We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excelent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Despina 1

swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
swimming pool
bedroom bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
swimming pool
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
kitchen-dining room
kitchel -dining room
kitchen
dining room-hall
living-room
bathroom
sauna
balcony
balcony
swimming pool
garden
swimming pool-garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lefkogia, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
2 reviews
“Excelent”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house was clean and really beautiful. The host was exceptional. The area is really peaceful and beautiful. I recomend this villa to every traveler

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Dear holidaymaker,
You were an exceptional client.You are very friendly and clean family.Nice to meet you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leannieh
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Villa - Great Location - Great Holiday”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 11 nights, there were 2 adults and three teenagers. The villa was very clean, the hosts were perfect, there villa had everything we wanted and needed for our stay. The views from the villa were stunning and with a choice of 6 balconies we could be in or out of the sun as we wished. We all had an amazing holiday and found the villa well located for walks, the beaches, the shops and tavernas. We ate in the taverna which is also owned by the villa owners and loved the food and service and hospitality of the whole family. We all wish to return for another holiday to Villa Despina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the pool, the location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2014
they were very polite and friendly people.they were eating in our taverna many times and we have become friends.
i wish they had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1805bob
Michigan, USA
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family holiday in Crete”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in the property in June and had a very good time. The house was plenty big enough for the four of us, with 4 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. The house included the amenities as advertized and we had all that we needed. Wifi connection details were provided when requested, and A/C was available for a daily charge. We did not need it even with temps around 30C as the strong winds kept the air moving in the house. There were plenty of patios to choose from, depending on wind/sun location, and the pool and surroundings were ideal, with a kids pool section in the regular pool.
Access to nearby beaches was 5-10 minute drive, and Plakias Beach and town was no more than 10 minutes away. We could be in Rethimnon is 30 minutes, and both Heraklion and Khania were a 1.5 hour drive. Scenery and setting is spectacular, and the house is reached from the north via a spectacular gorge. We spent most time at Damnoni beach, though Shinaria, Preveli and Plakias itself are close. Every small village has at least 1 mini-market, and there was a much bigger supermarket in Plakias, and a decent sized one in Armeni if traveling from Rethimnon. The owners run a roadside Taverna very near to the house, and were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: The frequent strong wind (fron the North) could be a surprise, but did not trouble us
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svatopluk...
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service, nice people, great holiday”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week's vacation with friends here. Vila has enabled us to take trips on many sides of central Crete (Rethymno, Hora Sfakion, Gortis, Phaistos, Matala, Agrioupori, ...) and also there are many beautiful beaches near. In May there was very few tourists.
Accommodation is at a good standard level - for ten people enough space. The pool is very well maintained. A great and unique advantage of this place are very friendly owners, who in provide us perfect service every night neighboring tavern. Mrs. Despina´s food was just great.
We very much enjoyed it here - southern Crete and this place impressed us. Thank you, very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great owners
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2013
they were very polite and friendly people.They ate at our taverna every night.we had become friends and now that they have left we have mised them.
i wish they had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: People, sea
Liked least: too short period of staying
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing