We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SueandNei...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How to get there:- Off the A171 to Whitby turn right at the roundabout for Sleights. Drive down to the bottom of the bank, turn right (opposite is a turn off left to Ruswarp). Drive down the lane to the bend in the road and Groves Hall (black door) is on the left.

I booked one night as part of my partner’s birthday present (and the ulterior motive of family history interest). When we arrived we were greeted by daughter Aphra and after dropping off our bags drove the short distance to Whitby for the day. When we got back we met Numi and Charles, who made us very welcome.

This is a B&B with a difference. You come away feeling as if you’ve been staying with old friends.

The room where we stayed was comfy, with a stunning view over the Esk Valley, and an en-suite with good facilities.

Their personal touch for my partner’s birthday made him feel special, and the full English breakfast - well we couldn’t eat for the rest of the day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
We love having birthday people stay with us!Celebrations are such fun.
Spring is well and truly here now, and the garden is starting to wake up from its' Winter sleep.
How about a return visit for this birthday/ You are V.I.P guests now and will get the Royal treatment :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
future480...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PICTURE POSTCARD HOLIDAY GREAT!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The owners Numi and Charles go out of there way to see you have a great time.Lovley and warm flat,everthing you need.
Very quiet and peaceful,place great views over the river and countryside.
The breakfasts were perfect!!
I highly recommend the Manor House as a great place to stay!!!!!
Hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very Friendly Hosts
Liked least: Going Home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Lovely to meet you both, and think that it is about time that you came back for a second visit!
Garden is looking good, birds and singing, and the deer are nibbling the tender new rose shoots..how can you resist?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loafershe...
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at groves hall and our stay was faultless, we really felt like we were looked after the room was lovely and the breakfast even better ( the weather was good to us so we were able to have breakfast in the lovely garden ) we would definatley stay here again and have already told all our friends that they should visit too

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Breakfast
Liked least: tea making facilities in the room would have been nice, but i didnt mind that much
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Sorry for the delay in replying to your lovely comments..life got in the way!
The garden looks lush at the moment and the river is glistening in the sunshine.
Perfect time for a return visit, and as V.I.P guests, we will treat you like Royalty :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a fabulous time at this truly special home. This b &b is straight out of a fairytale french style elegant interiors, rambling garden down to the river complete with steam train running past! Charming hosts delicious breakfasts they even gave our car a jump start how's that for service! We could have stayed for a week a beautiful oasis and peaceful retreat in the heart of the North Yorkshire moors we'll be back soon !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thanks Jon,
Lovely to have you stay with us. We have been doing lots of refurbishing since we saw you last, and the kitchen now looks like something out of Gosford Park!
Lots going on in Whitby, and we think that a return trip should be on the cards :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertyNott...
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“amazing place amazing hosts”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

this apartment in groves hall is perfect unless you stay here I cannot describe how this place makes you feel ,congratulations to numi solomans and her partner for a lovely stay in their beautiful home , in fact I cannot wait to get back so booked while there to return in 3 days time!!!!!!!!!!!!!. immaculate bedroom , beautiful bathroom , lovely little sitting area , views so peacefull, only 2 miles out of Whitby so easy to drive into town, we saw the steam train pass by the bottom of their garden which also has a 300 metre stretch of the river esk at the bottom of the garden to this hall is set in over 15 acres of stunning countryside, nothing to much trouble for the hosts, thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and feel of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Great to meet you both, sorry for the delay in replying to your comments.
We have worked on the gardens and the house since we last saw you, and in about ten years time, we may have put all our dreams into practice!
Would love to have you stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing