We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW what a view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Santa Barbara de Nexe, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kingy01
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“WOW what a view”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The villa Quinta do Canal is absolutely perfect for a relaxing break away. The villa has a absolutely stunning panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and costal area. The villa is very good size and sleeps 5 very comfortably. All the rooms are huge and the property has everything you need and more and made for a real home from home holiday. You need a car for sure but once you are there the view is beyond stunning. The only downside I can say is that due to the time of year we visited ( July) it was so hot and the villa doesn't have air con it does have plenty of fans in each room which as great.

Also not connected to the villa in anyway but there are dogs in the neighbouring property that did bark quite a lot which slightly detracted from the tranquil seclusion of this beautiful villa. We will 100% book Quinta do Canal again and overall had a wonderful holiday. Thanks to Daniel who is great as a host and always on hand if needed ....

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanis V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect place for families”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We recommend this place....for families are perfect...open YouTube and write Yanis Viksne and you will see this house videos,inside and outside.....enjoy....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr Mrs J
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is not for the faint hearted as it stands proudly on the top of a hill which can be seen clearly from Faro airport. Though the access road was difficult to find the owners were on hand to not only guide us up the steep track but also rescued us as our hire car stalled half way up.

The villa was emaculate, spacious and surprisingly cool considering it had no air conditioning. It's position on the top of a hill meant wonderful breezes which were very welcoming during the evenings after a day with hot temperatures. The pool was also great for cooling off and was cleaned twice a week, there was also a handy pool side shower.

Though this is a fantastic villa throughout, easily accommodating Six adults, it must be noted that its location is rather remote and therefore you must plan ahead. A good hire car is essential and if we were to return we would definitely up grade. This said it was easy to get to all the popular tourist attractions and we even popped over the border to Spain for a day trip.

Faro is only a 10 to 15 minute drive away and has a good selection of restaurants, bars and shops though isn't too crowded. There are also some larger super markets on the edge of Faro. We found the best beaches were in Vale de Lobo and Villa Moura though the sun beds and parasols can be expensive. We tended to go sight seeing in the morning and then stayed by the pool during the afternoons.

Santa Barbera De Nexe is a quiet village which has grown due to the villa complexes which surround it. It has a petrol station ( though the owners are a bit miserable) and a small super market which caters for daily essentials and is reasonable priced. There is a lovely restaurant which has an Italian cuisine, the staff are friendly and welcoming, though it is a bit pricey. We ate in some evenings as the local produce is excellent and the kitchen at the villa is not only well equipped but there is also a dishwasher. There is a bbq but with the evening breezes it can take a while to light and then keep a light.

The only downside of this villa was the limited wifi. The owner kindly provided us with a wifi dongle which gave a limited access. Personally I wasn't bothered but my three teenage children really seemed to suffer and were estatic when we went to a restaurant which had internet access.

Obviously the steep hair raising drive to the villa was rewarded with the most beautiful and stunning views of the Algave. Every morning we woke to the gorgeous panorama and witnessed some absolutely stunning sunsets.

In our opinion this is a beautiful villa and as long as you are not afraid of heights and prepared to plan a head this is a terrific find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the pool
Liked least: The road going up to the villa and the limited wifi.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette R
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing