We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house with a stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Panoramica

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Arco da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gojph
Cumbria, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fabulous house with a stunning view”
Reviewed 4 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

A beautiful villa in the village of Arco da Calheta, in the hills above Calheta, on the south west coast of Madeira. A little tricky to find (beware the SatNav directions which can take you up a very steep back road - 32%, or 1 in 3!). We took the slightly longer less steep way around after we’d familiarised ourself with the village. There’s a pharmacy and other shops locally, including a good supermarket with a small, excellent value cafe - the best pastels da nata we had all week! If you can’t get everything you need there, there’s a larger supermarket opposite the marina in Calheta.

Villa Panoramica is a large house on two levels, with a huge living area on the lower level and a good sized heated swimming pool on the terrace. The pool was used every day, even when the weather wasn’t so good! Three of the bedrooms benefit from the stunning view over the Atlantic Ocean. The master bedroom has a king size bed and en suite bathroom, the other two bedrooms on the upper level have a double bed and twin beds with an excellent bathroom opposite. A third shower room is along the corridor from the other (double-bedded) room at the rear. All beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows.

Including the outside one, the villa has four (yes, four!) tables to eat at and plenty of chairs. Unusually, there’s a indoor barbecue, which didn’t smoke out the house, as we thought it might. Plenty of logs are provided but we found charcoal easier to use. A few more tools and gloves for the barbecue would have been good but we managed. Apart from that (and the absence of coat hooks and an indoor drying rack), the villa is very well equipped.

There was a welcome bottle of Madeira wine and a Madeira cake (totally different to the version you get in the UK) awaiting our arrival. The manager and his wife made us welcome and were very helpful. Ask for the discount voucher for Onda Azul restaurant! Eight of us, including two children, had a fabulous holiday at Villa Panoramica and we’d heartily recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape736...
1 review
“Fabulous villa”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Have just returned from a really great week with my extended family who in total comprised 6 adults and one baby. The villa is very large with plenty of space for all of us.
Facilities and equipment in the villa are excellent as are the sea views, glorious sunsets as the villa is west facing,and the outdoor pool.
We also especially loved the indoor barbecue.
George our host was very helpful and we wanted for nothing.
Would definitely return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Hello
Thanks for your great review.
I was a pleasure to have guests like you at our villa .
Hope to see you in a near future
All the best
DHM Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2004123la...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth with views to die for”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We have had a perfect week here in Arco da Calheta! Wow, what a villa! We were gobsmacked from the minute we walked through the door we were greeted to a modern villa with a delicious welcome gift and the natural beauty that surrounds this lovely temporary home. From the very second we enquired about our stay, Phillip and his lovely family have been amazing. beach. Located in a central location, Funchal and Sao Vincente were only a half hour drive away. Renting a car makes it so much easier to explore the island. There are so many more things i can say about the place but to truly discover the beauty you must find out for yourself, you won't regret it at all. We very much enjoyed our visit and it won't be long at all until we're back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikpak
Kaunas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really excellent place to stay. Nice house, very comfortable, spacious. Oustanding view to the ocean. Great advantage - hitted pool. The owner is very helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatoDjin
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful villa :)”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Absolutely amazing villa, really felt no need to go out anywhere else for dinner or drinks on an evening (although forced ourselves one night). The pool and garden was sun drenched all day, right up until evening. 

Location to the beach is great, and you can be there within five minutes by car. The local supermarket just opposite the beach is called pingo doce and has more than anything you might need, including vegetarian, non dairy options. There is also a couple of little local mini markets within five minutes walking distance. A few bars, which we never went to and a kids playground next to the church. 

The apartment is kitted out to a really high spec, with all the kitchen utensils you need, there is two kitchens, which is great if you are more than one family. The beds were comfy, great hot showers and more than enough bathrooms for all.

We had everything we requested provided for us, like two cots and high chairs. More than enough towels, everything was just top notch.

The pool was lovely and clean at a nice temperature.

The villa is in a really nice quiet area and very close to the lavada which you can follow up for a nice, but very steep walk!

I definitely recommend the villa, it was beautiful and I can't fault anything. I also seriously recommend a car for getting about and something with some decent power as some of the hills around the area are very steep indeed! 

Totally 5 star holiday :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing