 88*
USD 86*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Strada Marina(Zakynthos Town)(Great Value!)
USD 76*
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Phoenix Hotel(Zakynthos Town)(Great Value!)
USD 91*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Danny's Hotel(Alykanas)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveller rating
469
397
198
57
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
397
198
57
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubthomson repsalykanas villagelemon treesnack barevening entertainmentwater parkfamily resortbeach poolself cateringnext yearice creamair constray dogssoft play areayoung childrenpools are great
Filter
Updating list...
885 - 890 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

just got back from Alykanas Village, self catering apartments although we never ate in once, friendly staff including the on site shop, English widely spoken in all the shops and restaurants, lots of sun beds, although the policy is "no towels on the beds before nine or you will find them at reception" was never policed correctly so get down early or you will find yourself on the Grass and not pool side, village was right on the beach as promised, you can however, use any pool in any of the local bars and restaurants so no need to concern yourself as far as beds and a pool is concerned, rooms were cleaned every day from top to bottom, all in all a great place to stay, thanks to the Alykanas village staff for making it a great holiday
next the area
luck luck men were a pain in the preverbial selling all manner of tat they must hav asked me to buy ten times a day, the bakery was a 5 minute walk away in the town selling all the usual pastries at cheap prices, local beer costs 3 euros ciggies 3.60, book the excursions in the town and not from Thompsons 140 euro for 4 of us to go turtle hunting via Thompson, lots of stray dogs, watersports pricing was the same all over 10 euro for a 1 hour pedalo etc, check the prices first with the local horse and kart taxis or you get ripped, air con is a must 40 plus
tips for eating and drinking, Bonkers Bar is a must super friendly, next door the cosy corner, super home made food and handmade best I have ever eaten burgers, Chilli dogs are to die for, family of four eat and dring around £48 euro, most expensive was the Indian/Chinese 78 euro for the 4 of us, the best palce to eat we found was the Taverna Ponderosa in Alekes 10 minute walk away, super nice staff great food and great price, 4 of us ate there on numerous occasions 48 euros, its the first retaurant on the left as you hit the town, dont miss this place.

only gripe I have about Alykanas and Alakes is every restaurant wants your business and the pester you whilst you a pondering where to eat, with one exception "the ponderosa" they dont need to

hope you try this place they deserve your business they have earnt it

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank handers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just got back from a week in Alykanas with my 3 daughters (9,5,3). They loved the Thomson team, the activities, the games, pool, nightly entertainment - everything.
The whole entertainment staff did a fab job at entertaining the KIDS :-)
Steph the Thomson swimming coach is absolutely awesome at teaching and after just 5 lessons i have 3 confident swimmers including my 3 year old.
Our room was adequate and cleaned for us daily - in fact the whole hotel was clean.
I saw 1 dog outside the hotel complex once so not sure what all the dog comments are about.
Negative - The 2 front desk staff. Both absolutely horrid people. Never know where anything is, can never give directions, dont know the answer to any question. I asked my 9 yr old to ask them something for me once and she said "i rather not mum, i dont think the lady likes me" It was such a shame. In fairness to both of them, i did see them being nice to some guests so its a lottery as to whether they like you or not!
Paying for aircondition and safe seperately is sooooo not on. Thomson, sort it out!

Tips:
1. Do your own excursions - do not buy from Thomson or the people by the roadside. 1 of Thomson's excursion cost 39 Eur for adults and 20 for children. So it would have cost me 100 EUR for us all. I drove to Vromi (25 mins) and paid 20 Euros for all of us NOT each and thats just 1 example. Another example, i drove to laganas for the turtle trip and again, i paid 20 Euro for us all. I ended up saving hundreds in total
2. Rent a car - that is the only way you will get to see the whole island. Fill the tank and drive. You wont get lost as there are always signs to Alikes and Alykanas. Go to Xeros car rental by the hotel and you'll get a good deal from them. Also by renting a car, you have more flexibility and with 3 children, i needed it!
3. Bring as much of your own grocery as possible as things are quite expensive especially sweets and chocolates
4. Be careful of the horse cart tour of Alykanas - quite expensive and they have been know to cheat people, including myself!
5..Last and final tip - stay safe pls and enjoy your holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OATMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Good stuff: We stayed here for two weeks in a studio, which turned out to be bigger than we were expecting, and was very clean with all the basic kitchen implements (toaster, hob, microwave). Having a balcony was wonderful, especially when it was too hot to go outside. The three swimming pools are all very good, although it can be a struggle to find a free lounger in the mornings and early afternoons. The hotel is right on the beach near the watersports company, and a 5 minute walk to the main street, so it's in a brilliant location :) The English staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The maids came 6 days a week, changed bed linen and towels about 2x a week.

Bad stuff: Our second week, we couldn't bear trying to sleep in the heat anymore, and bought air con. It didn't work, and when we complained, they pretended to fix it and that was it, no apology. We complained again and the lady on reception said we were lying, and it was fixed. When we insisted it was not, she said she couldn't move us to another room, and begrudingly gave us a refund after much arguing. The lady who works in the snack bar was also rather rude and miserable.

This hotel is definitely for families with younger children, as there is very loud kids' entertainment on at the main pool and around the reception area from 10-4 every single day, which can drive you a bit mad, as it's all kids' songs/dancing/lots of splashing/campfire songs/silly games etc.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to families as it is a great place to be except for the little niggles, but don't expect any help if there's a problem with your room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 364 if you want air con.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I have just returned from 10 glorious nights at the Alykanas Village. We travelled as a group with 5 adults and 4 children (ages 13, 8, 5 & 4.). We booked a taxi transfer and couldnt beleive how quick it was, we landed at 12 oclock and by 12.25pm we were standing in the reception of the hotel booking in.

The rooms were basic, clean and a decent size. The kitchenette was very compact and only could manage toast and a cuppa on a morning, so dont plan anything more than that. Towels were changed every few days and cleaning every day.
The pools were kept nice and clean, sunbeds were starting to become a problem near the end of our stay with people reserving them very early, although the hotel discourages you to do so. There are 3 pools, one for sports, one for entertainment and the quieter one by the beach. The entertainment team work 11-430pm every day around the pool offering dances in the water, quizes, games and general fun for anyone who wants to get involved. they start up again at 8.15pm with the kids disco and then either an english cabaret act or fun and games. If you wish to join in the better it is.

The kids clubs run for 2 hours on a morning and have a drop in on an afternoon. the little ones went to these and loved them. The Football Academy is expensive although they do run lots of free football games every day including the crossbar challenge and penalty shoot outs.

The reports about the stray dogs did worry us before we went but they are harmless and we only saw two whilst we were there.

All in all a fab holiday if you have kids and dont mind joining in the fun and games!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Before we came here we read up on all the reviews of the place and of all the negatives we read, we came across not one of them!
We got to the hotel not expecting too much from the room but it was a great size for the 4 of us (Wife and I, 2 daughters 10 & 5), the kitchenette had everything we needed and the balcony we had was great. We had hoped for a sea view but the pool view we got took nothing away from the holiday. Was kept nice and clean the whole time, beds are fine, the only thing stopping me sleeping was the heat but can't really complain about that too much!
The resort is fantastic, all the restaraunts we ate at had play areas for the kids which allowed us to relax all the more. Food is excellent, only had 2 "bad" meals but the places we had them in have had great write ups by others so ignore bad write ups, it's all a matter of personal taste. Our favourites were La Caretta and Vagi's. The service and food were a notch above anywhere else we ate and the friendliness of all the staff was amazing. Our kids loved trying a little bit of Greek and it seemed to charm a few of the waiters! Poseidon and Pepe's take away were also very good, and everywhere was really good value, the most expensive meal we had cam to about 36 Euros for all 4 of us. Some of the bars were great too, the guy in Dilemma kept my wife's "surprises" coming and even made cocktails for the girls, which added to the trampoline, crazy golf, pool etc, kept us there a while!
Thomson Reps were all brilliant, really put the effort in to the extent it looked no effort at all, our 2 loved them, the eldest went on quite a few of the evening events they had and had a great time. I think their favourite was the Chocolate party though, took quite a bit of cleaning up afterwards!
The best thing we did though was to hire a jeep for a couple of days. The best place we found was Xeno's, just before you get to the main road of the village, way cheaper than with Thomson. We drove most of the way round the island and some of the views are stunning. Easy enough to do as well, the locals are really polite and patient drivers we found, in fact the only bad drivers seemed to be the English! Signs are easy enough to read and on the one occasion we were a bit confused, a brilliant old lady selling stuff by the road side helped us out!
I've gone on a bit but we really did love everything about the place, the people are so friendly, the food is amazing and the weather was perfect the whole time. Got a little hot for the youngest at times but the pool soon saw to that!
We will definately be back at some point

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews