We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
142
82
27
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
82
27
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews packed lunch afternoon tea road noise evening meal great holiday the main road the hotel manager lake garda free boat trip crisps assistant manager young staff an aperitif lake tour bbq night week holiday gardone riviera
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Well placed hotel for holiday. Very friendly staff, but Hotel is very tired and in much need of refurbishment.
Pool area quite shabby and dated but safe and reasonably clean.
Meals and wine OK.
Absolutely can't fault efforts of staff they are very good!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank M4382AAjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Currently operated by Inghams, the Chalet Hotel Galeazzi in Gardone on Lake Garda was a great place to holiday. Being a ‘Chalet’ hotel, it offered the same set up as you get in a catered ski chalet, with breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea (home baked cakes and biscuits), pre-dinner prosecco & nibbles plus 3 course dinner with a glass of wine at every course. The food was excellent, the rooms were really spacious (ours had a side view of the lake over some surrounding houses). There is a nice smallish pool and outside areas to sit and the bar prices are really reasonable. The guests were mostly British older couples and young families and there was a very relaxed and cordial atmosphere throughout - this was largely down to the terrific attitude of the staff. They are mostly young Brits though the manager, Marcos, is Spanish with a few local staff. They really couldn’t do enough for you. Always smiling and helpful, seeming genuinely interested in your plans for the day and sharing local knowledge. Remembering your room number and what you had previously ordered and generally behaving like one big happy family. This seems to be the Inghams factor, who sadly won’t be operating this particular hotel after this season. Most of the staff had worked in their other resorts previously and were planning to do the winter season with Inghams elsewhere. Our Rep, Ryan Brewer, was fantastic - funny and super-helpful in organising places on the many reasonably priced excursions on offer. They also met us at the airport and delivered us back, right up to the check in desks, and had smart, comfortable air conditioned buses for the transfer. Our holiday also included a complimentary half day boat trip across the lake, which was excellent.
Lake Garda itself is stunningly beautiful- the west side where we stayed (Salò is the nearest sizeable town) was quieter than the East, where the town of Garda itself lies. You can swim in the lake at a series of small, pebble beaches all around the island. The water is much warmer than the sea, though the stones are hard on the feet requiring pool shoes to be worn. It is cute swimming with ducks and swans around, rather than gulls! There are lots of wonderful, historic sites and buildings to visit. We adored Verona though we were disappointed that the opera excursion we hoped to go on was cancelled due to insufficient numbers the day we planned to go. Another highlight was the cable car trip up the mountain from Malcesine reached by a ferry from Gardone across the lake. The buses were very unreliable due to the heavy traffic around the lake perimeter roads and we found the ferry much better for timelines and general enjoyment.
All in all a fantastic holiday - very hot reaching 35 degrees in August. We would recommend Inghams unreservedly and plan to check out their offers again next holiday.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lynnette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

If, as seems to be the case, the hotel's Italian owners take back operational management control, this hotel could have a bright future. As it is it's "chalet" status just doesn't seem to do it justice. Despite a young and enthusiastic staff, almost exclusively British, it just can't deliver on customer satisfaction. Why not? Quite simply the lack of effective management and the required checks and controls it should involve. Staff were constantly reacting to requests for cups, glasses, freshwater refills, cutlery etc etc rather than monitoring availability on an ongoing basis. The sense of crisis management at meal times, despite meal choices having been made the day before and the request for everyone to be seated at the same time, was equally evident. Everyone looked very busy but there was no sense of leadership or direction. Room cleaning was an interesting experience in that all the room doors are left wide open throughout the process. I was less than reassured by the "no worries" management comment - it would work in a true "chalet" environment but doesn't seem sensible when the Reception area is invariably unmanned. The cleaning process itself is not effective, with accumulated dust etc under beds/sofa beds and overflowing waste bins and unreplenished soap containers in the public toilet.However, despite all this we did enjoy our time here and reconciled it with the cost, which included packed lunches (except Monday the staff day off)(OK they are 3 choice baguette based plus crisps and orange juice, lunches); afternoon tea and pre-dinner nibbles with prosecco . Add to these 3 glasses of wine with dinner and we concluded that we probably got what we paid for overall and our Room (210), which had a good sunny view of both hills and the pool, was of a good size albeit with a very small shower enclosure. As said earlier the staff were all very friendly and helpful, with Esmie at the bar standing out in particular as being very well motivated and, thankfully, self reliant.

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel through Inghams. The resort is fairly quiet, but it’s a short ferry or bus ride to Salò which is a more lively resort. The hotel was really good. A little tired in places but clean and comfortable. All the Inghans staff worked hard and were a friendly bunch. The best bits were the extras, like an aperitif and glass of prosecco each evening before dinner. Having the same table and being served dinner was also a bonus lovely to escape the melee of all inclusive and fighting for a table. The room was light and airy with 2 small balconies and a view of the lake. Really good breakfast with Cumberland sausages and back bacon. All in all a fantastic holiday despite the very hot weather

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

First thing off my chest, we paid £650 for a week here yet some others paid £390 to £490 so even if you fancy this hotel wait for a bargain. We were in room 208, which we had chosen and were happy with the room, traffic noise not too bad except for the numerous ambulances but you need them so no complaints there. Scooters and Harley Davidsons were a pain but you have to live with that no matter where you are. Air con really welcomed but take ear plugs or live with it. Food really nice, can't fault one meal and you can have the packed lunch as well as your evening meal so don't miss out like some people did. The majority of the staff were brilliant, I did change my view on Ryan the main rep and Marcos the manager after we met an old couple who were seated on table 33 who complained about their room. They had paid £2500 for two weeks and were given a terrible room overlooking the waste bins and on the corner of the hotel with lots of noise. The chap told me that Ryan kept saying there were no other rooms although there are several changeover days and did not seem at all interested. Marcos was the same and as the chap said to me "you can only understand 50% of what he says" which was a view shared by a lot of guests.

The staff have a day off on Monday and a meal option at a restaurant is offered at a price of 29 euros for a 3 course meal and wine. The first course of lasagne was nice, the second course of a meat feast with chips and salad was a joke and the tiramisu was okay but nothing special. The meat feast consisted of four pieces of meat, three flattened and one like a quarter of a sausage which in Italy may be a feast as it would be for a inhabitant of Lilliput. Best thing was the free flowing wine but for 29 euros you can get a good pizza and two bottles of wine from anywhere.

The 12 euro boat ride to Salo for the sensational street bands music evening was another disappointment and waste of money. I don't class one female singer on one street and a 6 piece band on another street to be sensational but Ryan did and pushed the trip with book early as it gets packed and you will have to queue for a drink. No it wasn't and no you didn't.

Lastly, the quiz night. 3 euros each and you may win a prize. 30 people playing at 3 euros equals 90 euros and the winning team and second team get a bottle of wine? So shall we say 10 euros each for a decent bottle of wine so 20 euros, where does the other 70 euros go as nobody else got a prize? Did it go to a charity we were not told about?

Would I go again, no as Inghams have not got the hotel next year as the family want it back. If I had gone back at least I would have known what to say no to.

Room Tip: Think you will struggle because of the noise and allocation
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews