We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect pit-stop to relax and charge batteries...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Vila do Porto, Santa Maria, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
mvitor
Torres Vedras, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A perfect pit-stop to relax and charge batteries :-)”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in August 2013

During my round trip by bicycle in Azores I had the pleasure to stay at Casa do Norte in Santa Maria. The house and its surroundings are fantastic. Thumbs up to Laurinda's kindness and attention to all details.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Silence, view and Laurinda's kindness
Liked least: to go away...
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
The pleasure and the privilege is ours. Thank you for choosing Casa do Norte to stay during your wonderful and incredible journey. You prove and make us believe that a round trip by bicycle is possible in Azores :) Thank you for that too and best luck for all your future projects. Laurinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This autumn we stayed at Casa do Norte for the fourth time in three years. Casa do Norte is a cosy place where you will find total peace and quiet in the middle of the Azorean landscape. There, we feel at home. Everything is provided for, from Laurinda’s warm welcome to the cleanliness of the house, from the carefully chosen decoration to the functional pantry, from the spacious bathroom to the large garden surrounding the house. Here you can simply lean back and quickly forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life - oh, and the view from atop the cliffs just a few minutes’ walk away is simply breathtaking…

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for this wonderful testimony, it makes me very happy. It is very gratifying to have guests like you who return year after year. It's a sign that Casa do Norte is, in did, a special place and that our effort to accommodate well and provide a warm, harmonious and family stay is worth it. I hope you continue to give me the pleasure to receive you both even more often :) Laurinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia_G...
Pesaro, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Casa do Norte is an amazing place, in an amazing part of an amazing island. Laurinda, the lovely owner, helped me as a friend. Now we actually are friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house and the garden
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you Cecilia for this kindly words. It was really a big pleasure for me to meet you and to receive you at Casa do Norte. I do hope we can meet again soon. Warm regards!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidian
loves canarie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superlative”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, our 2 years old baby and me stayed in Casa do Norte 7 days in August 2013.
The house is a perfect panoramic location: there is a big garden all over 360' where you can admire the see but also the green island or simply get the sun..and relax! The house is in a tipical açorian style. It's clean and furnished of everything you need in the kitchen, in the bedroom, in the bathroom and also for a grill outside!
There are also detergents!
Laurinda is an extraordinary kind person: she helped us in finding a cheap car to rent, she interested in boat timetable from Sao Miguel island, she gave us a lot of interesting information about the island and toke always care that everything was ok. The first day she also left the fridge full of typical food from S Maria island and bought us fruit, bread and cakes..
A perfect host in a perfect holidays house!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Dear Sylvia, thank you so much for this lovely review about me as a hostess and about Casa do Norte. I always do my best to help my guests in whatever they need and make sure that everything is prepared for the arrival. I'm also very happy to know that you appreciate so much my little but "special" house. All the best for all family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuditeCan...
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful beautiful place”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Casa do Norte is beautiful. Warm, cozy and intense. Don't know if it's the landscape, the north wind, the islet in front, the clear air, or the house itself, but everything mixes in somethings that sticks. In your memory, in your bones. Finally, you're received in an embracing, local knowledge and very nice way.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Dear Judite, thank you for notice and write about how "special" is Casa do Norte. I like to think this is a special place for special people! Warm regards and hope to see you again in Santa Maria and in Casa do Norte.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing