We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
5
5
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
5
4
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2009

The studios are small but ok for a single traveler like me. Furnishings, cleanliness perfect! For food - there are a number of restaurants and breakfast places at a short bus ride. Access to rest of the island... bus stop at walking distance. I also got assistance from their customer service dept to book a couple of excursions.

Night life is great in grand baie on weekends.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank payalchoksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Cape Garden was like a home away from home for our Christmas 2008 vacation. I am glad we opted for a self catering place. We booked a penthouse at Cape Garden and it was nice and luxurious but then we realized that we could have more space with a duplex. The complex seemed almost fully booked for the festive season, I guess we were just lucky to get upgraded to a Duplex at a nominal charge.

The kids had fun setting up their own Christmas tree in the garden and the staff there was kind enough to help us set up a barbeque as well.

The beach was not great near Cape Garden but we found some beautiful beaches along the coast at a short distance, Grand Bay and Pereybere were the closest and the most lively with a number of restaurants as well. Mont Choisy beach was around a 25 mins drive away.

For the New Year’s eve we were told by some regular tourists that Grand Bay is a happening place and of course it was… we booked a table at Cafe De La Plage which is right on the beach, an expensive place but it all seemed worth it after we saw the spectacular fireworks to welcome the new year.

In short it is a great place to be if you are looking out for a lot of flexibility and that home away from home feel that you normally crave for after a few days of your holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine_sa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

We are just back from our family vacation in Mauritius.. and we realize that the best part of our trip was the decision to be on our own. Staying at Cape Garden was the next best decision.

The duplex villa we stayed in was truly value for money… the spacious rooms with elegant furnishings made us feel so much at home. I am sure any other hotel with similar villas would have been a lot more expensive. The service was great, the staff very friendly. The complex does not have a reception but we checked in straight to our villa and we were given a mobile phone on arrival to be able to contact the staff 24 hours.

They do not have a restaurant and their breakfast & dinner rates seem a bit expensive… but when they serve a great breakfast in the villa.. it makes it worth it. There is a small grocery store nearby from where we stocked up some groceries especially for the kids. For dinner we did get a lot of choices as there are a number of restaurants in Pereybere and Grand Baie. We also liked the dinner prepared by their chef Charlot on one of the evenings when my son was a little unwell; a good menu and a good portion too.

What was also quite impressive was the security. We were able to leave the kids back at the villa to watch a movie, while we spent some time pub hopping in Grand Baie & Pereybere.

The beach is just fine with a beautiful view of some islets, but the pereybere beach is also not too far and trust me, it is one natural swimming pool.

Overall it was a great holiday… we hope we find something similar wherever we travel…

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gl0betr0tter00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews