We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inedible food spoils everything”
Review of Peurunka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peurunka
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laukaa
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Peurunka is a spa hotel, with a lot of potential to attract guests even for a longer staying. There are a lot of different kind of rooms, in different buildings. We stayed in the main building, and at least our room was nice, recently furnished and comfortable to stay in. We stayed there for several nights, and were hoping for e.g. a kettle and a possibility to make at least tea or coffee in the room.

There are a lot of options to exercise and entertain yourself at Peurunka. There is an excellent golf course nearby, although you need to take a car or taxi to go there. The hotel is beautifully situated besides a lake, and you can enjoy the nature e.g. having a walk by one of many paths in the surrounding. There is a small bowling hall, a spa, gyms etc. Unfortunately everything is closed at 8 or latest 9 pm. There is absolutely nothing to do after that!

The food is terrible. The breakfast, lunch and dinner - even though you wouldn't expect anything fancy, you still would be disappointed! I do not know what they do to spoil even the best and simplest ingredients. Just a few examples: the eggs were so overcooked, that the yolk had gone almost white with a strange grainy structure. The salmon was also completely overcooked, and they had spoiled it with a repulsive sauce clearly made out of some semi-fabricated product. Everything was like a poor school meal or even worse.

I do not understand how this hotel affords to spoil their reputation with a poor food product. They clearly are in a turning point and try to survive in a changing business environment, but this way they make so much damage that it is almost impossible to fix. There is so much potential in Peurunka, but every day they continue with the poor serving they get so much closer to their final end.

Peurunka could be a nice attractive spa hotel able to survive in the competition and new challenges. But you need to fix these two things asap:
1. Food. It is not a question about the costs, but about the passion. If you appreciate your guests, you want to serve good fresh simple food, and you can do it with same or less costs than the disaster you serve every day now.
2. Entertainment. Your guests want to do something between 8 pm and bedtime, also on weekdays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

There is a big water park with a current around. In the middle there is a child pool with a small slide, a pool with mini waterfalls and a inflated track, a jacuzzi, a freezing pool and a boiling pool. Outside the current circle there is another jacuzzi upstairs, a mini children pool and a big slide which comes outside for a moment. As for food there is a mini cafe in the pool area and outside the pool area. There is also a bowling alley.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

If you like a spa that is dirty and everything broken then this is definitely the place to go. Our room was nice old house separate from the hotel and that smelled like cigarettes with only four familys staying the night.

I promise not to go to this hotel ever again so that others have more room available :)

By the way, view is actually really nice so take a tent with you, avoid the hotel and go hiking.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Akseli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We visited Peurunka for the 3. Time (previously in 2013 and 2014) this year again from 28.4. To 1.5.. There has clearly been renovations in the hotel and the restaurants have been completely reorganised. We stayd in the hotel with our 2 cats. When you have a pet you get a room on the groundfloor and have your own little terrace instead of a balcony. The restaurants have improved 100%! We had one dinner in the a'la carte restaurant and one dinner in the buffet restaurant. Both dinners were delicious. During our previous stays food was OK but nothing special, but now one really got the money's worth. Please do not ever let this cook go away!
We had nice ,warm and sunny weather which is not always the case in Finland during this time of year. Just perfect. I can recommend this place if you want to relax and go for nice walks /run on the ready marked paths in the forest, sit by the lake and go to the gym or enjoy the spa. I love the 100 m long pool which is like an oval shaped river with no beginning and end... You just swim or do water walking and 2000 m (or 20 rounds) is done before you notice.
Last year we chose another spa ...what a mistake ! When we decide to go to a spa in Finland it will again be Peurunka for sure. In my opinion this is THE SPA in Finland.

Room Tip: The hotel is agood choice since you can go to the spa iåwearing just the bathrope and do not have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Outimasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

The resort has everything your hearth desire for any type of activities winter or summer; list of things to do too long. You name it they have it. Including bowling alleys. Very large pool with slides etc. Large buffet. A la carte restaurant and a snack bar with burgers, pizza, etc.

The resort caters as much for children's or handicap. Lots of seniors looks like the have a small hospital. Upon arrival very early, room was not ready, but they offered a handicap room complete with very comfortable hospital type adjustable beds. Bathroom specifically designed for wheelchairs.
Only small drawback no paper tissue, air conditioner or lotion.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Yves P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laukaa
22 km away
Rantasipi Laajavuori
Rantasipi Laajavuori
#5 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
143 reviews
22.3 km away
Scandic Jyvaskyla
Scandic Jyvaskyla
#2 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
457 reviews
22.8 km away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 km away
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
Cumulus Jyvaskyla Hotel
#7 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
114 reviews
22.8 km away
Hotelli Milton
Hotelli Milton
#8 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
51 reviews
22.6 km away
Hotelli Verso
Hotelli Verso
#3 of 8 in Jyvaskyla
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peurunka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peurunka

Address: Peurungantie 85, Laukaa 41340, Finland
Region: Finland > Central Finland > Laukaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laukaa
Price Range: $107 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peurunka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Peurunka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing