We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch after a long walk”
Review of O Farolim

O Farolim
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We stopped for lunch and were very satisfied. The garlic bread was amazing. One of us had the tuna - perfectly cooked and great portion size. The other had a vegetarian pasta, tasted good. Very friendly staff and great prices.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank majafalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had the garlic prawns for starters and they were great and fresh. For mains some had steak (we ordered medium, but they were closer to well done, but fine taste) and others the seafood spaghetti which was really tasty. Very friendly staff

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Katrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We ate at o Farolim on the second night of our visit to Madeira, and ended up going back two more times during the week we were there, staying in a house just a few kilometers away from Ponta do Pargo. The food is excellent-- all ingredients fresh and the meals tasted homemade-- as if we were visiting local friends who can cook! We tried the wild boar, espada, and octopus with rice. Again, all meat and fish dishes were fresh and tender-- cooked exactly right. Side dishes were also excellent-- the home-made fries a real treat. I also tried the bread soup, a local specialty, and really nice on a cold, windy evening in November. We also loved the desert wine. Made by the owner, it is a sweet red wine with spices. He also can prepare the perfect poncha for you fresh. Good house wine, pleasant atmosphere. O Farolim is so much better than the restaurants that cater to tourists along the south coast. If you make it to this part of the island, you must eat there.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYCFRA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

In the furthermost south west point of.Madeira Island a great restaurant with a very nice kitchen with a very nice staff a must in that side in the island not far from the lighhouse of Ponta do Pargo.
recomended.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank PauloFreitasCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We ate at this restaurant on our first night in the area and liked it so much we came back again. Nice local food cooked well and at a good price.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank knightjar_v2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Farolim also viewed

Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
Paul do Mar, Calheta
 
Funchal, Madeira
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to O Farolim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing