We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There's nothing closer to the water or nicer”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
View from the balcony Lounge, dining, kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Kitchen
View from the balcony
Lounge, dining, kitchen
View at dusk
On the beach
Front
Details
Lounge
Main bathroom
Walk-in bath / shower
Master bedroom
Master bedroom ensuite and shower
Second bedroom with ensuite toilet
Single bedroom
Sunrise
Morning light in the bay
Sketch of the side view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cave house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Akrotiri, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Freeport IL
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“There's nothing closer to the water or nicer”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We couldn't have been happier with our stay here! Even though the property is located in a relatively remote area, there are many things to keep you entertained. The local bus stop is just a block away.Taxis are also available in the parking/bus stop lot.

If you don't want to cook as we didn't, you are surrounded by 7 restaurants.
The property is just steps to the water taxi for 5 euros roundtrip to Red Beach, White Beach and Black Beach. Sea kayaking is available next door. The Akrotiri ruins are just 2 blocks away. Off The Hook Yachting is located on the pier for full, half day and overnight trips.

The home is appointed with state of the art, modern conveniences and beautifully decorated in Santorini style furnishing as well as local art. The beds could not be more comfortable! It is exactly as depicted as in the photographs and TRULY at the water's edge.

There is no housekeeping service during your stay so you will have complete privacy however, the owners are just a phone call or email away in the event there is a question or problem. There is wifi throughout the house and tv with English stations as well as a sound system with an iPod --though we preferred the sound of the water lapping outside the front door..

Don't forget your watershoes as entry to the water is rocky ---which was no surprise as the owners do not exaggerate or misrepresent their home in any way. There is a full sized fridge and a counter top dishwasher as well as air conditioning, fans. electric towel bars and a washer. The home is adequately supplied with dishes, pots, pans, utensils and towels.

There's plenty of seating in the open plan living room/kitchen/counter bar. We could not find fault with anything at this very unique property. Our only regret is that we didn't book a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the unique opportunity to stay in a beachfront cave in a remote location on the water's edge
Liked least: we could not find fault with anything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks Stephanie for your review - we miss you already!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrilong...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed for 4 nights in the beach cave and absolutely loved it. Its such a gorgeous place and Olaf and his wife have done a fantastic job making it a beautiful home. We loved how close it was to the sea, only a few steps and you were swimming in the sea! It's right next door to some great little restaurants too. You could sit out on the balcony or table outside the front of the house and have a few drinks while watching all the little boats come and go. It was so nice and relaxing - the days just went too fast and I hope that we will return one day to this little bay as it really is a slice of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thanks Terri
It was a pleasure to have you and your friend stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back any time!
Olaf
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry S
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have been to Santorini many times as we just love it. The Beach cave was our first experience of a cave and it was wonderful. You do not get closer to the sea than this cave is, as the sea is right outside past the patio and you are in it!
> The cave was a discovery of every where being uniquely crafted. Everything in the place is different and I kept smiling as it is full of great ideas. The driftwood door handles are so lovely. The curved indoor window for the down stairs bedroom, and rope staircase just like you are on a boat. It is very carefully designed and beautiful in every way.
> We loved relaxing at the huge kitchen bench, just watching the world go by outside yet no one could see us. Everything about The Cave House was just especially different more than any where else we have ever stayed, and we have traveled a lot.
> Easy to locate, which is not always the case on Santorini, there’s a big car park and it was a flat walk to the cave.With so many delicious eateries, you need not cook, or just make breakfasts and then eat out! The location is perfect to stroll to the ancient Minoan archaeological site of Akrotiri, stroll to Red Beach, which is really Red, with dramatic cliffs. The boat trip from outside is well worth doing, as you can visit White beach only accessible from the water. The cave was the perfect Santorinian experience, definitely want to return again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you back here soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wander-a...
various
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cave experience!”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed a few days on the island and had been recommended a villa on the beach to stay at.  It is in the perfect location for complete relaxation and also for exploring the island. Swimming outside is fantastic and do try the kayak trip. The cave has everything you could need and more and the decor is the best I have experienced on the island. I will definitely be back to the Santorini Beach Cave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thanks for your kind words. Looking forward to seeing you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous, swimming in the beach and sleeping in the cave.”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

"Did a bit of a world tour and chose Santorini as a place to do some rest and recovery and a catch up location with three friends.The Beach Cave was perfect, as good as I hoped it would be and some. What an amazing location. We walked outside and in a few paces we were swimming in clean sea water. I swam everyday and then showered outside. It was how a holiday should be. Loved it, the waves gently lapping the shore, I slept so well with the Island fresh air.
Check out the stars at night the sky was laden with them. The host gave helpful suggestions for sightseeing and I also found there were lots of stylish clothes to buy. Really enjoyed Santorini it was everything I had read about."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Many thanks! It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing