We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best place to stay in Flores”
other travellers have booked this property
Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden
Interior Interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Garden
Interior
Interior
Garden
Garden
Faja Grande
Interior
Faja Grande from the north
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Faja Grande, Flores, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Arianna64...
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Flores”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

O Palheiro is really worth to go and to stay at least for 1 week!
Unfortunately we stayed there only 3 nights.
Fajà grande is the best location in Flores to stay and the Palheiro was really suitable for us. The apartment is small but very well furnished; it is really worthy for 2 persons, but with the added bed we manged to stay there with our child (9 years). Everithing is at the right place, you have all you need (and more!) but the real added value is the private garden, with lot of flowers and plant and with a confortable table where we could have our breakfast.
In additon to that, there is another table ... on the top of the roof, with direct access from the garden, from where you have a lovely view of the sea and the montains.
Neil, the owner, is very helpfull an kind.
I hope we will go back there for a longer period

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private garden
Liked least: the fact that you have to pay all the amount 6 weeks before arrival
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming place on a charming island”
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Having spent a few days in O Palheiro I may only confirm that it is a perfect place to stay in when exploring Flores island. It's comfortable, well designed, located on the more convenient site of the island, and Neil and Carol are always helpful with plenty of local knowledge. Recommended for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Reviewed 5 February 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne-Mari...
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place - Perfect holiday !”
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

O Palheiro is a beautiful accomodation in the lovely viilage of Faja Grande. The studio accomodation was perfectly appointed and had everything you could possibly need. However, if you managed to find a need that was not catered for, Neil & Carol will sort it out for you - nothing was too much trouble - their attention to detail is immaculate and the views from the private patio and garden are gorgeous. O Palheiro is in a great place to walk to the town shop, bar and restaurant and easy walk to the beach front where the sunset is amazing. There was one thing that was bad....having to leave the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful view from patio.
Liked least: Leaving !
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lug717
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A heavenly place to stay on the paradise island of Flores”
Reviewed 12 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

'O Palheiro' and Faja Grande were even more beautiful then we had expected and the snug cottage apartment with its' own entrance (just off the Faja Grande's main street) was perfect for 2 adults. We had known before we arrived, that Flores was reputed to be the most beautiful of the Azorean islands, but sometimes the scenery took our breath away, as it was almost surreally perfect. Faja Grande is about 30 mins from the airport and the route there is a treat in itself as one crosses over the middle of the island and its' landscape of lake-filled craters. Neil and Carol are O Palhiro's excellent hosts: considerate, attentive but not intrusive, and their guide to the island helped us get the most out of our 3 days there. The apartment was well furnished and had lots of little extras eg: tea, coffee, condiments, beers, magazines and books and also a salad garden that we occassionally used, but we ate out most evenings in the local restaurant which is a 3 minute walk down the road. It served simple and fresh food, such as barbequed prawns or chicken; the Azores in general is not a place for those who demand 'nouvelle cuisine' or demure portions! We regretted not spending longer in Flores - 5 days would be the minimum we would recommend if your idea of a holiday is tranquillity, incredible plantlife, fabulous coastal walks, wonderful seas and waterfalls in which to swim, a place which is inexpensive and just over a 4 hours flight from Gatwick. (A car is useful but not necessary as it is easy to book taxis) We are already looking forward to our next visit to Faja Grande and the oasis that was O Palheiro.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and peacefulness
Liked least: Nothing - everything, including the weather, was perfect
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing