We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning, truly stunning place, you can't go wrong”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Ballos
Elafonnisi beach ( 1 hour drive from the Cottage)
Falassarna (30 minutes drive from the Cottage)
Chania (20-25 minutes drive from the Cottage)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kolymbari, Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning, truly stunning place, you can't go wrong”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I am not able to articulate well enough just how fantastic this Villa and the West of Crete is, below is my attempt...
Manolis, and his family are the kindest hosts we've ever experienced.
The villa is beautiful, it's clean, well equipped, well looked after and beautifully located. The pool is a very welcome treat after a long day exploring the beautiful island of Crete.
We were welcomed with lots of lovely fresh fruit, eggs, honey, raki and yoghurt. Manolis gave us the lowdown on great places to explore and eat, every one was a winner and we were very warmly welcomed at all the restaurants/tavernas he suggested.
We had visits from an owl, we regularly saw birds of prey flying and hunting over head.
The villa's located near to the E65, main road and there's easy access to plenty of local shops for your sundries.
All in all this was a beautiful experience and I can't recommend it enough. We've already booked another stay there next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guy a
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful cottage and private pool”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is perfect for a couple wanting peace and quiet in a lovely, sleepy village. A car is a must because there is only one taverna in the village but the small seaside town of Kolymbari with shops and lovely restaurants is an easy five minute drive away.

The cottage is very cool, clean, very well equipped and the pool and private garden are beautiful. Manilos and his parents Yiannis and Katerina are a lovely family with a warm welcome and Manilos definitely goes the extra mile to make sure you have everything you need including helpful tips about the area, restaurants, beaches to visit etc.

Thank you to Manolis for the fresh fruit, yogurt, wine, Raki and all the other extras provided for us when we arrived. We felt very well looked after during our stay but nothing intrusive. The garden is lovely and private and Manolis just checked that we were okay every couple of days.

If we had to pick anything on the downside , be warned that there is a church next to the cottage and the clock does chime the hour but not during the night and this would not stop us returning. We did get used to it during our stay.

A perfect place to explore Western Crete.

We have only been back a day and we are already trying to plan when we can go back to Crete to our little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve R
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic beautiful cottage and peaceful surrounds”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent two weeks staying at this beautiful cottage which was so perfect we hardly moved from the side of the pool for the first week, except for our daily frappe at Mylos Cafe in nearby Kolymbari (10 mins in car).

Manolis provides the perfect service (and more), with a never ending welcome pack (of fresh products eggs, honey, sweet stuff and fruit from his land), information about the local area and trips around the west of the island. Everything you need is provided from towels for the pool to shampoos, moisturisers and regular changes of bedding etc.

The local Taverna in the village (2 min walk) serves very good food and is also very reasonably priced, needless to say we enjoyed 5 or 6 meals there and were never fed up of going back.

For sea food we would highly recommend the Dictina restaurant in Kolymbari, another one of Manolis's tips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect place to relax in the sun
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your nice comments!!It was my plaisure to meet you and try to improve your staying. Looking forward to meeting you again!!!

Wishes,

Manolis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shevus
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Myself ,partner and 10 yr old daughter stayed in Yiannis 's Cottage for two weeks at the beginning of August.We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday whilst staying in this property.
It was lovely,airy and clean and in a beautiful location.
A fridge full of goodies from their farm welcomed us when we arrived.
The pool in the pretty garden was amazing and used constantly.
It was lovely sitting outside at night, listening to and watching all the wildlife(there was a regular owl that would swoop through the garden every night).
Manolis was brilliant and looked after us very well whilst we were there, bringing us fresh eggs and vegetables from the farm and supplying us with lots of useful information on how to get to places and best tavernas , trips and beaches etc.
The local taverna serves tasty local food.
The village is well placed to visit the famous beaches and we took a taxi to beautiful Hania for the day and had a great meal in the old town( Tamam..don't forget to book..very popular!)
You will need a car to appreciate the area though.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and was very sad to leave.
Siobhan Martin and Lucy
Sevenoaks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Many many thanks for your comments!!!I really hope to meet you again!!

Keep in touch,

Manolis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyhike...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good we went back”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our trip in May 2016i s the first time we have ever revisited a property and location (we first visited 2015). Yianni's Cottage is a very restful property and there is so much to see and do near Spilia visiting beaches, the seaside, rural villages, mountains and gorges. The cottage is the perfect size for us (a couple) and there are multiple seating areas outside providing sunshine or shade at any time of day. The cottage is located next to the church with a beautiful view. Yiannis, Katerina and their son Manolis are the best hosts we have ever encountered. Fresh eggs (often still warm) can be collected from the hens in the orchard and I'm pining for the fresh courgettes with flowers still attached cut from the plant for us by Yiannis. As well as cooking in the house and barbecuing outside we also enjoyed the wonderful traditional Cretan restaurants in Spilia (3 minutes walk), Vasiliopoulo, Deliana nearby and at Gramvoussa near Kissamos. The very Cretan resort of Kolymbari is only three kilometres distance and has fresh fish tavernas, many run by the fisherman, as well as grills for souvlaki and Cretan specialities. The freshness and quality of all the food is incredible. There is a Friday morning market near the church in Kolymbari which has great fresh food stalls at the far end - past the t-shirts stalls.
From the off the main tourist route location of Spilia you can easily visit the lovely town of Chania for shopping, a great market, trendy bars, a wide variety of restaurants and a memorable harbour.
Finally I would like to thank Manolis for his attention to detail, arranging the car for us, plentiful support and his delightful company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cretan hospitality especially the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing