We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewed 31 October 2008

I keep meaning to write this. We stayed at the Sand Sea in 2006, and my fiance and I still rave on about how much of a good time we had on our 10 day stay there
The Royal Suite bungalow is a great treat, and literally the shore at your doorstep.Halfway through we got upgraded to a new junior suite with ocean views. Which was excellent! we had two bathrooms and was always immaculately cleaned!
The staff were ever so friendly with us-service was very friendly, the food was great-thai or american, room service was great-never had a complaint there,the breakfast was excellent-my fiance who eats for two-was always full to the brim..EXCELLENT PRICING..The pool always cleaned, security at night. And not to mention the location of the resort was great.
Across the road you could hire bikes for next to nothing.And the bar on the resort was great!
We thoroughly enjoyed oursleves!

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Sand Sea Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2008

I stayed at this hotel after a few days in bangkok and a week in Phuket. It is a different class to the other places i stayed in Thailand and i would go back again now if i could.

I had a beach bungalow which is literally on the beach, you wake up every morning looking at the sea which is about 10 steps away from the porch area. The beach was clean and quiet and the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

The food at the restaurant is great, as is the view - i spent many hours sat there reading and relaxing.

It is only a short walk down the beach to the main Lamai streets which have lots of bars and live music places. Nothing quite prepares you for the shouts of 'massage, massage, you want massage!' as you walk down the street but hey - this is Thailand and you get used to it. There is a small pub on the corner in the middle of the main road where they'll rent you a motorbike for 100baht a day - or about £1.80 - this is the best way to get around and the madness of Chaweng beach is only 20 minutes away.

There are restaurants along the beach that serve fresh sea food and have live music acts that are actually really good - they're not the cheapest but something a bit special and a great way to end the day before going out.

All in all i loved this hotel - great for a quiet holiday, exploring or to get away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng the morning after.

If you want to find somewhere you'll remember for a long time, at a low price (compared to UK) then this is the place for you. They don't have many sea view villas but if you can get one you won't regret it.

i'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Holmesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We found the Sand Sea Resort on Lamai beach by wandering down the beach. It has a bar right on the beach along with beach chairs and a beautiful pool. Two of us splurged on the really nice pool-side room - complete with jacuzzi tub, huge shower, and the first soft bed I've found in SE Asia. The room was immaculatly clean. Another of our friends slept in one of the bungalows, which are much less expensive but no less comfortable (okay no jacuzzi tub but his room was nice and clean). The staff are very friendly and helpful in booking tours. The hotel also has internet service available (for a fee). Highly recommended for a nice stay on Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marvin_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

This place was great,
Right on the beachfront, quiet but convenient to the main shopping strip of Lamai, fantastic and very helpful staff.
Great buffet breakfasts, Gorgeous clean swimming pool with spa.
Perfect for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MelbourneMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We booked this hotel while we were in Bangkok because the pamplet that we saw for it made the hotel look spectacular. It was abotu 40 USD per night for their cheapest bungalow.
My husband and I just got that one because their cheapest ones are the closet to the beach and the more expensive ones are closer to the pool and the restaurant. We got to the hotel at night and we were immediately disappointed because the hotel did not look as nice as it did in the pictures, but it wasn't all that terrible either. The room was clean but shabby and the hotel grounds were somewhat overgrown and not kept up very well. The bathroom was set up very strange. It was all one level with no divide between the shower and the rest of the bathroom. The toilet was right in front of the shower too so it was a bit awkward. The soaps smelled really nice though. One thing I didn't like about this room was that the mini-fridge was right next to the bed so you could hear it humming the whole night through.
My husband and I were unhappy with the room after one night so we asked to upgrade to the better room that was 10 USD more per night. Boy, let me tell you that was $10 well spent because for that much more you get a big lovely bungalow that has much newer features and a pretty bathroom that has an outdoor feel. The bathtub reminded me of a spring because it is set into the ground and made of stone. It was really very pretty. The bed was also bigger and the wardrobe had much more space. It really is worth paying the little extra money.
They also have an even nicer room that our three travelling companions chose to bunk in. It is very beautiful with a glass wall that overlooks the pool, a seperate bathroom for the shower and tub (the tub has jets) and the toilet and sink, a dvd player and a king size 4 poster bed.

The internet they provide is good and nicely priced. It is about 3 USD (100 Baht) per hour. You can purchase an internet card at the front desk.

Make sure you book a tour to Koh Tao with the hotel. The tour company they use is wonderful and the trip is something that is not to be missed.

We enjoyed our stay there very much once we switched rooms. It's a great location and the pool and restaurant are very good.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank baileyroxallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
1.0 km away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
561 reviews
1.2 km away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#37 of 51 in Lamai Beach
228 reviews
0.7 km away
Weekender Resort
Weekender Resort
#34 of 51 in Lamai Beach
354 reviews
2.1 km away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#41 of 51 in Lamai Beach
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lamai Beach

Been to Sand Sea Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort & Spa

Address: 155 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $31 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Sea Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Sea Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Koh Samui
Sand Sea Resort And Spa
Sand Sea Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing