We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Mathios Village
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved everything!!!”
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We just returned from a week in Mathios Village. Santorini is a magical Island and Mathios Village is the best place to stay!
We were warmly welcomed by the manager, Mr. Kostas, who was also our contact person when we booked our room and arranged a car for us in a very low price compared to the other rental companies in the island. The location of the hotel helps the access to wonderful beaches and sights as well as a magnificent sunset view from the lighthouse. It is also very close to the island's center (Fira) as well as the port.
Our room was very nice, very CLEAN with A/C and TV and dinner was homemade and absolutely delicious!!!!! We couldn't have asked for more!! The hotel has two beautiful pools and a bar with nice drinks, snacks and music.
We must mention that the entire hotel staff (and this includes the reception, bar etc, as well as the cleaning ladies) and manager were the most friendly, kind and helpful people we have met. Not only did they welcome us in the most friendly way, but also gave us valuable tips and info for our stay.
We plan to visit the island again next year and there is no better place to stay than MATHIOS VILLAGE!
It is like heaven on earth!!!

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xristinaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    163
    43
    42
    48
See reviews for
167
389
28
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I received a wonderful welcome from Irene. The villa is spread out over a number of buildings - you can find a secluded room with your own view - upstairs or on the flat. Lovely pool and very pleasant dining area for dinner - with an excellent view of the moon! 2 min walk to the Caldera cliffs for a superb view of the sunset. The room was excellent. I hope to stay again and would recommend this villa for all travelers.

Helpful?
Thank Richard_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

When I went to check in at this hotel, I was told that the room I had booked, the standard room, was unavailable because the hotel had over booked. Therefore, I was told that we would be put into a "suite" This was fine with me, HOWEVER, instead of charging me the standard rate which I had booked, this scam of a hotel, informed me that I would have to pay the rate for the superior room which was 20 euros more per a night. It is my experience with hotels that when they overbook and put you in a better room, that you are charged the original rate that you requested. I honestly don't even believe the hotel that they were overbooked, I feel it was all a scam for them to get the extra money. Also, if you do chose to stay at this hotel, make sure you do not rent a car, ATV, or scooter from the hotel. Walk a block down the street and you will find the same rentals for way cheaper.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Andey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kostasp, it is real interesting your letter but you don’t explain what really happened at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this review, 28 August 2008
Thank you for the letter , it is real interesting your letter but you don’t explain what really happened l remember you sir and the lady …….yes there is different in price between standard rooms with superiors and suites ….Yes you have booked a standard room (the more economy room in our hotel ) and it happened that day we didn’t have it , ( in the middle of our high season ) we offer you on arrival the opportunity to stay in one of our super suites on the second floor with living room and loft and sea views with the rate of the superior room ! You agreed ………. For the rentals We have our own quality in cars , bikes boats trips ( it is your opinion to choose were you want to rent …. )in difficult moments you will see the difference with our company ! I don’t forget you didn’t have the right license to rent the bike or the quad that’s way you didn’t take it from us .
I work 23years here in santorini and we have experience Thank you for your comments we try hard and most of our guests are happy kostas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Fantastic family friendly hotel in a good location on Santorini. We had a great week here - my seven year old daughter loved the swimming pools, kittens and even the food. The hotel is located on a quiet part of the island, but with plenty of restaurants and beaches on the doorstep. The main town of Fira with shops, restaurants and sunset views is only a 10 min drive away.

The hotel itself serves good food, cheap drinks and has comfortable air conditioned rooms.

The owner, Kostas, also runs a travel agency and was able to sort out ferry from Piraeus, hire car and port transfers for us. This was really useful, especially when the ferry company made a last minute cancellation to its service and Kostas was able to get us a tickets for the return leg despite it being the busiest weekend of the year.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We had the good fortune of staying at the Hotel Mathios for four nights in July. We contacted the hotel directly and Kostas (the manager) gave us a better rate than what I had found on expedia. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The hotel was just as good. You have to be careful! You can end up spending too much time by the pool and restaurant ! Many of our dinners were eaten at Hotel Mathios! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful as well.

In line with many of the other reviews we have read, Kostas was an accommodating and helpful host. He made all travel arrangements for us (car rentals, tickets, ferry connections, daily itineraries) and even arranged for a beautiful birthday cake for our daughter's 8th birthday, complete with music and guests, his daughter and nephew!! By the time we left, we felt as though we had made new friends. I strongly encourage all who come to Santorini to treat themselves to some time at Hotel Mathios.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelingbuddy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
5.8 km away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 39 in Perissa
739 reviews
7.8 km away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
6.7 km away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
787 reviews
7.5 km away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
174 reviews
0.9 km away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mathios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mathios Village

Property: Hotel Mathios Village
Address: Akrotiri | Akrotiriou Road, Akrotiri 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price range (per night): $102 - $436
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mathios Village 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel with a swimming pools in the historical akrotiri near the famous red white and caldera beach with , restaurant , pool bar , travel agency we offer rooms , suites , family rooms special offers and packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mathios Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathios Village Hotel
Mathios Village Akrotiri
Hotel Mathios Village Santorini, Greece - Akrotiri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing