We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, stunning views, great food, perfect weather - just ideal for a holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panorama Hotel - Chania
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Galatas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have just returned from a week long stay at the hotel. It is exactly as advertised in the brochure so totally lived up to expectations. First impressions were positive and proved to be correct - Georgia on the reception was welcoming and helpful. The views are amazing and I never tired of looking out to sea or watching the sunsets. Our rooms were adjoining as we took two children and they were very comforable. No noise issues and a private good sized balcony. Great to have a fridge in the room too. The pool area is lovely, though the sunbeds of which there were many so now need to do the towel thing, were not the most comfortable and there could be some more sun umbrellas. Meal times were in the open air restaurant and all meal times were a pleasant experience. The food was varied and of good quality. All three daily meals were a pleasure, you did not feel rushed or that there were too many people when you went to get your selections, not so good for the waist line though !! Maria one of the waitresses was smashing. The only downsides of the hotel was the lack of evening entertainment and the steep walk up to the hotel should you venture out. It was pretty much non existent and for us as a family I had hoped and expected there to be some. Having said that we managed to amuse ourselves with our own games. To get out and about, definitely get the bus to Chania and buy your tickets from reception. Do this early on so you can see the lovely beaches and choose which one to visit. We walked one day but it took about 20 minutes, so on other days we took the bus to Iguana beach which is very well managed with toilets, a little cafe and sun beds.
Overall a great holiday and I would definitely recommned it , I would have marked it as excellent if entertainment had been provided.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Panorama Hotel - Chania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 276 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed at Panorama Hotel between 29th May to 5th June 2012. The website pictures are stunning, and I can say what you see is what you get. The staff were really friendly, nice selection of drinks were included on the all inclusive, wine, beer, sprits, soft drinks and quality food! Me and my boyfriend were really impressed. The rooms were always cleaned, fresh towels and toiletries pretty much daily, and the beds were really comfy. They also have a decent gym.

The only negative point was the noise levels at night. We could hear our neighbor snoring and people in the corridor. If your not a light sleeper its not that bad, and to be honest the beds are so comfortable that we easily drifted back to sleep.

Overall, it is one of my top rated holidays. And if you get a chance to go an excursion and you like getting out and about, try one of the Gorge walks. I’d definitely recommend catching a bus into Chania Town too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in the Panorama Hotel for a week from 8th of May this year. Donnmarr gave an extremely detailed and accurate picture of the hotel. I'd like to add that the pool has all it's tiles fixed and is looking lovely. The all-inclusive deal is very good value and I'd recommend it strongly. The local bus costs 2 euros into Hania, (tickets from Reception), every 20 mins from the hotel entrance, and passes some lovely wee beaches on the way. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, the grounds are beautifully kept and the staff are wonderful....go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kaymer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is about 7km from Chania. We paid 40 euros for a taxi from Chania airport to the hotel, but on the return journey the same trip was 35 euros, so do haggle with the taxi drivers;)

I booked an executive room in blue panorama using a groupon voucher. The booking process was very smooth and efficient, no problems at all.

We arrived at about 10:30pm as there is only one flight a week from Gatwick to Chania. We recieved a very warm welcome. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, the lighting at night in the outdoor areas is superb.

The executive rooms are in a separate building from the main hotel, with superb views of the sea and neighbouring harbours. We had a free bottle of wine and a basket of fruit waiting for us in our room. The private pool is stunning. The tv had plenty of channels, 2 of which were english language and a bit boring, but you dont come here to watch tv! The hotel seem to be replacing the old-fashioned sets with new flat-screen tvs. The bed was a queen size, however the bedding was a little dated; not as contemporary as the rest of the room. A quick makeover would give the bedding a fresher more modern look. One quirky little thing; there are a couple of toads by the pool, who every night seemed to call to each other. They were a bit loud, but we loved them! Perhaps they arent an issue at other times of the year, it might be something that they do in May! If youre a light sleeper the noise of the toads might annoy you.

Meals were buffet style. Breakfast was a huge selection to suit every taste including omlettes, bacon, sausage, cereals, charcuteries, breads, pastries, fruit and lots more.

We went for dinner one evening and again the choice was a buffet. Not so great, so we went to local restaurants by the beach or into Chania.

There were only a few people staying in the executive suites, so we went back to the main building to the bar area. Prices were reasonable and the cocktails were to die for!

Two recommendations: Kalamaki is about 500meters to the right on the beach. Their fish derbille was astonishingly good.

In Chania, the Amphora has great quality food. There is a bus every 30 minutes frrom outside the hotel to Chania.Buy your bus ticket at the hotel for 1.50 euros, as it costs 2 euros on the bus A taxi is 8 euros.

Lots of families use the hotel, it seems very child friendly. there were lots of couples too and a mix of nationalities.

We booked excursions using Tellus travel agents in Chania. We visited the Samaria Gorge; however it was a very demanding hike. Dont go unless you are very fit. We also visited Knossos Palace and Heraklion. The rest of the time we soaked up the views and relaxed.

It was such a shame to leave this hotel, it felt like paradise and I will definitely go back

There were only a few people staying in the executive suites, so we went back to the main building to the bar area. Prices were reasonable and the cocktails were to die for!

Room Tip: We were in room 2002 in the Blue Executive suites. You have your own pool and lounge bar.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandra_flitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed there for five nights. The outdoor place was very very good.The indoor place i think needs redecoration. The breakfast was ok but the meal was very tasty. The room was spacious and very very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Catherine-Tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galatas
2.1 km away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
858 reviews
0.1 km away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
391 reviews
1.2 km away
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
536 reviews
4.6 km away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Domes Noruz Chania
Domes Noruz Chania
#1 of 11 in Kato Daratso
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel - Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel - Chania

Address: Kato Galatas, Galatas, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Galatas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Galatas
Price Range: $135 - $1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Panorama Hotel - Chania 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taken from classical Greek, the hotel’s name Panorama indicates exactly its basic characteristic, which is, its magnificent-all round views of the bay of Chania and the historic islet of Thodorou, just opposite. This exclusive and luxurious beach hotel, built in the early 80’s and totally refurbished during year 2000, is situated 5 Km from the most picturesque town of Crete, Chania and about 20 Km from its international Airport. The famous Samaria Gorge is only 30 Km away, while the spectacular White Mountains of Crete overlooking the green valleys surrounding the hotel. The hotel has only recently been tastefully renovated. Greek island themes, Cretan ceramics and beautiful pastel paint-works combined together, reflect the island’s rich history. The layout consists of a 3-floor main building with 138 rooms, a section for families with 26 rooms and the executive wing of 35 rooms located harmoniously within Panorama’s landscaped gardens in a prime location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Panorama Hotel - Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Crete
Panorama Chania
Panorama Hotel Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing