We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The real pearl”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight
Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Sunset over pool
Lounge
Pool & sun terrace
Master bedroom
Reflections on the lake
Master bedroom dressing table
Honeymoon greeting
Balcony view
View across balcony
View from master bedroom ensuite
Master bedroom shower
Pool shower
Sunrise- its worth getting up!
Sunterrace plants
Front of villa
Monkeys by the pool
Bedroom two ensuite
Lower garden and jetty
Master bedroom
TV/games room
Lower garden
Kitchen
Veranda seating
Local transport
Dining area
Front steps
Hammock by the pool
Garden swings
Balcony side view
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Right hand side of garden
Sunterrace greenery
Sunset from balcony
Letting off steam!
Front of house
Lower garden in front of the pool
Garden room ensuite
The garden room
Peacock on the gate post
Antique chest
Kingfisher in action
Rear of villa
Side of house viewed from garden
Garden
Koggala beach
Villa from the lake
Bed 2
Bed 3
Bed 3 mirror
Wall Lizard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Koggala, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Olga_Tue
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The real pearl”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling as a small family (me, my friend and my mom), we have spent last part of our Srilankan winter holidays at the “Lakeview Villa” – and these 6 days were just awesome.

First of all, the owners of the “Lakeview Villa”, Lesley and Ken, are very nice people. They have come to greet us personally on arrival, have shown us a house, told a bit of its history and made sure, that we have everything we might want or need.

The location of the villa is very good – away from roads and houses and still very close as to beautiful Galle and hippie Unawatuna, as to charming Thalpe beaches and hot touristic spots - Weligama and Mirissa; the house overlooks the most beautiful Koggala Lake with its numerous birds and small islands and sits in the middle of big green garden, just a few meters away from the lake.

The villa itself is lovely – simple, spacious, full of light, filled with antique, but still very modern, with lots of useful things and pretty small details. The rooms are clean and airy, the beds are comfortable, the kitchen is very well-equipped, the infinity pool is a real pearl, and overall condition of the house is very good. All the facilities are working properly; the grounds are well maintained and, seems, everything in this place pleases all of one’s six senses.

There are lots of things you can do at the villa – it has its own movie theater with big collection of movies, many good books in the library, board games, outdoor games, swings, fantastic pool and a number of charming corners here and there so that you could whether have fun with your gang – or just relax alone in peace and quiet with a good book and a cup of famous Ceylon tea.

And, of course, the staff of the villa has made our stay most pleasant and relaxing. The manager of the house – a tiny bright lady Sonali – speaks fluent English and she is also an exceptionally good cook! All of her meals were very tasty, and some of them we have never tried before. Her husband Lasantha was very nice too – and quite helpful with any issues we’ve got. Raja is obviously a great gardener, ‘cause the place is buried in verdure and all kinds of exotic flowers. The night watchman Saman is doing his job well too.

The only problem we had at the villa was mosquitos (there are lots of them in Sri Lanka in general – and, of course, you can’t avoid them living in the garden by the lake), but if you have a good repellent on you, you’ll be alright.

All of us are very thankful to the hosts and the staff of the “Lakeview Villa” and, of course, we look forward to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the view from my Master Bedroom in the mornings...
Liked least: Mosquitos (take a good repellent!).
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevstrav...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was by far the best week of our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. The recently-built villa has been beautifully situated overlooking the lovely Koggala Lake. The Owners have cut no corners in the build, indeed Grand Designs missed a good one here.
The large infinity pool is finished in stylish light green natural slate, and is the centrepiece of this stunning property.
The grounds are well looked after by Raja, a proud and knowledgeable gardener, who took me on a fascinating lake tour on his outrigger canoe.
Sonali, and her husband Lasantha treated us like royalty, all the meals she prepared were superb, eastern and western, even a luscious salad containing banana flowers!
Thanks to owners Ken & Lesley, for excellent communication, and help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarmieB
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty close to perfection”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have visited Sri Lanka on several occasions staying in six different villas with family members, this was our largest group of six adults & four children and Lakeview is by far the best, what a fantastic time we had. Lakeview villa is a stunning property in a stunning location the owners have thought about every little detail and each bedroom opens up to a perfect view of the lake. The ensuite bathrooms have been well thought out and great showers. The pool area is the best I've come across with all non slip areas and with 4/5/6 & 8 year olds dashing about made life less stressful. We did manage to tear ourselves away for a few trips to the beach but it was a difficult decision as Lakeview is so relaxing. Sonali's cooking is amazing she presented a new dish at each meal we were blown away, her & Lasantha made us feel so at home and nothing was too much effort, they shopped, cooked, cleared table and were so discreet, the owners have done well in finding these treasures.
If there was a six star rating for the villa I would give it and a seven star rating for Sonali the housekeeper.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieForb...
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Lakeview Villa is a fantastic place to stay with breathtaking views over the lake and lovely gardens tendered with great care by Raja. Whilst the pictures provide a good representation of the villa it will take your breath away on arrival!
Sonali and Lasantha are superb hosts. Sonali's Sri Lankan cooking is exceptional; she is already a legend in our family.
Thoroughly recommend a trip around the lake with Raja. Also, the day excursion to Udalawe National Park and Buddhist temple with Prageed; a long day but great fun.
Looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lakeview Villa is a paradise we were not prepared for! As soon as we entered the property we were blown away by the villa and it's breathtaking views over the lake. The open plan design of the villa reveals a stunning infinity pool surrounded by a beautifully tended tropical garden which both relax and excite you in an instant. The property has a large outdoor seating area with daybeds and dining table which all offer splendid views over the lake and garden. The master bedroom is fabulous and has double folding doors opening up onto a huge balcony overlooking the pool and lake, a perfect place to wake up!

Aside from the beautiful design and location of the Lakeview Villa, what really blew us away was the staff - the wonderful Sonali and her husband Lasantha who made our stay truly unforgettable. Sonali's cooking is to die for and she offers a stunning selection of traditional Sri Lankan dishes with her own blend of western influence. She prepared everything to our taste and even catered excellently for our 3 year old son. The groundskeeper, Raja, is marvellous and will collect and prepare fresh coconuts for you and show you everything the garden has to offer. All together we were very well taken care of and nothing was too much to ask of the staff.

The surrounding area has some great beaches, our favourite of which was Mirissa (25 mins away by tuk tuk which can be arranged by the staff), or if you want more dining/nightlife options, Unawatuna is also great. One of the highlights of our stay was a trip to see the Elephants at Udawalawe National Park, which although 2.5 hours drive away, was well worth it!!

We recommend Lakeview Villa very highly and hope to be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the food
Liked least: The mosquitos (take good repellant)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 263
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing