We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
142
39
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
39
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate jacuzzifantastic viewsbreakfast is servedour honeymoonhot tubevery morningred beachfira and oiastayed here for nightsa lovely place to stayrestaurants and shopsincluding breakfastthe cliffthose placesa small boutique hoteldaily breakfastdeluxe suite
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Visited in September 2015. Great resort, with lovely daily breakfast bought to your room. Great pool with a poolside bar and beautiful views. The bar made some quite good strong cocktails (which is unusual for a touristy island, in use to most hotels watering down their drinks). The private jacuzzi on our balcony was a huge plus and a nice way to relax.

The location of this hotel is a little more secluded but was not a problem for us. We rented a quad bike for our stay there and we're still able to go anywhere and explore the island if we wanted. In satin. That there was a small convince store and a couple of lovely tavernas with great food within walking distance.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hotel is just fantastic. If you don't want to stay in the hub of the capital Fira, then the West cost and the Avant Garde is the best. It offers fantastic views of the sunset and of the capital and boats coming in and out.

The standard, cleanliness, rooms, services, staff and all round package were just perfect for our honeymoon.

Negatives are the location can be a challenge to get to and from if you want to venture out every night. It seemed like it was 25 euro's to get anywhere and that was just 1 way. We did hire a car for 24hrs and do the tip of Oia in the evening for the sunset then a drive round the island the following day which was fun. This is not the hotels fault but ours for choosing that location however we are really glad we did as it offered the best experience for us.

Another negative is the pool furniture. It was very uncomfortable and not suitable for the serious sunbather however we did make use of the double bed outside our suite which was adequate for our sunbathing.

I would book this hotel again without any doubt and wish the hotel all the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception as these get more sun i.e. rooms 3 or 4
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

If you enjoy your privacy and don't need hustle and bustle this is the place for you. Only minutes away from anything you want to do on the island this hotel is run perfectly. The service is unbelievable, nothing you want or need is more than a request away. Breakfast is included and is one of the best we've ever had in Europe. You over look the water and views are just great. A sort walk or ride down the dirt road brings you to the beach for diving and exploring. I cannot say enough about how much we have enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: All rooms were equally great with a view of the water and cliffs
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. Was a little worried since most travelers recommended staying in Oia or Fira. Due to the high travel season, we got this place. Oh man what a gift! Yes it is about a 15min motorbike from Fira and 30min from Oia. But after visiting all those places during the daytrips, it was a blessing to leave and come back to our solitude and peacefulness of Avant Garde. Unlike Fira and Oia our rooms are not stacked on top of other hotels/restaurants/and shops. Examples of having lunch and dinner out in Oia and Fira and having full views of people hottubs and pools didn't sound like a thing we were missing. The receptionist Katerina was there onsite like 12hrs a day to cater to us. She was able to provide transfers to ferry, rent motorbikes and have them delivered straight to the hotel ! Advice: get you scooter delivered first thing, that way you can head out to dinner/lunch/locations as soon as you check your bags and start your fun. Breakfast is included. Its a pretty detailed list of things you can simply check-mark and have delivered the next day on your time schedule. :eggs/fruits/yogurt/breads/juices. Pool is awesome. Small mini market with ATM 400 ft down the street.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank calikid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

The view was incredible. The food was delicious, and the staff were helpful and nice. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. And the pool was especially awesome! This was an unforgettable stay. Thanks Avant Garde!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank NatashaT1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews