We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
10
27
46
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
27
46
24
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2015

The real highlight of the Royal Lotus was the pool and the wonderful view.

The rooms were very basic, nothing special - definitely need an upgrade.

Wifi was available, but too slow to really use. Restaurant was quite good, they had a buffet for dinner with good quality local dishes.

We stayed as part of an Exodus tour, but I might not choose it if I came to Sri Lanka again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aus_christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

worse. The staff are sooo concerned about forigners but not locals like us... Their attention on local visitors lack in big time... :)
Overoll its a good hotel... hope to come again if the administration upgrade the standards of the rooms....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Surein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent one night here as a part of an organised tour. As mentioned in many other reviews the rooms require updating. Lots of wear and tear - furnishings stained, dirty, bed uncomfortable, noisy a/c which also leaked water, lamps not working. They need to invest money in an upgrade for the rooms. The views from our 3rd floor room were amazing, across the lake, especially at sunset. The pool area, reception and dining room are nice. The food was reasonable. The best part of this hotel was sitting in the reception lounge chairs overlooking the amazing sunset view. Wifi in reception area. Did not appear to be close to other restaurants or shops.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WJT78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was absolutely a great hotel. Especially the staff was amazing! We (two young women)were there when it was off season, so the hotel was fairly empty. There are mainly men working there but not once did we feel un safe.

This hotel has the most amazing view over the lake. Watching the sunset there is AMAZING.

The rooms are nice, a little out dated, but good nonetheless.

The food was good, lots of choice, so never a boring meal.

And last but not least; very warm, friendly, service oriented and fun staff. I would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is situated in a great location overlooking lake, reception areas and pool were good, restaurant was also very good. However, the room was not very well maintained, stained blinds and lampshades, and the standard of decoration was awful - looked like the monkeys had been employed to do it, The concrete table and shoddy wooden cupboards completed the picture!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews