We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”
Review of Palio Arhontiko

Palio Arhontiko
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Kolymbari
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 18 - USD 35
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Introduced by friends and totally fabulous with beautiful beach frontage. Our best meal whilst in Crete. Delicious starters including stuffed mushrooms, fried courgettes (my absolute favourite) and stuffed artichokes, melted cheese and super sardines. Calamari pie was mains highlight but sticky ribs and swordfish also commended. Service is excellent with them managing a group of 9 with ease and we simply couldn't fault the place. 5 stars all round.

Thank Joandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is perfectly located by the sea in Kolimbari. We had todays fish and it was very tasty. We asked the waitor for a good white wine to go with the fish, and got a excellent wine. When we came to the restaurant we got a glass with sparkling wine on the house, and later a very good dessert, also on the house. All in all we highly recommend this restaurant. Though it is a bit pricey.

Thank Benedicte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal tonight. From the welcome glass of fizz, attentive service, lovely food and delicious dessert which was foc our family have our meal a collective 10/10. Do book in advance as it seems a popular place to eat. Great house red btw!

Thank Sarahbird33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited Palio Arhontiko on Monday because of the great reviews we saw on TripAdvisor and the service was good. When we went on Monday we got seated on a table to that was spacious enough for three people and were offered a bottle of water, glasses of sparkly wine and given the menu which was a fantastic welcome. We ordered seafood pasta, sardines, a type of fish filet and fried calamari. There is only one person that takes the orders at that is the honor. When we got our food delivered we received shrimps instead of fried calamari and informed the waitress but we didn't cause a scene about it and excepted it and payed for it. Today we went for a second chance to try different food but it was much worse. This time for a starter we ordered Cretan salad and Tzatziki which we received however a minute later the waitress serving us tonight came with a plate of meatballs insisting we had ordered it. We know what we ordered and we definitely had not ordered meatballs and kept asking "are you sure?" About the meatballs. She came back twice asking and even the manger that took the order came to ask. Of course this is definitely extremely rude and annoying as this had happened for the second time now. When we settled down and were having our starter and were about half way through it the same waitress approached us and said that our main course would be ready in 5-6 minutes which was a normal thing they did there. She left our table for a few seconds and came back to our table saying that she must take the plates from the starter so she could put the main course plates on the table but we hadn't even finished. After making a complaint to the manager's daughter she said that if customers are still eating their starter, the chefs can delay the food for a bit which we found weird as the waitress wanted to take our starter away.

Thank AshAyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palioarhontiko, Ιδιοκτήτης at Palio Arhontiko, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Sir,
What happened was a juncture of unfortunate events and we are very sorry about that. Because we know how to recognize our successes, we also recognize our mistakes. For the two mistakes made in your order, the two times you dine in the restaurant can happen to anyone (even your own restaurant as you said you have). Unfortunately, we can not accept your score at this critic for the simple reason that what happened could happen to each one of us and according to the rest of the criticisms (made on the same day) and that every evening the restaurant is full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We came to have dinner with the family, food was great, service was amazing. Water is free and you get a glass of bubbly wine on the house as well.
Different from all the regular Taverna's and a nice change in atmosphere

Thank Sharonganot182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palio Arhontiko also viewed

 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Palio Arhontiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing