We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Balito(Galatas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dafni(Galatas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
299
264
105
34
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
264
105
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barthe busprivate poolthe main hotelbbq nightsea viewfish restaurantmain poolthe hotel receptionblue wingbuffet styleall inclusive packagebuy ticketsmy wife and i have justanimation teamfree massagedifferent theme
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed in the Panorama Hotel for a week from 8th of May this year. Donnmarr gave an extremely detailed and accurate picture of the hotel. I'd like to add that the pool has all it's tiles fixed and is looking lovely. The all-inclusive deal is very good value and I'd recommend it strongly. The local bus costs 2 euros into Hania, (tickets from Reception), every 20 mins from the hotel entrance, and passes some lovely wee beaches on the way. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, the grounds are beautifully kept and the staff are wonderful....go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kaymer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is about 7km from Chania. We paid 40 euros for a taxi from Chania airport to the hotel, but on the return journey the same trip was 35 euros, so do haggle with the taxi drivers;)

I booked an executive room in blue panorama using a groupon voucher. The booking process was very smooth and efficient, no problems at all.

We arrived at about 10:30pm as there is only one flight a week from Gatwick to Chania. We recieved a very warm welcome. The grounds of the hotel are stunning, the lighting at night in the outdoor areas is superb.

The executive rooms are in a separate building from the main hotel, with superb views of the sea and neighbouring harbours. We had a free bottle of wine and a basket of fruit waiting for us in our room. The private pool is stunning. The tv had plenty of channels, 2 of which were english language and a bit boring, but you dont come here to watch tv! The hotel seem to be replacing the old-fashioned sets with new flat-screen tvs. The bed was a queen size, however the bedding was a little dated; not as contemporary as the rest of the room. A quick makeover would give the bedding a fresher more modern look. One quirky little thing; there are a couple of toads by the pool, who every night seemed to call to each other. They were a bit loud, but we loved them! Perhaps they arent an issue at other times of the year, it might be something that they do in May! If youre a light sleeper the noise of the toads might annoy you.

Meals were buffet style. Breakfast was a huge selection to suit every taste including omlettes, bacon, sausage, cereals, charcuteries, breads, pastries, fruit and lots more.

We went for dinner one evening and again the choice was a buffet. Not so great, so we went to local restaurants by the beach or into Chania.

There were only a few people staying in the executive suites, so we went back to the main building to the bar area. Prices were reasonable and the cocktails were to die for!

Two recommendations: Kalamaki is about 500meters to the right on the beach. Their fish derbille was astonishingly good.

In Chania, the Amphora has great quality food. There is a bus every 30 minutes frrom outside the hotel to Chania.Buy your bus ticket at the hotel for 1.50 euros, as it costs 2 euros on the bus A taxi is 8 euros.

Lots of families use the hotel, it seems very child friendly. there were lots of couples too and a mix of nationalities.

We booked excursions using Tellus travel agents in Chania. We visited the Samaria Gorge; however it was a very demanding hike. Dont go unless you are very fit. We also visited Knossos Palace and Heraklion. The rest of the time we soaked up the views and relaxed.

It was such a shame to leave this hotel, it felt like paradise and I will definitely go back

There were only a few people staying in the executive suites, so we went back to the main building to the bar area. Prices were reasonable and the cocktails were to die for!

Room Tip: We were in room 2002 in the Blue Executive suites. You have your own pool and lounge bar.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandra_flitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed there for five nights. The outdoor place was very very good.The indoor place i think needs redecoration. The breakfast was ok but the meal was very tasty. The room was spacious and very very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Catherine-Tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

amazing location, I Just loved this city, all in walking distance from hotel, clean rooms & friendly staff are both there

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DeniseBradleyThes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here first week of October and would definitely recommend. Our room had an amazing view of the coastline (especially at sunset). Had no complaints with the hotel, only minor thing was the pool was freezing (much colder than the sea). Honestly don't understand the people who have complained about all the small things including the missing tiles on the pool etc, really are not an issue overall. Some of the staff are moody, but it was end of season, and if anything it was quite funny, but generally most staff were friendly and helpful.

Read a lot of the reviews before we visited, and many suggested turning left out of the hotel to find nice beaches. THIS IS WRONG!!!. We explored this direction on our first day and were very disappointed; a long stretch of sandy (but stony) beach, with a very uninviting sea. Plus rubbish, empty bottles etc lying on the beach. We decided to walk back to the hotel along the road that run parallel to the coast line, and saw nothing that we would have returned for.

The next day we got the bus into Chania town, and half way through our journey came to a cluster of great beaches/coves, one especially we visited several times IGUANA BEACH, was set in a small bay with a nice sandy beach and clear blue sea. There were many facilities available including snorkelling equipment, books, games, magazines and a beach taverna. The whole beach had a very nice atmosphere. I don't know why anyone would rather go to the beaches to the left of the hotel over this beach, its in a whole different class. It's about a 10/15 minute walk from the Panarama, turn right from the hotel and walk along the road until you get to the playboy café, walk down the road opposite (across the road) and you will get to iguana beach. Or just get the bus, as there is a bus stop right next to the beach.

We visited Elafonssi beach and Balos Lagoon, both were amazing, however word of warning, the Olympic Reps we encountered fed us poor information. We booked an excursion to Elafonssi beach on the understanding that we would spend the day there, however, on the coach we realised very quickly that we would be visiting several other places on the way there and on the way back and would only get just over 2 hours in elafonssi. Bearing in mind we already paid for the excursion, everything was extra, so much so that we complained on our return as we wondered if the tour guide was profiting from the excursion getting us to stop and spend more money on very poor attractions. First stop was at a road side café, where you got a free cheese pie but drinks cost (pointless), then to holy cave in the mountains that you could climb to (ok, but would rather have spent more time at the beautiful elafonnsi beach), and then on to a monastery that you were charged to enter and was terrible. After the beach we had a choice, 1.5 hours in the coach, or pay more money 12 euro each to get a boat up the coast to a small town, the boat trip was better than sitting in the coach however nothing special, we then had an hour in a small town with very little to do, except for eat and drink. Very disappointed with the whole trip except for the beach which was beautiful. If we knew about the other stop offs, we would have hired a car and drove to elafonnsi ourselves, would have had longer there and it would have been much cheaper.

Olympic reps were pretty bad giving any sort of advice, they also recommended the beaches left of the hotel, and knew nothing of iguana beach and the other nearby coves.

Chania harbour is nice, and its well worth walking through the narrow streets behind both day and night to get a feel for the area, the waterfront is very touristy but the lanes behind have many nice restaurants etc. we also found a great bar called El Mondo, Theo the manager made us very welcome.

RECOMMEND: Turning right out of hotel and visiting iguana beach and chania town

DO NOT RECOMMEND: turning left out of the hotel at all. Taking any advice from the Olympic Holiday reps.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank TonyBonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews