We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea and Mountain view apartment with Private Pool for your use only
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea and Mountain view apartment with Private Pool for your use only
Spacious bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Sea and Mountain view apartment with Private Pool for your use only
Spacious bedroom
Spacious apartment with Free aircon & WiFi
Alfresco poolside BBQ dining at its best
Stargazing from your balcony
You have full use of the BBQ and gardens
You very own private & Spacious Sun terrace
Showeroom with WC and Hand Basin
Fancy some Fishing? I have rods & I'll take you to some great spots for a few hours of fishing fun
Within easy reach of these beaches
You'll be surrounded by beautiful gardens
Enjoy a Romantic sunset every night from the balcony with a glass of wine and a kiss
Take an evening stroll around the gardens and pick yourself a lemon or orange off the tree !
Enjoy a meal at one of the many restaurants nearby
Gavalochori village
Enjoy some shopping or browsing in Chania - Just 20 mins drive away
Beautiful Chania at night
Kalives harbour just 15 mins away
Beaches just 10 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gavalochori, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bekkah H
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This villa is in an absolutely beautiful setting: the sun terrace overlooks Gavalochori, with the sea in the distance. Inside, the villa is immaculate and comfortable.

Outside, the pool is well-maintained, private and very peaceful. Not only that, but there's a fantastic barbecue for you to use as well close by.

The villa is within driving distance to Almyrida and Kalyves, which is handy for beach visits and a trip to the supermarket.

Carl is a wonderful host, who couldn't have been more helpful if he tried. He was around for a chat/helping hand if necessary, but other than that, we barely noticed the fact that the apartment is on top of his.

When we go back, I will certainly be booking the villa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, You were great guests and I'm so pleased you both enjoyed your stay on Crete and I look forward to welcoming you back as valued guests again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatDean20...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glamping in style”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Location was really nice with a lovely terrace to enjoy a glass of wine. Do rent a small four wheel drive hire car as the unmade road leading to apartment is very rough. You will need to be extremely agile to get down to the pool as the 'rustic steps' leading to it are rather treacherous. Be aware that there is no sink, so any washing up must be done in the shower room basin and unfortunately the utility room down by the barbecue, which contains a sink unit was not in a condition for washing up anything and again you will need to get down the steps. Having said that, after the initial shock, it was a very peaceful holiday. The restaurants in the village are all very good.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I'm delighted to say that the steps have now been made good with a cement surface and look great. A new kitchen sink has also been installed in the utility room for all guests to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLC1984
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a peaceful getaway ”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We loved our time at the Studio and Carl was a great Host. Carl was helpful and informative before our arrival and ensured we had detailed durations to find the villa when we arrived in Crete. To get to the villa from the village, is a narrow road, the final bit is off road but we did not have any problems. On arrival, Carl gave us a warm welcome and we were blown away by the views. The studio was great for what we needed and the terrace was very private with the most beautiful views of the mountains and sea. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed being able to use the BBQ area. Carl gave us lots of welcomed advice and tips for the local area and was kind and generous to us throughout our stay. We highly recommend booking the studio if you are looking for a relaxing and beautiful place to stay in a rural location with easy access to the beaches by car. We hope to be able to return and big thank you Carl.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Hi Claire and Nick, thank you so very much for your kind comments and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It really was an absolute delight to have you both as guests and i look forward to having you return as valued guests again in the future as The door will always be open for you both with a warm welcome in the sunshine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here and i'm so pleased you enjoyed it, I look forward to having you return as valued guests again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fearless6...
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The apartment at a Villa Sonia is self contained and has its own access. It was completely perfect for our holiday. A small sitting room, with TV/DVD and stereo system (if you needed them), and a good sized bedroom with plenty of storage/wardrobe space. Nice bathroom with shower, and solar heated water. The outside boasts a large terrace/balcony to the rear with stunning views west to the White Mountains, and east to Souda Bay. There is a small terrace at the front as well, where we regularly had breakfast and coffee as it is more sheltered. The small village is directly below the villa, a few hundred yards down the hill. Gavalochori is a delightful little village with a surprising number of very friendly tavernas. We were made welcome everywhere we went, and even joined the locals when they met up for their mid-morning coffee break. Our host, Carl could not do enough for us. He sent us very comprehensive directions from the airport, with photos of landmarks, which can be printed off, and which were invaluable to us to find the villa on the day of arrival. Not a problem though, with the excellent directions provided. Carl also made himself available to point us in the direction of local sights worth visiting, and we would never have found them without his help. As a base the apartment could not be better placed. Although a GPS/Sat Nav is essential, in my view, getting about the Island on the narrow country roads is quite straightforward, and generally traffic is very light everywhere. We were able to visit many of the tourist attractions across the whole of the north of the island without any trouble at all, including the ancient Palace remains at Knossos, the Venetian Harbours at both Chania and Rethymno, and the lovely inland villages, like Georgiopolou, which are so beautiful. If/when we return to Crete we will have no hesitation in looking to return to this apartment. We loved it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Wonderful pleasant guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Crete, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back as valued guests again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing