We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect situated villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Aphrodite

Villa Aphrodite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Aphrodite
The swimming pool at daylight The children's pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa Aphrodite
The swimming pool at daylight
The children's pool
Villa Aphrodite
The children's playground
The garden
The entrance to the villa
The new stone-built barbeque
The table tennis
The first verandah
The second verandah
The swimming pool  area
The facade of the villa
The second master bedroom
The first bathroom with jacuzzi
The first master bedroom
The bathroom for people with special needs
The bathroom with people for special needs
The kitchen
The dining room
The living room
Dining al-fresco
The third bedroom
Aerial photo of the villa
Aerial photo of the villa
Aerial photo of the villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Prines, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Travel827...
1 review
“Perfect situated villa”
Reviewed 31 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We had a lovely 2 week stay at Villa Aphrodite. The villa is well equipped and plenty of room for 6 people. The villa itself is all on one level which makes it ideal for people with lesser mobility and has an adapted bathroom for wheelchair users with wet room and grab handle for toilet on left hand side (as you face it). All doors are wide enough to get wheelchairs through. The pool area is fantastic and well maintained and the children's pool is a bonus for keeping the little ones entertained in a safe environment.

Stella and her family are by far the best owners/hosts of any villa we have stayed with (in various countries). Their hospitality is second to none and can see why visitors come back to one of their three villas again and again. This was demonstrated in the welcome food pack which included a lovely home cooked evening meal and everything you would need for your first breakfast and lunch time meal. This was repeated on the cleaning days of the villa where another meal and gifts were left (including the most amazing cake!). Stella's mum even popped by on our last day and gave us gifts from the local area to take home which was such a nice touch. We did had an issue on this last day with the electricity and can only compliment the quick speed in which this was resolved.

The location is perfect with easy access to shops, beaches and easy travelling distance to Chania and Heraklion if you wanted to travel further afield. Rethymnon is an approx 10 minute drive and has a lovely quaint harbour and amazing shopping streets and restaurants.

Due to the weather being a bit hit and miss we managed to see quite a bit of Crete including the south part of the island. The villa is really well situated but a hire car is essential.

Thanks again to Stella and her family who made the holiday even more memorable.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gershonco...
Herzliya, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise Revisited”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is our 7th year at the villas of family Sofoulakis.4 years at Villa Artemis,,and now 3 years at Villa Aphrodite..next month we are coming back to stay at their newest Villa Ifigenia which has just opened it's door.All these villas are within walking distance of the village of Prines with it's authentic Greek taverns,and a short drive from Rethymno with it's old town,harbour,and many restaurants and shops.luxuriate in the beautiful swimming pool which is cleaned every day,,wake up to fresh vegetables, olive oil and raki delivered " on the house " .But hurry up and book today.We have already made reservations for 2018 AND 2019.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dtb1207
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a beautiful and relaxing holiday!

We took our 15 month old on his first holiday and stayed in this wonderful, spacious, elegant villa. It has everything you could possibly need; large living area with tv and access to back balcony for those lazy evenings, large comfortable bedrooms, private areas, large clean pool and children's pool - which our son loved! Amazing views from both front facing patios (which made a lovely background in the evening for food and drinks!), large garden area and we made use of the BBQs on a couple of nights too!

The villa is situated close to amenities including a number of lovely bakeries, coffee shops and a wonderful restaurant (Giannikos Taverna) and its only a short drive to the hustle and bustle of the town (Rethymno)

We definitely couldn't recommend this villa and the owners more - what a wonderful family - they are so tentative (even down to the ice creams in the freezer and lovely toilertries) We can't wait to stay here again next summer!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
Havant
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd year in paradise ”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our 2nd year visiting Villa Aphrodite in Prines. Stella and her wonderful family provide a 5 star escape to heaven. Knowing we were returning to Aphrodite filled us with great confidence assured 100% EVERYTHING would be perfect.

The only bad thing was leaving and dealing with the 'post holiday blues' However, quickly cured by the fact we have booked Stella's other villa 'Artemis' for next year.

If you want a Cretan getaway with first class facilities and being looked after by the most charming family I have ever met.... book now.

Thank you Stella and your family for all your hard work ensuring we had the best holiday and a BBQ to die for. Generous beyond belief.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Dear Ian,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments concerning our hospitality. It was our pleasure to meet such kind and wonderful people. We are happy to hear that you enjoy your holidays at our villa. We always do our best to provide our guests with the best service. We are looking forward to meeting you again next summer!! Best wishes to all of you.
Stella xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa aphrodite.”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the second year we have booked this villa. I would never want to go anywhere else now. The villa is clean inside and out in a lovely quiet location. I cannot explain enough how wonderful and kind Stella and all her family are, they all make you feel so welcome. Thank you to ruela for the wonderful mousakja, cheese pie, stuffed tomatoes and vine leaves. We had a wonderful bbq evening with you all. The villa is so well equipped with anything you need (including plenty of raki.) You can tell Stella, ruela, Dimitri, george and Maria really care about keeping the villa clean and care somuch about their guests. Can't wait to see you all again next year thanks again for making our holiday a memorable one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing