We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
367
145
38
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
145
38
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite sea view a la carte direct pool access complimentary wine and fruit bus timetables relaxing holiday lunch and dinner quiet resort small hotel all inclusive package pool bar hard working staff the hotel manager cretan dishes fantastic week a smile on their face
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We arrived at this hotel on Monday 23rd May and we was greeted by a lovely lady who was on reception. ( I didn't catch her name but she has long dark straight hair). Her attention to details and customer service skills were second to none. There was a mix top on our room after initially booking a room with an extra bed, this was not a problem though as the lady resolved this problem and we ended up being upgraded to a sea view room at a small cost. On arrival we were given a complimentary glass of bubbles which we thought was a nice touch.The hotel room was clean and tidy and we received maid service daily. The breakfast was served in the restaurant between 7:30am and 10:00am with late breakfast between 10:00am and 10:30am and is overlooking the beach/sea, the choice of food was acceptable - the only thing I would like to mention was that maybe the food could have been alternated with choice as sometimes the food was the same over the curse of the week.

At breakfast (on more than one occasion) we found that there were no bowls or plates available, due to too many guests and not enough staff. The lack of teapots and hot water needs to be mentioned also. After mentioning this to staff though they happily resolved this for us. This happened after Wednesday ( we stayed Monday to Monday).

We didn't eat in the restaurant at any other time as we were only bed and breakfast however this hotel does offer all inclusive as an option. The food is available between 13:00 - 15:00 (lunch) and 19:00-21:30(dinner). The hotel has a pool bar, bar within the hotel and a mini shop on site which was handy to have. There is also parking facilities onsite which is opposite the hotel. There are plenty of swimming pools within the hotel however one of these pools is a private pool and there are signs which indicate this. The pool area, sun beds, umbrellas in front of rooms 207 to 211 are exclusive use to those rooms.

During our stay we asked if it was possible to have an iron and within minutes this was bought up to the room. The only thing I would like to say about the rooms is that if the customer is not on the all inclusive package then it would be nice to have kettle and refreshment facilities - when we asked we did receive a kettle but no tea etc so had to buy out own. The hotel also offers free wifi and you need to obtain the code on arrival. Within the area there are some nice shops and tavernas down the side streets and on the sea front. There are also buses which you can catch within the area bus stop one stops at platanias, aria marina and chania and bus stop 2 stops at Kissamos, Falasama and Elafonisi.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidays4me_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear holidays4me_9,
Thank you very much for detailed review and for taking time to share your experience of your stay in our resort.
We are really happy to learn that you enjoy you had a pleasant stay. The management and the staff of our resort are already informed about all of your notices.
We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Grandbay Beach Resort, on my first trip to crete. We were welcomed by friendly staff, and a complimentary glass of champagne. The hotel comes with around 5 swimming pools, although one is a private pool. Free wifi & easy access carpark. It has a handful of restaurants along the beach, and plenty of gift shops local. We booked our trip through e-bookers, but unfortunately the hotel staff were not made aware of the extra person staying with us. We had to change our room for extra cost, but were given the option of a room with balcony and a sea view....very nice. All in all I would say this hotel is brilliant. Good staff, tidy hotel and very nice location, what more could you want?

I feel however, I must mention the bad parts.

* There isn't enough sun loungers from mid week, when more guests checked in. We stayed monday to monday, by thursday, the beach was packed with all sun loungers gone.

* at breakfast (on more than one occasion) we found that there were no bowls or plates available, due to too many guests and not enough staff. The lack of teapots and hot water needs to be mentioned also.

Apart from these tiny details, I can honestly say my first trip to crete was a huge success. Perfect little break.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Little_duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Little_duke,
Thank you very much for your review and for your feedback.
The opinion of our guests is very important to us in order to upgrade our services to the highest level.
We are glad to read that you are totally satisfied from choice in our resort to spend you summer vacations.
Finally, we would like to inform you that the management and the staff of our resort are already informed about all of your notices in order to proceed with all the necessary moves.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights all inclusive and could not fault it. Our room was a suite facing the sea and was really spacious with private sunbeds. The food was tasty with lots of variety and the a la carte was definately worth a visit. The staff were always happy to do everything the could to help and make a great team.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 825Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear 825Amanda
Thank you very much for your review and for your preference shown in our resort to spend your summer vacations.
We are really happy to learn that you had such a pleasant stay in our resort and that you enjoy our All Inclusive program so much.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We booked to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary , delighted with room upgrade offered on arrival with champagne and gateaux .
Room , food ,drinks and service all excellent , the resort is very quiet with low key entertainment on a coupLe of evenings.
We found some amazing beaches , it was nice to have a hire car.
Thank for a lovely holiday , we hope to rerun next year.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sueb0xall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear sueb0xall,
Thank you very much for your review and about choosing our resort to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary.
We are glad to learn that you had a relaxing stay and that you enjoy our served food so much.
It was our honor to meet you in personal during your stay, and we will be very happy to celebrate all of your upcoming wedding anniversaries together.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Purpose was to have a relaxing week and that we got. Grand bay is an adults only hotell with all you need. Great food and drinks. Helpful staff and nice rooms. Good wifi at extra cost. We had nothing to complain about and will hopefully return in the future :-)

Date of stay: May 2016
1  Thank HValtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grand Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Dear HValtin,
Thank you very much for your review and for your excellent scoring!
We are glad to read that you had a relaxing stay in our resort and that you enjoy all of our available facilities and services so much.
It will be our honor to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews