We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise 'found'”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight
Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Sunset over pool
Lounge
Pool & sun terrace
Master bedroom
Reflections on the lake
Master bedroom dressing table
Honeymoon greeting
Balcony view
View across balcony
View from master bedroom ensuite
Master bedroom shower
Pool shower
Sunrise- its worth getting up!
Sunterrace plants
Front of villa
Monkeys by the pool
Bedroom two ensuite
Lower garden and jetty
Master bedroom
TV/games room
Lower garden
Kitchen
Veranda seating
Local transport
Dining area
Front steps
Hammock by the pool
Garden swings
Balcony side view
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Right hand side of garden
Sunterrace greenery
Sunset from balcony
Letting off steam!
Front of house
Lower garden in front of the pool
Garden room ensuite
The garden room
Peacock on the gate post
Antique chest
Kingfisher in action
Rear of villa
Side of house viewed from garden
Garden
Koggala beach
Villa from the lake
Bed 2
Bed 3
Bed 3 mirror
Wall Lizard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Koggala, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
516hilary...
Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise 'found'”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, lake view villa, the infinity pool, grounds and hospitality certainly exceeded our expectations in everyway!
From the moment we arrived we were absolutely enchanted by this amazing place! The views from each of the four bedrooms over the lake were stunning, the sounds of the birds and monkeys thrilling..... After a week of touring, Lakeview villa was the perfect hideaway for a week of relaxation with friends.
A very big thank you to the wonderful chef Sonali and her husband Lasthanta for providing such beautiful food.... Curry to die for!
We really didn't wish to leave and look forward to returning with our children and grandchildren.
Thank you Ken and Lesley.... Superb! xx

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa was amazing, so comfortable and spacious.... Fab pool and views
Liked least: I loved everything.... Superb!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility, friendliness and food
Liked least: Wifi and quality of film reproduction.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the villa so much and know that Sonali & Lasantha enjoyed hosting you as well. With regard to the sound & vision in the media room, we know that it's not great. We wanted somewhere that the whole group could get together to watch a movie, but the range of options was limited at the time. The current soundbar is an upgrade from our previous surround system, but we are now considering getting a big screen TV (which wasn't an affordable option until recently).
The wifi is 4G and the best available in Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, there are times when the signal is disrupted by atmospheric conditions, especially late afternoon/ early evening and I am afraid there is little we can do about that.
We hope that these issues did not spoil your enjoyment of the villa and we hope to see you again another time.
All the best
Lesley & Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and view
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
james p
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a memorable stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in August 2014

Firstly I need to apologise to Ken as this review should have been done months ago.... I lost my trip advisor log in details.

We stayed for our Honeymoon back in August.... it seems like yesterday that we arrived at Lakeview and we really do miss it. Everything was a surprise to my new wife (she did not know what country we were going to let alone where we were staying)

I had short listed a number of properties throughout southern Sri Lanka however LakeView won very quickly...... my impressively Ken was quick to reply to my emails and was keen to make sure he answered my questions. I had never been to Sri Lanka before and Ken reassured me with a couple of concerns (the weather forecast always seemed to show the same thing..... Ken was great and said it was best to ignore the bbc website for the weather forecast... he confirmed August is a great time to visit

On arrival we were so impressed.... we were collected from Columbo airport by the recomended Taxi / tour guide (Prageet).... The Journey takes between 2 to 3 hours to reach Lakeview so it was an opportunity to catch up on some sleep from the flight.

On arrival we were not disappointed. The welcome was so friendly and the property is exceptional..... the view from the front door over looking the lake is fantastic. Ken and his wife took time to show us around.... and answered any questions.

Sonali looked after us during the stay...... we cannot thank her, and her husband enough for making our honeymoon so memorable. The food that Sonali prepared was excellent....... the spicey local fish curry is still stuck in my memory as it was truelly wonderful (Sonali... please write a book for your Sri Lankan dishes ! )

During our stay we visited a number of different places (Galle, wildlife parks, beaches) - my suggestion is..... go and explore....... but also take time to enjoy relaxing mornings by the infinity pool

The biggest compliment I can give is to return in the future and we will certainly return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Sri Lanca Curry which Sonali cooked
Liked least: Having to Leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip C
uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Paradise by the Lakeview Lights”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

From booking this villa , we were both aware it was not going to be our most active and adventurous holiday.
We usually are out and about people in the countries we visit and mainly spend sleeping time at our usual accommodation.

Each morning however, it became more and more of a struggle to venture out, possibly the humidity with lightning most nights,
or possibly the tranquil isolation you can feel here.

The Fruit bat flypast each night similar to the "Red Arrows at Home", the fireflys who venture into your bedroom at night to lullaby you to sleep with
their pulsating glows.
To the amorous monkey whoops at dusk or dawn, to the Huge or not so huge Iguanas and Monitor Lizards that
make fleeting visits to the garden.
To the pesky mosquitos that make it past your defences and spend the night feeding on you and the Monkeys who make it soooo
difficult to get good video or photo shots.
The morning ritual almost of the Kingfisher using the pool as his own spa, to the millipedes, whom i constantly returned from the villa to the
grassy area outside and snake eating Peacocks romancing by the palms

Numerous strange bugs , chit chats and occasional small bats who pay you a visit whilst hunting their supper.

The knocking of the boats on the lake in their torch lit crafts, as they hunt down the prawns.

The strange bread van tune, that always got me thinking of an ice cream man coming.

Ayurvedic massages that had their ability to detox and de-stress you at the same time, although opting for a firm massage, can be pretty tough as the masseur strums your rib cage like a guitar.

Places we went,

Galle, with it's Portuguese come Dutch come English heritage was worth a look.
Hikkaduwa for it's laid back surfing dude ( every thing they do is "amazing" to them )
Although the lack of seating and beach facilities was limited.
The actual beach was okay, but the not so "secret" beach" in Unawatuna was better.
White tea plantation was an experience, especially selling tea at £35 a box, because they use gloves, is a bit much.
Mirissa for whale watching and several boats all trying to guess the next rise of the Blue whale and then
engines full power to get best vantage positions was fun.
The local turtle hatchery was both sweet and sour, with the large entombed ones that are kept there for
their own safety ? to the egg hatchery and the release of them.
Go out fishing if brave, with local fishermen, they hunt lobsters whilst you fish with plastic bottles entwined
with catgut and tackle.
Try running your hand through the sea at night to watch the amazing bio-luminescence of the small creatures,
which can ease the pain of catching Nemos mostly.

Finally our hosts, Sonali and Lasantha enough has been said how fantastic They are, so we will concentrate on how
happy these two are as a married couple.
We gained as much fun from this exquisite villa as we did from hearing their laughs and conversations.
One Being a Buddhist and the other Christian, they are the perfect fit, Sonali's planning and knowledge of guests
needs, combined with Lasantha's laid back approach and only pupose in life to make his wife happy, makes the
ultimate team " Sonantha".

Raja, the Gardener, always looking to spot wildlife and fauna for you, is that extra cog the villa needs to make
it run smoothly. Somar the night watchman, can seem strange at times, but it must be hard listening to fast talking
English people and have that ability to just look back with no coherence and smile :)

We have chilled at Lakeview and as a guest wrote before,
Lakeview Villa is an amalgamation of the owners ( Ken and Lesley ) their thought and planning skills of the villa,
The staff who are at the heart of the villa and keep the wheels turning in the style of a private 5* hotel.

We would love to return and share this experience with our children and partners.
Work commitments kept them away this time.

Phil and Jo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Isolation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing