We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L'Antica Vetreria
Nearby Hotels
USD 104
USD 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Da Elio(Piegaro)
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Po Del Santo(Piegaro)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
97
5
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
5
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstom and colleenmonte vibianoglass factoryumbria and tuscanymodern conveniencesgreat hostsgelateriathe kitchenplenty of spacewealth of knowledgetourist sitessmall thingsa wonderful place to stayoverlooking the valleywonderful hill townsdecent restaurantwould love to go back
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Overall, this place is lovely. It is one of the few "resort" type stays you can find while still being in a village. The hosts are extremely warm and genuinely interested. They are full of good advice on where to go and what to see. They are very accommodating and very easy to deal with.

They have done a wonderful job in renovating an historic site for used as a villa. This includes a beautiful pool which acts as a social hub for the site, resulting in a communal atmosphere. Having said that, there are some details that potential guests should know. It is a very old (~1300 years!) structure. This means that the upper floors can be quite hot during the summer. We were in the bottom where it was cool and dark. The floors are the original dusty brick, so that takes a little getting used to. Some of the 1300 year old plaster dust can drift down from the ceiling.

However, overall, the apartments are extremely well equipped. Laundry is readily available and complimentary. The village contains the vast majority of things you need within a 10 min walk including a decent restaurant, bar, grocery, gelateria, and a fantastic butcher. Many of the better known places in Umbria are 45-75 min drive away (eg Gubbio, Cortona, Assisi) so a fair amount of driving is involved.

We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leolo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks so much for sharing your experience! We have added vapor fans in all of the upper units now and during heat of summer it is very relaxing. We are surely the only property with great pool and views right within steps of all amenities that you mentioned. A walk across the piazza for a wonderful grilled steak from the butcher served at the restaurant terrace. Finish off a wonderful evening with a gelato at the bar. We are happy you enjoyed exploring both Umbria and Assisi's most famous sights and some are even closer at 30 minutes to Lago Trasimeno around the 4th largest lake in Italy and Panicale with its gorgeous piazza at 10 minutes. Sometimes a week is just not enough time to see it all. The ground floor apartment, La Terrazza, dating from 840 offers a cool oasis, but some of the ancient plaster dust, although coated each year, remains. We hope the cool atmosphere was a good trade off as well as the huge grass terrace for evening sunset views. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I brought two tour groups to Piegaro in June 2017. Our accommodations at L'Antica Vetreria were perfect. The experience of staying in an ancient building with all the modern conveniences made our stay magical. Colleen and Tom went above and beyond with their time and attention, entertaining us with delightful stories about the historical sights we visited. They truly care about their guests' experience and bring a love of Umbria and their adopted village to all they do. I will be back with another group next year!

Room Tip: The villa is perfect for large groups, but our favorite apartment was Il Forno.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you so much Keli! We enjoyed hosting your groups for two weeks and loved every minute! It is guests like you and your groups who remind us of just how much passion can be rewarded with appreciation of our dream. We will welcome you back and cannot wait to begin the planning for next year.
Highest regards,
Colleen and Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Just returned home from an amazing week at L'Antica Vetreria. A fantastic experience in beautifully renovated glass factory originally founded in 1292 and located in the medieval village of Piegaro.
Comfortable and charming, the 4 spacious apartments have all the modern conveniences, kitchens and a nice view. The Villa sleeps 10 and each of the 5 bedrooms has it's own private bath (clean and modern) and a well-equipped kitchen. Plenty of space to dine and relax, The grounds are beautiful with flowers blooming everywhere.
Owners Colleen and Tom, are great hosts, willing to share their wealth of knowledge about Umbria and the surrounding region. Upon arrival, Tom took us on a lovely and informative tour through lovely Piegaro. We were lucky to have Colleen guide us through Assisi, the exquisite Monte Vibiano Winery and the Museo del Vetro,
If you get the chance to have Colleen or Tom guide you, take it, you'll learn more than you ever could alone. So knowledgeable and many anecdotes you don't read about or hear on other tours.

Piegaro is located in the middle of Umbria, between Orvieto and Perugia. We were within a reasonable drive to these towns, as well as Assisi, Deruta, Montepulciano and other wonderful hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria. if you don't feel like touring, that's ok - Just a few yards from your door you'll find a nice restaurant and the friendly people of Piegaro.
Nearby (9km) is the town of Tavernelle, with a fun local market. From there it's just a few kilometers to Panicale, another quiet town with a fabulous restaurant.

You will not find a more comfortable or better-home base from which to explore the beautiful Umbrian countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2onatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share with our future guests the truly amazing week you had with us! Boy it really makes a dream come true to see such enthusiastic praise! It was truly a dream of ours to receive guests into one of the most beautiful regions of Italy, our Green Heart of Italy! Come back and you will be welcomed with open arms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

What a wonderful place to stay. We were there with a group for a week. Colleen and Tom were excellent hosts that were very knowledgeable of the area and sights. The Villa was a great place to stay with a group and Colleen and Tom did an excellent job of converting the old glass factory into a top tier vacation destination. Would love to go back for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

So happy that you loved the restoration we did with our 13th century glass factory into the gorgeous Villa. We are so pleased you enjoyed your relaxing week with us and do hope you will tell friends and family. And do return! You will always be welcome and there are so many more experiences in Umbria and nearby Tuscany. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Colleen & Tom showed us their beautiful villa that has 5 bedrooms & wonderfully decorated. They also have apartments that are one or two bedrooms which were all decorated nicely & comfy..
I would stay there in a heartbeat..

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank milehidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleeninPiegaro, Owner at L'Antica Vetreria, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

So happy to have met you at lunch in the piazza. Glad you could see our spacious, gorgeous villa that sleeps ten with five bedrooms and baths ensuite. All of our apartments are lovingly restored and we have been welcoming guests from around the world for ten years. We would love to host you when you return!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews