We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful quiet flat in the sun”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front terrace with seating and bbq Good size master bedroom with views of Tahiche volcano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Front terrace with seating and bbq
Good size master bedroom with views of Tahiche volcano
living area sofa bed and kitchen area, washing machine, fridge, microwave, toaster, oven and hob
tv for watching dvd's,  a good selection of dvd's plus speaker system for mobile or computer music
showeroom with walk in shower
goodsize terrace overlooking volcano of Tahiche and the sea
Chinese Garden with seating for peace tranquility and meditation also jaccuzi
dining area and kitchen
good size pool
Volcano in the North of the Island
Sofa in Chinese Garden
one of my wall paintings in the pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tahiche, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
amyedu201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet flat in the sun”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Really lovely little flat in a beautifully stunning part of Lanzarote. Amazing views and sooo quiet. Has a lovely swimming pool which has been decorated perfectly - we didn't use it much though, as we were often at the beach!
There are a lot of animals, but we didn't mind a bit as we love them! We even got fresh eggs from the chickens which was great.
Sally-Ann is very friendly and helpful and made sure we were comfortable and well looked after. The house was clean and had everything we needed. We were out a lot of the time exploring, so it was a perfect base for us. Sally-Ann is eco friendly which is fantastic, and as such the hot water is heated by the sun - very impressive! This means you can have lovely hot showers in the afternoon/evenings after a long day at the beach... the rest of the time there is a kettle to boil water for washing up etc.
Highly recommended retreat in the sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you Amy so lovely to meet you sorry I was away when you ar
rived but great to meet up before you left. Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TVD1978
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Above expectations, recommendable!”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Happy to have chosen Casita de Gato for a few days relaxing. Little hard to find but once you're there... wow ;-) In a few words - excellent housing, good bed, well furnished casita, loving pets around, stunning views, laidback atmosphere, quiet area day and night, and a marvelous host. Friendly, helpful, good hearted and a great person to spend your time with.
We had some rain in night time and the roof was leaking at one point.
After we mentioned this, Sally got it fixed the next hour. That is what I call service!
Sally thank you and hopefully we will meet again!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D H
Derbyshire England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice apartment but needs a bit of development”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is situated in a nice, if slightly isolated location, on the lower slopes of a volcano (!!) maybe a km away from the nearest town of Tahiche, with breathtaking views across to the coast and town. I would say you would definitely need a hire car to live here. There is ample parking at the apartment for more than one car.

The nearby major attraction, the Cesar Manrique foundation, is within walking distance and well worth a visit.

The apartment owner Sally provided a lovely warm welcome despite some adverse circumstances and showed us round. The apartment is nice and clean, and fine in terms of decor, with attractive pictures, comfortable beds and a good level of furnishing. Sally has a big collection of dogs and cats, two of the cats are always keen to gain access to the place, but that was fine for our family since we are all dog and cat lovers.

There is good wi-fi available. The pool area is lovely and secluded, with a heated pool and Chinese garden.

There are currently some snags though, which I must discuss. As a self catering apartment the place is seriously under equipped with a random assortment of both cookware and cutlery. Our family of three were not able to cook reliably, things like pasta are tricky since none of the pans have lids and there was no colander or sieve. Fortunately Sally was happy to lend us one. There was enough cutlery for three people but only two teaspoons which meant that the three of us could not sit down to a yoghurt for pud together. Also it means very much emphasis on washing up. It needs another few place settings of cutlery and some more cookware like a casserole or oven ware.

Currently in a rain storm the roof leaks in about five places including over the sofa and over the pillow area of the main bed, Sally is aware of this and has already taken action to remedy the leaks, but not successful so far. The outside doors also leak badly. The inside doors jam and stick and the taps are loose. The place would benefit from a few hours attention from a good handyman.

Sometimes there is no hot water at all in the morning and most days there was not enough hot water for the three of us to have showers. This latter snag seems to be a limitation of the very long un-insulated pipe run from the main house.

To be fair, Sally does say ask if you need anything but it becomes embarrassing to have to keep popping round every few minutes.

I would not say the above absolutely spoilt our holiday but it would have been so much nicer had these snags not been present. So I would give a cautious recommendation but be aware of the above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Leaks and shortage of equipment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Hello sorry you did not find enough cutlery for your requirements there is 6 of most things I thought more tea spoons as I put in several but maybe they have been lost over time. No one previous has ever asked for a colinder or lids for the saucepans the colinder is now permanent in the Casita. Many have commented how well equiped the Casita is, i will however ensure extra tea spoons are provided.The hot water is usually suficient for 5 people including myself and I have never had a problem before although it does take a while for the water to travel from the roof of my house to the Casita as the weather was very very cold especially over night the water went cold as no sun in the day for the solar panel it meant that I had to put on the electric heater which I happily did for you on the one occasion you asked and it was found the water was actually cold on the other occasions the water was hot and the problem was not allowing long enough for it to reach the casita. I got up early to put on the water heater in a morning so you had hot water when you were going out early. I ensured every afternoon it was hot for your return I am sorry that it was not enough for your needs.
The weather the week you were here was exceptional torrential rain not usual, the Casita is new hence no occaision to test the roof. The day that the rain stopped the repair man came and sealed the roof again however it will be impossible to test until we have again the degree of rain you suffered on your stay, my house leaked too as did a lot of roofs in Lanzarote last week. One tap is slughtly loose but working perfectly well, i became aware of it the day i cleaned for your arrival it will be repaired next time the Casita is vacant, as there are only 2 taps in the Casita that us not all of the taps and really not a major issue. Considering how much rain we had and how damp everything was I am not surprised the doors swolllen and stuck they were hung in the summer when it was hot the carpeter came trimmed them in November he said we could not take anymore off because they woukd have gaps again come summer. The weather was exceptionally wet I expect this week the doors will be ok in fact the day you left I cleaned and the doors were fine again. I am now aware that the rain penetrated the frint door and this too will be sealed although I cannot stress enough that the quantity of rain during your stay was exceptional tgey in fact closed the schools and cancelled Carnival this is a totally different way of living to the Uk here we learn to adapt because very soon the sun shines and everyone forgets the rain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southston...
Español en el mundo
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
I enjoyed your stay with me so much you are a lovely family. Thank you so much for that last evening I loved our conversation about the world and the universe. You are always welcome her and next time you come you will see more changes as I continue to put my print on Casita De Galto evry week I try to add a new idea. Thank you so much for leaving everything so clean it makes my job so much easier to prepare for the next guests. Especially this week as my friend is here and it gives me more time with her. Please tell your daughter she can contact me while here in Lanzarote and I am always available if she needs help or advice. Looking forward so much to seeing you all again I feel I have made new friends. God Bless. Namaste
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing