We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,893)
Filter reviews
1,893 results
Traveller rating
1,067
503
182
82
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
503
182
82
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temptations restaurant sri lanka paradise room pool bar chameleon cafe the penthouse garden boys special thanks beach boys our honeymoon tuk tuk room boy superior room the ground floor every evening day tour five star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,893 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is a lovely hotel. The bedrooms are very big and the bed is so comfy, we both slept well and was so relaxed. The food is also very good with plenty of selection, and if you're a lover of curries there are so many to choose from at breakfast, lunch and your evening meal. On Sundays they do the giant prawns and they are super. The staff are so friendly and will help you with anything , so don't be afraid to ask. Will certainly be visiting again.

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

"Ayubowan"

Dear Valued Guest

Thank your for your extensive review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us at The Eden Resort & Spa.Happy to see that the hotel has exceeded your expectations. I will share your comments with the kitchen brigade.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to EDEN RESORT & SPA next year.

Warm regards,
Prasanna De Alwis,
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Came back from a lovely relaxing 2 weeks.
The hotel is lovely. Most of the staff are extremely friendly and always ensuring that you are happy with everything and if you ask anything they are more than happy to help.
Only thing I will say is some staff do not understand some English so communication was limited with a handful of staff.
We had a couple of things that went not quite to plan but were sorted with a smile.
We asked Shamiela to book us in for a treehouse dinner with our day we preferred. At the same time we also booked a table for the herbs and spices restaurant. She said that she would book these and also confirm with us the following day. That didn’t happen so we had to find out if this had been booked. The treehouse was booked but the herbs and spices table was not. It was soon sorted though and managed to get our desired day and time by reception staff.
We also had a phone call to our room the day before a day trip to say that it had been cancelled. But we still had a wake up call for the day trip. Lucky for us we felt something was not quite right so we got ready and went to reception to find that the day trip was still on and the call the night before was to actually confirm that the trip was still on and NOT cancelled. So we would just say to any English speaking guests to make sure that you’re clear and understood after speaking with the staff.

The hotel is very well kept and rooms are cleaned twice a day with tea/coffee and toilet roll topped up. We did catch the cleaner watching TV in our room one evening and he had a shock when we returned to find him there haha.

We got on really well with a couple of the Hotel staff who couldn’t do enough for us and it was wonderful.
Hashan was a waiter at the splash bar and also served us for our evening treehouse dinner and he was brilliant. He was the most polite, loveliest guy. He is a credit to the hotel. His English is perfect too.

We also got on really well with Tilak who made our sun beds up every day and would make sure we had a table to put our belongings on and we had a good spot every day. Also I burnt on the first day and he gave us some Aloe Vera plant to ease the pain. He would come and make us laugh each day and ask us about England and tell us different things. We will miss him dearly and hope we meet again.

The food was good everyday. There was always something you could find to eat. There is a grill where they do fresh meats in front of you. Eggs cooked for breakfast anyway you want them and things like stir fry and fish cooked fresh. The puddings.... well they were totally amazing and presented wonderfully.

Some of the waiters in the main restaurant are not great at taking drink orders Sometimes you finished a course before getting a drink order.
There was one waiter called Sampath who is not that pleasant and looks like he just does not want to be there, he is so miserable. He never smiled once in two weeks.

The entertainment was good in the day and also at night.

Overall apart from a couple of hiccups we had a lovely holiday and hope to return again someday. Hashan and Talak are both wonderful people who made things extra special for us.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

"Ayubowan"

Dear Valued Guest

Thank your for your extensive review on TripAdvisor of your excellent stay with us at The Eden Resort & Spa. The team and I are very happy to see that the hotel has exceeded your expectations.

We are ever so grateful to hear you had a great time with us though there were couple of hiccups! . We are at Eden very concern about customer service, by reading your comment I can see that we have to improve certain areas especially in service concerned.I will definitely attend the communication issues, thanks for bring it up to our notice.

Hope to see you once again at Eden .

Warm Regards
Prasanna De Alwis
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Nice big room with a balcony . The staff cannot be more friendly and helpful. Great choice of food on the main restaurant , the Herbs’s Spices restaurant a la carte deliver a sensational food great selection of wine .The 24 hours restaurant have a nice selection of European food and a very good standard . The entertainment it’s great live music or show plenty room inside or outside , the bar at the swimming pool is superb
Well done to the chefs to make it so good .
Thank you to all of you to make it enjoyable.
Thierry

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thierry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

"Ayubowan"
Dear Valued Guest

We are so delighted you took the time to try us.We are even more delighted that we were able to provide all that you expected. You selected us based on online comments given by other customers and we are glad that once again we were able to deliver great experiences to you as well.Online feedback is precious to us and we are thankful you took the time to let us know about your experience with us.

Happy to read you had a great holiday full filling all your needs.

Please don't make it a once in a lifetime!We really look forward to serving you for many years to come.

With appreciation,

Warm Regards
Prasanna De Alwis.
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Writing this review watching the cold English rain falling outside the window,
remembering the great holiday that has been and gone, looking forward to the next
trip!
From start to finish, staff at the Eden resort went out of their way to make sure we had
a wonderful holiday experience,Many many thanks! We loved our room, and the high standards of housekeeping. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. All the restaurant food was a high standard, especially the bakery . Some of the meat products
were not of the best quality, but seafood was brilliant.and it would be difficult for the
most particular person not to find something to suit! Pool and surroundings were meticulously maintained by attentive staff. Many thanks!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrewfarrrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

"Ayubowan"

Dear Valued guest

We are so glad to hear you had a superior experience during your stay with us. Our common goal is to constantly strive to deliver the very best by matching people that love their work with products and services that rock!

Your review is valuable to us as we shape our customer strategy and useful to do it differently to decide if we are a good fit for their needs.

We recognize our customers are busy and are beyond thankful for their willingness to spend time giving us feedback.We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Rest assured we will do whatever it takes to deliver on our promise. Know that we are hard at work finding ways to do things better every single time.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Warm Regards
Prasanna De Alwis
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Traveled in a group of 6 friends last weekend. The first thing that strikes you is that a good property has been run down, looks dated and needs a complete overhaul.

The Airconditioning in the rooms hardly worked, WiFi was atrociously bad, something simply not acceptable in these times. There were no toiletries in the room when we checked in. Had to remind them to place them. Had to remind them to replace towels the next day.

There was a dress code in the diner for dinner nights, but looked like it applied to only Indians. Very unfortunate and sorry to say so, these rules didn’t apply to the white skinned. The staff simply didn’t have the guts to question them. What should this be called?
RACIST??? or simply a lack of pride in themselves or a total lack of professionalism. Will leave it to all of you to decide.

The food in the buffet was a decent spread, but the quality was very ordinary. Most of the chicken and fish was over cooked and dry and hard. Desserts were average.

There are a few good things as well. The location and the beach attached are spot on. The pool is large. The spa facilities are decent.

But in the end, the memory that lingers is the unpleasant experience in the diner.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Madhusudana1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden R, Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

"Ayubowan"
Dear Valued guest

I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with us. Clearly we did not deliver as promised. We are very sorry to have failed you.

I went through our records and unfortunately couldn't find any feed back from you during your stay. If you have informed ,we should have attended and sorted while you were here . We have a culture of constant improvement and feedback like yours helps us shape the way we do things. I would like to see you soon at Eden and please contact me bellow mail address if you wanted me to make any special arrangements prior to your arrival.
rm_theeden@brownshotels.com

Until then, please receive my most sincere apologies on behalf of everyone in the team.

Warm Regards
Prasanna De Alwis
Resident manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews