We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully designed, rebuilt castle in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Full of privacy heated swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full of privacy heated swimming pool
House build in 1426, classified by the archeological greek authorities Sea View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Full of privacy heated swimming pool
House build in 1426, classified by the archeological greek authorities
Sea View
Patio in front of the en suite bedroom 1/5
An open space of 110m2 (1184 sqft), ceiling heigh 3,60m (142 inches) Marble floor
Pc Windows 7, projector, Printer, 200 DVD English and Many in French
Big Living Area, Giant screen (3m x 3m) and projector and Fire place,
Big Living Area and Fire place
Dining room
Luminous corridor with amazing windows
Bedroom 16m2 (172sqft), ceiling heigh 3.20m (125 inches), very luminous
Bedroom 16m2 (172sqft), ceiling heigh 3.20m (125 inches), very luminous
Master bedroom 30m2 (323 sqft), ceiling height 4.30m (169 inches) + bathroom
Bedroom with Private entrance en suite Badrooms and private patio
Family bedrooms 4 adjustable !
Children adjustable Bedroom
Children adjustable Bedroom
Roof terrasse with sea view 140m2 (1506 sqft)
Wine cellar available and selected local product
computer windows 7 printer
Full of privacy heated pool
entrance Parking in Front
3km (1.8 miles) away from beaches
Classified village of Maroulas
Village of Maroulas
village tavern 1 mylopetra
Katerina village tavern 2
Party at Villa Maroulas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Maroulas, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DrakeBaer
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed, rebuilt castle in a stunning, not-too-touristy ancient town with Minoan traces”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Do not rent this place if you're an exhausted corporate drone with no romantic imagination or interest in Cretan history, seeking a generic faux "luxury" seaside experience with fellow dullards in Greece.
If, however, you'd enjoy waking up as a character in a surreal romantic novel, in an actual 15th century Venetian castle, in a town inflected by millennia of Hellenistic, Roman, Byzantine, Ottoman and Venetian influences, I expect you will find no better place in Crete. Unlike most restored castles, which are dark and boring inside, this one is well-designed, imaginative and full of light, which, as you might imagine, is incredible on Crete. Much of the surrounding structure was left original, and, as you can see here, is as dramatic as the villa itself.
Your first day he draws you a map for an itinerary of the most interesting towns, vistas and relatively unknown beaches accessible in day trips from the villa, which is to say, everywhere on the island. You tell him what drew you to Crete, and he unobtrusively guides you to the best experience of whatever that is -- even when that includes the best restaurants and music venues off the beaten path.
This is a typical day out with Yourghy (who gets extra points for using a Belgian mid-life crisis to move to Crete and restore a castle): He guides you through winding Maroulas walkways that look private to protect from Turks and tourists the town's ancient church, which is built into a cave. He unlocks it, shows you inside and then points out the 12th century BC burial chamber recently discovered on site, explaining that archeologists now think a settlement here may date back 9,000 years. On another evening, he takes you down into Rethymno to the club and music venue just opened by a leading local underworld figure, to whom he introduces you, because Yourghy knows just about everyone who matters in Rhythmno prefecture.
Between the spread he prepares for you upon arrival and your emotional farewell over too much Raki lay weeks of pleasure, inspiration and serotonin-rebalancing Cretan light in an astonishing environment. You should stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The drama, beauty, warmth and ease of the experience.
Liked least: I had to leave eventually.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, great host-a perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the villa (Villa Fokas) for 2 weeks in July 2015. From the initial point of contact Yorghy (the villa owner) was so helpful. From recommending car rentals to preparing a beautiful greek Mezze upon arrival and pancakes for breakfast the next morning. Yorghy met us on the highway so we would not struggle to find the villa and left very concise directions to that point.
The next morning Yorghy came to the villa and spent a good deal of time helping us to plan our holiday-letting us in on the beaches away from the main tourist drag in the town and recommending restaurants/tavernas. We then went on a drive around the area where he pointed out the best places to shop/eat and introduced us to some of the taverna owners.
Yorghy also helped us to organise a day out on a yacht which was thoroughly enjoyable.

The villa was superb. It was simply beautiful. The pool was great for a dip. A little small for teenagers/adults to swim far but ideal for the children. The roof terrace is a suntrap, though not the safest for young children-our children were forbidden.

The projector screen was a hit-great for evenings in with a takeaway. There were a huge selection of movies to choose from. The wifi was consistent and we had use of a windows pc during our stay. We could also plug our phones in (the sound system is rather good) to listen to some music whilst sunbathing.

I really cannot fault the villa. Every need is catered for. It is situated in a lovely little village (car hire is a must) but close enough to amenities and the tourist town that you could dip in and out. What made the holiday that little bit more special was the input from Yorghy. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be returning soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner's input
Liked least: Nothing, really!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Seba...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a great service in a beautiful historic villa”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our stay in Maroulas was such a great experience ! The villa is very beautiful, fully convenient. Everything was there (large spaces, terrace with a great view over the hill, ustensils for the chef, a cellar with great wines, short car distance to the beaches and stores,...) and it is very clean.

You can even make you own lemonade with lemons freshly picked from the tree by the pool.

Maroulas is an old historic town, so you will feel being in another time period. Everyone there is friendly. You can also visit the local well-known herborist. Her products are really awesome.

But the greatest thing is the owner's service. He have offered such a great hospitality. To be honest, it is certainly one the best experience I ever had for that type of villa. Thanks Yorghy !

So basically, I would recommend this place to anyone.

Ps. If you go to taverna Katrina in Maroulas, you will experience a really great moment with the owners, but be careful of the raki, the local booze. It can be tricky ! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself and the owner hospitality
Liked least: wifi is not optimal, but this is the case for all Greek islands
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan B
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic, Could Not Have Been Better”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family of 11 (3 small kids, 8 mixed age adults) had an absolutely wonderful time at Villa Fokas. Yorghi, the owner, went out of his way to ensure we felt totally welcomed and comfortable with not only the villa but also the village. We stayed for one week, although we wish we could have stayed longer. Ten days is about what you need to experience everything around you while attaining a nice balance of relaxation. The villa had everything we needed and more. The views from the surrounding restaurants; the nightcaps on the roof; the local beaches, monasteries, and day trips to Chania and the southern coast made for a great vacation. All in all, everything hit the mark......except for that 6am rooster..... Yorghi, please do buy that fowl and cook it up for your guests! :--)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roeshan
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great villa with extremely attentive host”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is very nice. Well furnished, clean, well maintained and overall comfortable. We sadly visited Crete during what was probably the worst weather possible. So much rain and wind. It was disappointing, and I'd say despite that we had a very pleasant stay in the villa here. The owner was very responsive via email during booking and that only continued in spades on arrival and throughout our stay. There were a couple of issues with the villa but the owner was quick to deal with it and discounted the price when the hot tub was not working as promised. Other more minor issues were dealt with quickly and he made our stay a true priority. Upon arrival we were greeted with a lovely spread of snacks and drinks. He also stocked the fridge with breakfast supplies. This was all so very appreciated as we arrived very late. Very thoughtful and very helpful. We were there over New Years and he even brought us a nice New Years cake from a local bakery to wish us a happy new year. The villa is beautiful. A lovely combination of old charm and modern living. The layout is very unique. Four bedrooms all within the main living space (three upstairs and one downstairs), with the fifth bedroom using a separate outside door in the courtyard. This layout would be no issue in good warm weather. Two of the rooms are en suite (including the room with the separate outside door) and there are two other secondary bathrooms (one up and one down). The living space is ample and inviting. The main living room is equipped with a state of the art cinema. This was really fabulous! We enjoyed many movies on the large screen on all those rainy nights. WiFi is decent, but not the fastest. It dropped many times, but it was good enough that even our internet needy group managed fine. Kitchen is completely adequate for your stay. Dining area inside and out are lovely. Daily maid service is a real plus as they took care of the rubbish, linens and general cleanup. The pool/patio area is lovely. Had we had better weather we would have enjoyed this very much. Same with the rooftop patio. Great seating area up there with great views (slightly obstructed) to the water. The town the villa is located is small and a bit run down, perfectly safe and enjoyable but not a postcard. Easy short drive to nearby grocery stores etc. A car is a must for this villa. Parking in front of the villa is a bit snug and up a hilly turn. But it works fine. Location midway between Iraklion and Chania were ideal for exploring. Also very handy to Rethmyno which is a lovely harbour town not 15 minutes from the villa. If your travels take you to northern Crete, I'd recommend this villa. Lovely property with the best host you could ask for.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review. It's important for us to get the feedback of our guests, especially when, like you, they have a big travel experience. We were very happy to welcome your family at Villa Maroulas. It was a great pleasure for us to see that even your 7 children enjoyed the heated swimming pool, despite the very bad weather that you had ( the worth week since a very long time.), and the giant cinema screen. We hope to see you again in Crete in sunny weather conditions this time !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing