We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to celebrate a special family...”
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Front aspect
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Lounge
Master bathroom
Family bathroom
Garden
Double bedroom
Utility room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fulbourn, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Steve F
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect place to celebrate a special family Christmas”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We selected this house to celebrate my wife's significant birthday and have a special Christmas with our oldest son and his family living in England and our youngest son and family visiting from New Zealand. Beechwood House provided the perfect place. Our grandchildren had great fun in the swimming pool and there was plenty of space in the house for family games. The bedrooms were very comfortable and in spite of the size of the house it always felt warm and cosy. Cooking Christmas dinner was a committee affair but the end result was awesome.

The house was decorated for Christmas with a great Christmas tree which we all sat round opening presents.

Our thanks to James who was a great help with both the booking arrangements and the stay at the house. Nothing was too much trouble and he was always available if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
It was an absolute pleasure to see you all enjoying the house so much for your large family get together over the Christmas week, and I’m delighted it was such a success for you. It reminded me of some of our own Christmases in years gone by!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbird858
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great celebration weekend”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I cannot recommend Beechwood House enough.

From start to finish everything was perfect .

The owner James fully meet our expectations and couldn't have been more helpful.

We stayed as a party of 16 (age group 5 -70) celebrating my husbands 50th birthday and stayed in both the house and the accompanying "Stables" not only was the house perfect and fully equipped but the location meet everyone's needs and the pool was used each day of our stay.

Locally we visited "The White Hart" for a birthday meal , which was a great night out.

We left today with sad faces , I would throughly recommend "Beechwood House" we had a great family weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
I'm so pleased you all had such a good weekend and are taking nothing but happy memories away with you. It was an absolute pleasure having you all as guests at beechwood House for a long weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaconda...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brliant long weekend with family In a great family house with pool was spoilt on our return home ...”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We hired the house and the two stables We hired the house and the two stables / annexe for a long weekend away with family. We had a lovely weekend, house was a good size, practical & location was great for our needs that weekend - family wedding etc.

After what felt like a small battle to get my deposit back after being accused of breaking things that we had not broken I thought it only right to add an honest review on here after spending a lot of money on a house that to be fair was not quite up to standard. The price didn't reflect the cleanliness & housekeeping where quick to accuse us of things that they had clearly missed previous to our stay.

We where accused of breaking a clock. The clock had a screw missing, obviously we haven't set to the clock with a screwdriver and done this. The clock was like this and moved out of the way as where all of the ornaments/breakables because we had toddlers with us.
Apparently we broke an old foot stool. The stool was left as we found it and we apparently broke the freezer handle!!! The freezer handle was broken on our arrival. We even tried to fix it after finding the broken part in with the ice!!!

The clock, freezer handle and stool issues had obviously been over seen by housekeeping along with a whole list of things we where not going to mention but after being upset by and accused here is my list ...

Broken kettle - that we fixed.
Broken iron cable - that we taped after having a shock from.
Dead flies in several rooms upstairs.
Filthy shower room and stained Ceiling.
Cobwebs in ensuite.
Damp wall behind wardrobe in master bedroom.
Rubbish in wardrobe in master bedroom.
Mold In toothbrush holder in studio.
Fish fingers in studio fridge.
Ants in studio 2.
Ants around swimming pool.
Plastic shot glasses, feathers and cocktail umbrellas around pool, Mainly under the pool side furniture.
Confetti saying hen do found in baby's mouth and on kitchen floor.
Damp wall and peeling paint behind radiator in downstairs shower.
Leggings and chemise found in studio Wardrobe.
Feather boa found in twin room wardrobe.
Freezer drawer broken.
Stains on the sheet under pillow in front small double bedroom.
Window in the bedroom at top of stairs doesn't shut making the room cold & traffic from the road very noisy when sleeping.
Bbq was dirty & we had to clean it before use.
Pool was too cold for the toddlers and we had to give up using it in the end - pointless staying there as we only booked the house for the pool!

Owners where intrusive and popped around too often. They need to give guests more privacy.

Some of the things I've listed above are Petty but being accused of breaking the clock that had a missing screw was also Petty!/ annexe for a long weekend away with family. We had a lovely weekend, house was a good size, practical & location was great for our needs that weekend - family wedding etc.

After what felt like a small battle to get my deposit back after being accused of breaking things that we had not broken I thought it only right to add an honest review on here after spending a lot of money on a house that to be fair was not quite up to standard. The price didn't reflect the cleanliness & housekeeping where quick to accuse us of things that they had clearly missed previous to our stay.

We where accused of breaking a clock. The clock had a screw missing, obviously we haven't set to the clock with a screwdriver and done this. The clock was like this and moved out of the way as where all of the ornaments/breakables because we had toddlers with us.
Apparently we broke an old foot stool. The stool was left as we found it and we apparently broke the freezer handle!!! The freezer handle was broken on our arrival. We even tried to fix it after finding the broken part in with the ice!!!

The clock, freezer handle and stool issues had obviously been over seen by housekeeping along with a whole list of things we where not going to mention but after being upset by and accused here is my list ...

Broken kettle - that we fixed.
Broken iron cable - that we taped after having a shock from.
Dead flies in several rooms upstairs.
Filthy shower room and stained Ceiling.
Cobwebs in ensuite.
Damp wall behind wardrobe in master bedroom.
Rubbish in wardrobe in master bedroom.
Mold In toothbrush holder in studio.
Fish fingers in studio fridge.
Ants in studio 2.
Ants around swimming pool.
Plastic shot glasses, feathers and cocktail umbrellas around pool, Mainly under the pool side furniture.
Confetti saying hen do found in baby's mouth and on kitchen floor.
Damp wall and peeling paint behind radiator in downstairs shower.
Leggings and chemise found in studio Wardrobe.
Feather boa found in twin room wardrobe.
Freezer drawer broken.
Stains on the sheet under pillow in front small double bedroom.
Window in the bedroom at top of stairs doesn't shut making the room cold & traffic from the road very noisy when sleeping.
Bbq was dirty & we had to clean it before use.
Pool was too cold for the toddlers and we had to give up using it in the end - pointless staying there as we only booked the house for the pool!

Owners where intrusive and popped around too often. They need to give guests more privacy.

Some of the things I've listed above are Petty but being accused of breaking the clock that had a missing screw was also Petty!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
We are of course extremely sorry that you found numerous shortcomings during your stay at Beechwood House, particularly because it?s the first negative review we have ever received since starting over three years ago. That being said we attach considerable importance to both the quality and preparation for guests and I can only reiterate our apologies if standards for any reason slipped on this occasion.
Accidents happen to the most careful of us and our security deposit is not intended to penalise miner or accidental breakages, but more to help prevent the possibility of issues resulting from ?carelessness?. I think it was because the broken items found had been moved ?out of sight? that we took the view it was not accidental and decided to bring them to your attention, which you took extreme umbrage to. It is not our intention to argue or in any way fallout with any of our guests which is why we quickly confirmed that a full refund of your deposit would be made, as indeed it was.
I?m pleased that despite the above you all had an enjoyable stay with us and am only sorry that it was marred in any way by the points of cleanliness you advised us of when you got back home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia174
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swanning around Beechwood House”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at Beechwood House for a long weekend for my daughters 'Swan' Party. This is a perfect location for a day at the races at Newmarket and punting on the River Cam, but I would recommend this accommodation for any family celebration. We loved the pool, played rounders in the garden, had a BBQ and had lots of good times around the huge table in the kitchen diner. We took all of our own food and drink and the fridge freezer and wine cooler was able to accommodate all of it. James greeted us on arrival and ensured we knew all of the workings of the house, in a relaxed and friendly way.....we instantly felt at home. Brilliant weekend and everyone reluctant to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
it was nice to see you all enjoying the house and grounds so much during the course of your stay with us and I'm please everything was as you hoped it would be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor E
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal property for a family or friends get together”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

WOW!!! Is my families reaction (10 adults, 5 children) of our weekend stay at Beechwood House to celebrate a birthday. We were welcomed by James and Erica, the friendly owners, who showed us all the facilities. The bedrooms were airy, as one would expect in a period property. The big lounge is well appointed with large screen TV. The extensive kitchen opens out to the dining area, with table accommodating 10, it also as a separate table which the children claimed as theirs. The two self-contained separate studios have everything one could ask for. The separate indoor heated swimming pool was well used, as we're the extensive grounds, great for hide and seek, plus a chocolate egg hunt.

The girls were relieved of preparing meals with the men cooking on the BBQ, breakfast was DIY. Saturday was Curry Night, provided by a Personal Chef, Frank Boddy of Wild in the Pantry. Frank cooked, served an excellent meal, then washed up, letting the girls remain at the table enjoying the company.. He also did Sunday lunch.

I have no hesitation in recommending Beechwood House, knowing how much we all enjoyed it. A friend has booked it, for a long weekend, to celebrate their Golden Wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen opening directly into the large dining area.
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
It was so nice to see three generations enjoying the house, gardens and swimming pool during the course of your birthday and family get together.
Very best regards.
James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing