We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Atsipopoulo, Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Czech first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Raymond C
1 review
“mr”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Superb villa, very spacious and beautifully appointed. Great pool with lots of outdoor seating...great big BBQ to avail of. Would definitely recommend. It's in the middle of a small town and close to the city with beaches and lots of bars and amazing shops. The owner extremely helpful and generous

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melio G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa to spend relaxing time with friends and young children and explore Crete”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Crete for a week last week - altogether four adults and three kids, between 8 and 10 years old - and we are so happy to have chosen Villa Elia for our stay! Not only looks the villa like on the pictures online, but it is much better in reality, very tidy and clean, pleasantly decorated, all its rooms had a pleasant smell and we felt very much at home there. Bathrooms are functional and clean. The matresses are very good, the kitchen is well equipped with almost everything one needs for breakfast, a simple meal for the evening or also for the BBQ, which we really enjoyed using on Easter Sunday.
The pool was lots of fun for our kids! even though the April weather was a bit chilly for one or two days ... the light breeze did not spoil tthe fun!
Next to the villa there is a super market for the first basics and a friendly bakery. There are also a couple of tavernas, as well as bigger super markets and groceries, which are situated very near to the villa and most of them can be reaced on foot.

Even if the two villas Myrtia and Elia are situated very near to each other, the place was quite and we enjoyed privacy. Villa Elia is located in Atsipopoulo, a traditional small village, very near to the main city Rethymno, which is fast and easy to access by car, but there is also the possibility for frequent public bus trasport. The location is ideal for excursions both to north- and south-west Crete. We needed max. one hour's drive to visit Knossos, Archanes and Chania, much less for the Kourtaliotiko pass and gorge and Prveli beach, Bali, Melidoni stalactite/stalagmite cave, Arkadi and other interesting and fascinating places.

The owners of the villa are very kind and hospitable Cretans, a lovely, friendly and helpful family - many thanks for the easter eggs and the "lampades" for the kids!

We shall definitely visit Elia again and we wholeheartedly recommend this great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself with plenty of room for kitchen, dining and sitting rooms, the veranda with the pool, the friendliness and hospitality of property owners, the location.
Liked least: Wifi access was unfortunately not as strong inside the villa, but was fine outside at veranda and pool area.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Close to neighbouring villa pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gillybuk
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Villa, well appointed, visually appealing, good for a family with kids who can swim or couples.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Mary and George made our booking easy. They gave us so much information before we arrived. The villa was easy to find with the directions they sent. Mary even helped us with our car hire. The Raki on arrival certainly set the trend for the rest of our time there. ATM within 50m. Small supermarket within 100m. Massive Aldi within 5 mins drive for cheap wine and beer. Reth is only an 8 Euro taxi ride away. The old town is great, shops, tavern, restaurants etc. Do not eat at the No1 trip advisor restaurant called Alvi, we found the food poor and the bill very high! We loved restaurant Ambrosia on the sea front. Brilliant fillet steak to die for, very friendly service, better food than Alvi, Guys, all eating places don't mind you wearing shorts and flip flops. Do not let the wife pack those smart trousers and shoes!! Try the beaches to the west of Reth, not bad and most have a tavern with waiter service to you beach chair. The road going to the south coast is safe and takes some 45 mins. Lovely small towns with a real chilled out holiday atmosphere. We stayed 11 to 21 September and were totally relaxed and enjoyed our stay so much. George gave us a hand made picture made by Mary on departure. Mary runs this villa and the one next door as a family business. We feel guests can pay their deposit and feel safe that everything will be in order on arrival. Please feed the cat that can only walk on 3 legs! He likes Tuna, Trout and Salmon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The beds were on the firm side.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisa M
Tver, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic and superb Villa Elia!!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I travelled to Crete with my spouse and we have returned from the trip just a few days ago; for our staying on the island we chose Villa Elia and we found us to be 200% right in our choice! The Villa looks exactly like on the pictures, there is a very pleasant smell in all the rooms of the Villa, which made our stay even more nice and comfortable. There is absolutely nothing I can say a bad word about, everything was just perfect - rooms, decoration (the villa is very nicely and creatively decorated by its owner), the quality of bed linen and towels, the kitchen is well equipped with nearly everything that you might need, they even have a BBQ place near the swimming-pool, which can be a great fun! The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and fresh. The location of the villa is perfect too - just about 5-7 minutes drive to Rethymno, to the see and to the beaches, but at the same time it is outside the usual touristic paths, the villa is a private place for you to feel absolutely relaxed and to feel like at home. Indeed, as for us, we started feeling like at home the same evening that we arrived - so cozy and comfortable it is. The village Atsipopoulo where the Villa is located is very nice too, there are at least three good supermarkets near the villa, it will take you just a couple of minutes to reach two of them just by foot, and get what you need - do not miss fresh greek goat yoghurt!! The owners of the villa are very friendly, hospitable and helpful family, we really enjoyed talking to them. So, we definitely recommend the place to anyone who is planning his trip to Crete, Villa Elia will become an excellent addition to incredibly stunning Cretan landscapes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing