We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short wonderful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Certificate of Excellence
Orange,Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A short wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was just a stop over hotel on our way to Moorea and Bora Bora, so this is just what we saw in a limited stay. The resort is only a 5 minute ride from the airport(about $10) and was very convenient. The check-in was nice and quick. Since we only were staying 1 night, we had a garden room. It was clean and a nice size. We were on the first floor facing the ocean, although no view. The benefit of staying so close to the airport is also the one drawback e ran across. We were woken around 6:00 am by an airplane. We walked around the property in the morning before the breakfast. The grounds were very nice with lots of beautiful views from around the resort. Part 2: After our trip to Bora Bora, we had a 6 hour stop at the airport, so we found a building across from the airport terminal to check our 2 suitcases($20), and we took a cab back here for dinner. That night they also had a show with dinner that was free and very good. As a side note: We headed back to the airport about 2 hours before take-off in which we were last in line to check-in and go thru customs, which took a total of about 90 minutes. And it was a hot and humid 90 minutes! Just be prepared. I've included some pictures, but there isn't much more I can say, because of our limited time here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest:
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip Advisor after your recent stay at Intercontinental Tahiti Resort.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that overall, you were satisfied with the service and facilities provided by our property.
We look forward of the pleasure to welcoming you back: Meanwhile, should you at any time need any further information to help you or your friends make reservations for your next Tahiti holiday at the InterContinental Tahiti Resort, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,122
    1,069
    378
    135
    79
See reviews for
339
1,911
84
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Perhaps hotels on the main island are mostly for overnight stopovers for those heading to other islands or back to the US. There's really not much to this place, and if you treat it as simply a 'pitstop' then it's acceptable. Rooms are old and outdated. Scenery OK. The best part is proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear TravFiend,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It's nice to know that you like our proximity to the airport. However, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression. We would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was the first time staying at an Intercontinental Hotel for an overnight stopover back to the west coast from Bora Bora for the early morning Air France flight to LA.

The only good thing about this hotel is its location – so close to the airport. It goes down hill from there. Arrival at the hotel was utter chaos. The lobby was filled with luggage and packed with people. Either a large group had arrived early or was in the process of leaving. There were not enough people at the front desk to handle the volume.

Our room wasn’t ready, so we opted for lunch while we waited. The service was slow, food mediocre, and iced teas arrived after requesting it from 3 different people.

Our panoramic view room was nicely furnished and in good repair, however, the air conditioning was so inefficient that we needed to keep the drapes closed to keep the afternoon sun out, so the view was pointless.

Other than the bed being very comfortable, we found a stray hair on the ledge behind the bed and one in the shower. Half the room service menu was not available for dinner because of entertainment that night (still trying to figure that one out), and what we did order (two different pastas) was tasteless, and at these room and food prices, I would think that cloth napkins would be the norm - we got paper.

Early morning check-out for our flight was another problem with only one person at the reception desk and way too many people trying to check out for early morning flights. The in-room check-out system wasn’t working, and with front desk check-out so backed up, we couldn’t wait around to “officially” check out.

As this was simply an overnight stop, given the short stay at this “resort”, I can’t possibly imagine staying here for a multi-night vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StevoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v_roniquey, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Intercontinental Tahiti Resort!
We would like first of all to thank you for posting your comments on trip Advisor, and we sincerely regret that your short stay with us did not meet with your expectations.
Your valuable comments regarding our customer service have been dealt appropriately for correction with the departments concerned.
We sincerely hope that your future travelling plans will include Intercontinental Hotels group and more particularly InterContinental Tahiti Resort ; Please do let us know next time you want to visit us as we would be honoured to welcome you back and ensure you are fully satisfied.
Sincerely.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed here for a few hours before boarding a Paul Gauguin cruise. This hotel was such a treat after long flight and a fabulous introduction to Tahiti. The rooms were luxurious and the grounds gorgeous. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west hills, ca
Level Contributor
507 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed just for the day before boarding the Paul Gauguin for an 11 night cruise. The property is beautiful, the pool and beach just lovely. It may not be up to the standards of the other IC Tahitian properties but its the best on Tahiti.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faa'a
3.5 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
22.1 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.9 km away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
61.2 km away
The Brando
The Brando
#1 of 1 in Tetiaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
13.3 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Address: | Pointe Tata'a, Faa'a 98702, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Faa'a
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Faa'a
Price range (per night): $335 - $542
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort has a total of 253 rooms and bungalows, comprising 172 fully renovated garden and lagoon view rooms, a separate wing with 60 panoramic view rooms for the top achievers and VIPs, a suite, and 32 over-water bungalows. All units are air-conditioned, with international facilities and amenities. Located in 32 acres of gardens, the Polynesian style resort offers views of unforgettable sunsets and volcanic peaks of the sister island Moorea, just 12 miles across the sea of moons. The resort offers 2 restaurants including gourmet over water restaurant and an all day dining restaurant featuring the best Tahitian shows on the island, 2 bars, 2 crystal clear, fresh Water overflow swimming pools, and a host of activities to entertain just about everyone. The property features an activity center including tennis, water sports and the largest scuba-diving center Special mention about the huge lagoonarium where guests can swim in a protected area and enjoy Polynesian exceptional sea-life. The Deep Nature Spa by Algotherm is open since the end of 2008" is also equipped with a great gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Tahiti Hotel Faa`a
Intercontinental Hotel Tahiti
Intercontinental Hotel Faaa
Beachcomber Resort Tahiti
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing