We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cats in dining room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Galatas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed in panorama blue part of hotel it was lovely fruit and wine a lovely touch the girl that looked after the private pool was wonderfull breakfast was lovely at pool bar but lunch and evening meal at dining room was a nightmare cats walking about under the tables and jumping on chairs couldn't relax to eat your food as always having to keep your eyes open to see where they are not everyone likes cats and they should not be roaming about where there is food so for that reason would never go back

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Panorama Hotel - Chania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

I was a bit concerned after reading some negative remarks about this hotel..Cracked pool tiles etc... the pool was wonderful, the views from the panorama are just beautiful. The food was great. the rooms are spotless. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. We never waited long to be served drinks etc.. i really just can't fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samantha1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We have just returned after a week in the Panorama Blue wing which is the Executive wing. we had a lovely room with a brilliant view. Everywhere was very clean and our room was serviced well each day. The lady who looked after us in Panorama Blue was delightful, and nothing was too much trouble. The pools were beautiful. The nearby beach was not so good as it was stony, however there was a beautiful beach 15 minutes walk away with beds, umbrellas and lots of sand. Ideal for families.
The food at the hotel was ok, but there was only one restaurant which was buffet style which was a bit boring for dinner. We were on a B&B booking, so we found some excellent eating places nearby and in Chania which had local cuisine at very reasonable prices. There was local beers and wines too. It was good to eat out under a glorious evening sky. I am glad we did not have half board or fully inclusive as we would have not been able to explore these other places.
We noted that the hotel was providing entertainmnet for children and there seemed to be a lot of happy families.
We are looking forward to returning soon as we enjoyed ourselves so much. We enjoyed our breakfast which provided a great variety of food with freshly cooked eggs and omlettes. There was freshly squeezed orange juice, but the coffee was always luke warm.
We will return as we found the staff so helpful, kind and thoughtful. the hotel on the whole was very good.
We noted a comment from"Shirls2" about the cats. We never saw a cat on the tables, and there were far fewer cats here than we saw in Cyprus and Athens, and if you ignored them they did not continue to pester you. We did not find them a problem.

Room Tip: We were in Panorama Blue and the best floor to be on is the third as the views are better
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Just returned from this hotel after having a brilliant holiday.
Crete is lovely and particularly Chania. we stayed in the panorama blue wing and I highly recommend this for not much extra also all inclusive which was also not much extra and well worth it. people we met who were not all inclusive wished they had been. after all it does not take many drinks or even water to soon mount up.
room lovely, maid service excellent, view superb, basket of fruit and bottle of wine in room. our rail on the balcony broke while we were there and we did not even have to tell anyone when we returned after lunch it was mended.
pool rather cold but hey, in afternoons lady came round with Turkish delight or a dessert all free, also free tea coffee and snacks and juice in blue wing.
meals good, okay not a great deal of different foods but what there was was nice.
staff very friendly and helpful.
entertainment definitely rubbish, a woman singer on the Monday nights was really good but after that bingo and karaoke I mean hardly entertainment.
but we made friends and that was nice,
you can get bus tickets in reception for bus to chania which is 50 cents cheaper than on bus itself. reception very helpful but do feel that certain things like this should be explained to guests as we found this out from other guests and them from someone else.
went on bus to Rethymnon that was lovely only cost 6 Euro each from chania bus station and took an hour.
also walked to platanias and to Kalamaki beach which was lovely sea like a bath.
think September was a good time to go as busy but not too hectic and lovely weather, true not too many English a lot of Scandinavians, but a good mix of nationalities which made it nice.
staff work really hard you see them at breakfast then again at lunch or behind the bar.
must just say although breakfast was okay was often not very warm. but ordered some omelettes which were excellent.
just must say, yes road outside hotel is busy and no pavements much, not good for kids.
all in all would definitely recommend this hotel and this area of Crete as it well placed.
not too expensive,
not sure if We would return as we like to go to different countries.. but if you have not been do go. as most people on this site say a great Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentAlmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Having just returned from
Panorama hotel chania crete after a seven day all inclusive holiday with 7 members of my family I feel I must Comment on a couple of issues
Firstly we paid for a executive blue all inclusive room and on arrival with our party of nine my whole family were given rooms on floor 3 all together with wonderful sea view as paid for but myself and my husband were given a floor below room2020 with a view of partial sea and lots of ugly buildings and very close to very busy noisy main road, I complained to management who said every other room was booked which I find very hard to believe because the hotel was half empty",they said maybe tommorow but of course tommorow never came so we had to put up with it,the room itself had a smell like fusty sewerage
But the room was clean at least. The second problem was the food in the dining areas not one night did we get good hotfood,everything was slop, mixed with yoghurt,mayo or oily I have stayed unloads of 4 and 5 star hotels over the years but the food here was not good, in fact most nights I had carrots cold I may add and instant mash potatoes as there was nothing good enough for us too eat the only warming food was if they had a roast meat which was acceptable also the amount of cats roaming around the dining area was appalling
I was in fact bitten on my leg under our table which bled a lot but nobody seemed to bother I did tell the waiter who didn't even report it Cats were actually jumping on tables eating leftover food on plates and nobody removed them. We enjoyed breakfast at a different Resteraunt but that apart from fried eggs was very cold the staff did there best and we had a good time regardless but would never return back there unfortunatley neither would the rest of our party

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galatas
2.1 km away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
859 reviews
0.1 km away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#22 of 111 in Chania Town
392 reviews
1.2 km away
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
536 reviews
4.6 km away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel - Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel - Chania

Address: Kato Galatas, Galatas, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Galatas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Galatas
Price Range: $151 - $1,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Panorama Hotel - Chania 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken from classical Greek, the hotel’s name Panorama indicates exactly its basic characteristic, which is, its magnificent-all round views of the bay of Chania and the historic islet of Thodorou, just opposite. This exclusive and luxurious beach hotel, built in the early 80’s and totally refurbished during year 2000, is situated 5 Km from the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 20 Km from its international Airport. The famous Samaria Gorge is only 30 Km away, while the spectacular White Mountains of Crete overlooking the green valleys surrounding the hotel. The hotel has only recently been tastefully renovated. Greek island themes, Cretan ceramics and beautiful pastel paint-works combined together, reflect the island’s rich history. The layout consists of a 3-floor main building with 138 rooms, a section for families with 26 rooms and the executive wing of 35 rooms located harmoniously within Panorama’s landscaped gardens in a prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Panorama Hotel - Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Crete
Panorama Chania
Panorama Hotel Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing