We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecovillas(Adele)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
350
28
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
28
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarkadi monasterylocal ingredientshonesty barcretan hillsolive oil factorydining terracefresh herbsevery eveningbuffet breakfastamari valleynearest townperfect hotellovely poolbeautiful roomswimming pooltasting menupeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 5 adults staying for two nights. Kapsaliana is an abandoned town now turned into around 15 high end rooms and suites. Each room is unique - one of ours had a little garden, another a small terrace. It is definitely worth checking exactly which room you are getting as some looked much nicer than others - several had private terraces on the first floor, although I guess you have to pay more for these!

The setting is stunning, on a hillside overlooking olive groves, mountains in one direction and the sea in the other.

The breakfast was really first rate - lots of local produce, bread, eggs, meat, yogurt, fruit, bread. As we were leaving early on the day of departure they prepared a breakfast pack for us to take away. Dinner was good but perhaps a little overpriced. If you are staying for a few days then I would recommend cheap and cheerful Taverna Faraggi which is about 5mins drive away.

My only minor reservation was that the whole thing comes across as quite slick, and perhaps slightly commercialised/impersonal as a result.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We had booked our stay at the Kapsaliana in the new year and we could not have been more pleased with our choice. It is situated in the quiet Cretan hills and a car is needed to get around. It is the perfect sanctuary for peace and relaxation and the restoration of this ancient village is spectacular. Our room was beyond our expectations and the terrace was the ideal place for us to enjoy the good weather and the quiet evenings. We ate at the restaurant twice and food is superbly presented, fresh and delicious. Breakfast selection was fantastic. Thank you to all the staff at the Kapsaliana who made our stay so memorable with their great service and friendly smiles. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcie114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel restaurant was a fine dinning experience. The food was excellent quality and the service very agréable! This is exactly what we should call "new greek cuisine"! Bravo.
I strongly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vangelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

The brainchild of an architect Kapisliana village hotel takes an old cretan village and remakes it into a boutique hotel
of understated elegance. Lovely rooms and rustic resturant serving lunch and dinner. Honesty bar by the pool.
Closest township in Rethymon - need a car for this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

What to write about this hotel? Everything is more than we expected for instance ....the wonderfull staf....the beautiful small village itself.....the very good rooms......the beautiful quiet surroundings.....and than the restaurant every night the chef cook and his crew presented the quests a super dinner! The property and the surrounding lush gardens are overwhelming great. Just go there and enjoy a memorable time♥️

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annemiek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews