We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with awesome Jacuzzi”
Review of Avant Garde Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avant Garde Suites
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We planned our Santorini vacation less than a month in advance and could not find anything reasonable in Oia and Fira, which was a blessing in disguise. Totally loved our stay in Avant Garde, Akrotiri.
The place has a beautiful Jacuzzi with mountain and volcano views and we spent many hours chilling in the Jacuzzi, pool and sipping Mojito at the pool bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful and breakfast is served in the room or the pool based on your preference.
The taxi arranged at the reception cost us 20 euros to Fira and a taxi from Oia back to the hotel cost us about 45 euros (just after sunset). There is also option for a bus or ATV/ car if you have your driving licence. Oia and Fira were very crowded and hot so it was great to return back to Akrotiri and hibernate till next evening.
Red beach is about 3 km from the hotel and cost us 3.5 euro for 2 people in the bus (though there is nothing great at the red beach).

Overall we had a great time at Avant Garde and were quite happy with our stay!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Visited in September 2015. Great resort, with lovely daily breakfast bought to your room. Great pool with a poolside bar and beautiful views. The bar made some quite good strong cocktails (which is unusual for a touristy island, in use to most hotels watering down their drinks). The private jacuzzi on our balcony was a huge plus and a nice way to relax.

The location of this hotel is a little more secluded but was not a problem for us. We rented a quad bike for our stay there and we're still able to go anywhere and explore the island if we wanted. In satin. That there was a small convince store and a couple of lovely tavernas with great food within walking distance.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hotel is just fantastic. If you don't want to stay in the hub of the capital Fira, then the West cost and the Avant Garde is the best. It offers fantastic views of the sunset and of the capital and boats coming in and out.

The standard, cleanliness, rooms, services, staff and all round package were just perfect for our honeymoon.

Negatives are the location can be a challenge to get to and from if you want to venture out every night. It seemed like it was 25 euro's to get anywhere and that was just 1 way. We did hire a car for 24hrs and do the tip of Oia in the evening for the sunset then a drive round the island the following day which was fun. This is not the hotels fault but ours for choosing that location however we are really glad we did as it offered the best experience for us.

Another negative is the pool furniture. It was very uncomfortable and not suitable for the serious sunbather however we did make use of the double bed outside our suite which was adequate for our sunbathing.

I would book this hotel again without any doubt and wish the hotel all the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from reception as these get more sun i.e. rooms 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

If you enjoy your privacy and don't need hustle and bustle this is the place for you. Only minutes away from anything you want to do on the island this hotel is run perfectly. The service is unbelievable, nothing you want or need is more than a request away. Breakfast is included and is one of the best we've ever had in Europe. You over look the water and views are just great. A sort walk or ride down the dirt road brings you to the beach for diving and exploring. I cannot say enough about how much we have enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: All rooms were equally great with a view of the water and cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. Was a little worried since most travelers recommended staying in Oia or Fira. Due to the high travel season, we got this place. Oh man what a gift! Yes it is about a 15min motorbike from Fira and 30min from Oia. But after visiting all those places during the daytrips, it was a blessing to leave and come back to our solitude and peacefulness of Avant Garde. Unlike Fira and Oia our rooms are not stacked on top of other hotels/restaurants/and shops. Examples of having lunch and dinner out in Oia and Fira and having full views of people hottubs and pools didn't sound like a thing we were missing. The receptionist Katerina was there onsite like 12hrs a day to cater to us. She was able to provide transfers to ferry, rent motorbikes and have them delivered straight to the hotel ! Advice: get you scooter delivered first thing, that way you can head out to dinner/lunch/locations as soon as you check your bags and start your fun. Breakfast is included. Its a pretty detailed list of things you can simply check-mark and have delivered the next day on your time schedule. :eggs/fruits/yogurt/breads/juices. Pool is awesome. Small mini market with ATM 400 ft down the street.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank calikid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
0.9 km away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
715 reviews
1.5 km away
Astarte Suites
Astarte Suites
#3 of 12 in Akrotiri
382 reviews
7.9 km away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Lilium Villas Santorini
0.6 km away
Ambassador Aegean Luxury Hotel & Suites
4.9 km away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avant Garde Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avant Garde Suites

Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range: $98 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avant Garde Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the area of Akrotiri, Avant Garde Suites give justice to their name. Offering an amazing view of the caldera and a panoramic view of the island, these nine deluxe suites have a color and style of their own. Ultra modern, chic, attention to detail and clever gadgets take you beyond luxury. Fun colors, funky, signature design furniture give out a sleek, chic and exclusive design led hotel. Most of the suites offer private Jacuzzi for moments of sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avant Garde Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avant Garde Hotel Akrotiri
Avant Garde Suites Santorini, Greece - Akrotiri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing