We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
73
179
105
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
179
105
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giritale tank sri lanka swimming pool hotel is located comfortable stay lovely hotel excellent view buffet dinner room was clean and comfortable one night stay two nights wild elephants a la carte short stay national park rice lake
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018

I was there a couple of weeks ago with a group. The lunch arrangement and the trekking was amazing. The guide was very attentive and supportive. Such a beautiful surrounding the hotel is located in. I must say the safari they arranged was really fun. My entire team had fun and the hotel staff was very friendly. Thanks Thilna for organizing everything within a short notice. We will definitely be back. Good luck!

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Sachini U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments.

Best Regards & Have a Nice Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

One of the best place to relaxation by looking at the view of giritale tank. Staff members are friendly and their service was excellent. If we request extra activities like a safari they arrange a Safari to Minneriya or Kaudulla National Park. We got a free safari due to a promotion. That experience was awesome.Room's facilities are good but need to be upgrade. But there should be minimum 30 people to open the buffet.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Shashi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments.We are refurbishing our hotel on these days.

Best Regards & Have a Nice Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

The service at Giritale was good. I was greeted with a welcome drink. The pool and hotel views are fabulous. The WiFi was poor and the mini fridge and tv in my room were plugged into a non-working outlet. I rewired my room to make it work for me. The food was pretty good and they put a cute little Canada flag on my table for me.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank BGarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your feedback on your stay. We are refurbishing our hotel and the wi-fi fibre line were damage due to this.We have now rectified this error. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. We will give you fullest Service and corporation in your next visit. you will also see New Giritale Hotel after the completion of the refurbishment.

Thanking You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We were staying next door at The Deer Park Hotel but were recommended to eat here one evening. We turned up and the hotel was in darkness. I asked if they were opened and although clearly they were not (we were later informed there was no guest as it’s off season and the hotel was being renovated) they opened up just for us. Nothing was too much of a bother for them. My partner asked for curried prawns which we were initially informed there were none so he couldn’t get this another staff member went back to the kitchen and said yes. Being our first few nights in Sri Lanka we still were novices to the “curry and rice” option we ordered vegetable pakora and another meal (thinking these were appetisers) along with 2 curries and rice. The waiter informed us that this was a very large amount of food and gave us some tips. Even with just the pakora and curry and rice it was loads and we couldn’t finish. The staff allowed us to finish our drinks outside on the terrace and were not desperate for us to leave at all. Very accommodating and hospitable. A night I won’t forget.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alcofrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good Positive comments.

Best Regards & Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

The hotel is situated at a elevated level in Giritale, which gives the best view of Giritale Tank! The view is so amazing at anytime of the day, If you're lucky you can spot Elephant gathering at the tank from the distance. The lobby area is ideal for relaxing, reading.

The hotel is the best base if you're planning to go on safari at Minneriya National Park or Kaudulla National park.

About the hotel, if you're looking for a luxury accommodation, well, this isn't one for you. But, if you're looking for a budget friendly, homely place, yes this place would do. The hotel is in desperate need of a renovation, which they're planning to do in the end of this month. So that's a plus point. For the time being, The walls & the ceiling in the hotel rooms are decaying and the furniture seems to be bit old. But the washrooms are modern and must say, very clean. Even the view from the room (308) is spectacular, if they go for a much larger window, would do a lot to the overall experience.

The pool seems to be bit small comparing to other places. But given the view, you get from the pool area, you wouldn't complain. The little statues which is there everywhere in the hotel, adds more mysterious look.

The buffet is okay with the tank fish option. The pork curry is a die for. and their Sri Lankan Variety for the breakfast is awesome. The manager is a friendly guy, and he would visit each table and have a chit chat with guests, making sure they get the best service. Must appreciate his humbleness. The front office staff and the rest of the staff is very friendly and trying to give the best they can.

With a properly planned renovation, this hotel got the potential to gain a lot. I would recommend the place for a low key, calm and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room with the view of Giritale Tank
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank piyumi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganeshan T, General Manager at Giritale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your special comments. As you mentioned we have started to refurbish our rooms and on your next visit you will feel the difference.!!!!

Have a nice day..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews