We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, we had a great time.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gerani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel, we had a great time.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just returned from a week's all-inclusive booked through Thomson. We found the hotel to be modern, clean, with friendly and helpful staff. We have a toddler who was entertained by the play areas (3), the " fun club" and the nightly kid's disco. The pool area is clean and well-presented. I can imagine though that in peak season there will be a shortage of sun loungers.

We thought that the holiday overall was great. Our room was not in the main hotel, being across the road. The room was nicely presented but a little on the small side for the 3 of us. The food was on the whole pretty decent. We found there to be a lot of choice although perhaps it would be a bit " samey" over a 2-week period. Good choice of drinks available too.

The hotel staff were great, in particular the restaurant staff who made a fuss of our little girl at every meal time, which was lovely.

So, here is why I've not rated it as excellent:

The hotel is grouped together with the Caldera Beach, next door. You'll find that there is entertainment provided by the " Fun Club" at the Creta Paradise and by TUI at the Caldera Beach. The TUI entertainment is better by far. But, your all-inclusive wristband is only applicable for the Creta Paradise, so we found ourselves stocking up on drinks and taking them with us. Slight gripe is that we were unable to sit where we wanted to at the Caldera Beach as certain tables were prioritised for their own guests. So on a few occasions we ended up going back to the Creta Paradise as there were no tables available which allowed us to keep an eye on our little one,as she sat by the stage.

The location of the hotel is also not great. Gerani is a bit of a nowhere place. We like to have a bit of a walk in the evening and this isn't really possible if you have a little one as you'd need to walk along the main road for some time, before you got to Platanias.

I'd recommend hiring a car through the company which is in the hotel reception (sorry, can't remember the name). We got a 7 seater for 3 days, for 210 euros. We explored almost all of the Northern side of Crete. It's beautiful. Simple as that. Go to Elafonisi beach, if you get chance. We also had a lovely day at Phalasarna. Both of these places involve some driving in the mountains, not for the faint-hearted! Beautiful drive though, with so much to see.

We will definitely return to Crete and would also stay in another Atlantica Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the block that is across from the main hotel seem to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrsBManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    315
    142
    43
    29
See reviews for
479
327
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Great all inclusive hotel. Our 2yr old son had loads to do. Great playground facilities, lovely food. Had a lovely swim up room across the road, which was really quiet and peaceful. The bed here is the most comfortable I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DollypopG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

hi we stayed last april my partner and i - it was awful, cost us over 1k with thomson holidays, it was showing as a platinum hotel, it was foul utterly disgusting. the food was luke warm, cold salty and horrible. fruit was off bruised, the eggs were cold and fried in 2 litres of oil in a wok it was absolutely disgusting. i know some people write reviews and pick trust me this was terrible. i was 4 months pregnant at the time and i didn;t eat for a week. we survived on crisp and chocolate from the supermarket over the road. i have never been to anywhere where i have wished to be home back at work. i wud of rather gone to a 2 star in turkey than here. stick to the canaries it was disgusting. we wrote and complained to hotel and thomson along with photographic evidence and received nothing but a 50pd voucher . we are from manchester england and we were the only ones from england apart from an old couple. it was vile does not cater for english and the drinks and alcohol were watered down and rubbish. if u need to contact me please do ... thank you

Room Tip: do not go see my photos , please take my advice go somewhere else, a 2 star in turkey wud be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beckylouise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had enjoyed a very nice week at the beginning of July 2011. The hotel, food and rooms were excellent. The staff were always polite and smilling, always happy to help. Our room was not in the main hotel but across the road, which at first I found annoying as you had to remember to take everything with you in the morning or face a short journey back to the room. Which is not easy with two toddlers! However, we found the distance a blessing in the evenings and could have a peacefull night as we were away from the noise of the holiday makers and the evening entertainment.

The only downsides to mention are:
Not enough sun loungers by the pool.
The hotel is about 45-60minutes ride from the airport.

I would definetily recommend the hotel and we have booked another Atlantica hotel for this summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed in this Hotel in October 2011, we had a fantastic time. We had a swim up room which is located across the road from the main complex and therefore a little quieter. The hotel itself has direct access to the beach with plenty of sunbeds.
The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable, the mini fridge was very useful.
The food was varied and plentiful, and can thoroughly recommend the cocktail menu(!)
The staff were friendly and helpful. But did find the children's activities a little disorganised.
Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Would recommend swim up rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sueri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
4.0 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.8 km away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
166 reviews
137.9 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
2.5 km away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Caretta Beach
Caretta Beach
#6 of 11 in Gerani
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica

Property: Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica
Address: Gerani Beach, Gerani, Crete 731 00, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gerani
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gerani
#4 Family Hotel in Gerani
Price range (per night): $124 - $298
Hotel Class:4 star — Family Life Creta Paradise by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True paradise! The charm of traditional cretan village with modern resort facilities. Ideal for families and couples!11 km from the beautiful town of Chania lies one of Crete’s preserved secrets, the beautiful beach resort of Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise, situated on the graphic coastline of Platanias. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Caldera Creta Paradise Hotel Gerani
Bravo Creta Paradise Platanias
Family Life Creta Paradise By Atlantica Gerani, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing