We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
36
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood burner chilli fabulous stay first floor amazing views self catering renovated barn coast to coast keld lodge the pub next morning warm welcome gary fridge bath reheated accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Gary and Cath were very welcoming. As others have mentioned warm but not intrusive. Self contained cottage, great dinner that we reheated . Well stocked . Settled on the side of a hill , spectacular views at the front door. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Brilliant stay !!

Gary & Cath very welcoming and the appartment was ready set-up and different stay to the normal.

We were wet and cold and in need of a relaxing stay, Chilli prepared and a great wine and beer selection. All tought out very well for the walkers who need this type of break.

Thank you greatly to Gary & Cath for making our stay in difficult weather conditions fantastic.

A great stay, slept well and will return 100% when we do the Harriot Way !

Highly recomend this as a great break from the B&B`s.

Congrats to both of you for providing a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent the most amazing night at Little Birkdale! The hospitality was second to none, our hosts Gary and Cath brilliant! Welcoming, informative but not intrusive.
After an exceptionally difficult day on the track (heavy rain, strong winds, peat bogs - you get the picture) we were soaked through and frozen. Gary and Cath grabbed our soaking clothes/boots and dried it all ready for the morning - nothing was a problem!
Little Birkdale was a complete surprise, a hidden treasure due to the fabulous renovation, scenery and location. We were welcomed by a cosy log fire in our apartment, a home cooked meal ready to be reheated and breakfast provisions for us to cook at our leisure and laze the morning away - no timeframes or rush! Didn't want to get back on the track!
Loved the wine selection & the bed AMAZING! Best sleep on the C2C...
Highly recommend - thanks Cath and Gary!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We did the Herriot Way and stayed at birkdale farm for one nigt. In the middle of nowhere - fantastic views from the windows. Warm welcome, cosy room with our own fireplace. The supper was already prepared, a varity of vine offered.
We enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NORDLICHT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

When I read about this place before booking I thought it looked exceptional and was really pleased that it was available. When we arrived we were not disappointed! The views are amazing and I found myself sitting in the bedroom just admiring the view. Being able to relax in front of the wood burning stove, enjoying the food and wine provided was just what we needed on the last day of our C2C. Hope to return next year for the start of our next section.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews