We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with beautiful sea views”
Review of Bacolet Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bacolet Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Bacolet Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Our room had a large balcony with comfy loungers so that we could relax and take in the sea views.The room itself was clean , with a large fourposter bed and flat screen TV.Bathroom had large walk in shower with plenty of hot water.Staff were friendly and were quick to sort out any minor problems. Room cleaned and tidied everyday with fresh towels etc. Breakfast (included) was good - cereal,juices,fresh fruit, cooked breakfast ,toast and coffee.Evening meals at Cafe Havana were good but pricey especially when taxes added.Happy hour 3-7pm so eat early for half price drinks ! places to eat nearby are very limited so we ate at the Havana each night -if you fancy a change hotel can arrange a taxi.We took a couple of trips with a taxi driver arranged by the hotel -we found it a cheap way to see a bit more of the island. We took three bird watching trips with Newton George.He is the premier bird guide in Tobago. We contacted him by e-mail before our trip (just google him) Trips were quite expensive but superb.We went to the rain forest, Little Tobago and a day trip to Trinidad.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiptonWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

I thought the front office would be aghast at the size of our family but if they were they hid it well. Looking at our brood the manager, Sari, upgraded us to a larger suite at no extra cost. The kids loved the oceanview from our large patio. In fact the kids loved everything about the Bacolet Beach Club from it gardens to its private beach. The kitchen too was most attentive making kiddie’s meals just the way they liked it. We had such a great time that my husband said we must do it again next year – and stick with the same boutique hotel. They know how to look after you at this beach resort hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We had the most stunning stay at the BBC. For 18 days we had the most courteous service, the highest possible standard of cleanliness and some very good meals in Cafe Havana. We could not fault the lunch menu at the beach bar ( it would be nice to see it introduced in the evening menu in some form). Would like to mention Bashir a great ambassador not only for the beach bar but for the hotel and great knowlege of fishing trips and more.
You will need a good reliable driver on your holiday in Tobago. We cannot recommend highly enough Trevieno Marcelle. Trevieno is a young man (29) with an extraordinary ability to enthuse his customers into enjoying every mile in Tobago. His tours are wonderfull and his contacts are many. So you do see a real Tobago in its many forms. We did have a hire car but used Trevieno to show us the sights on the island that were important in Tobago's history. Restaurants worthy of mention Dillons sea food at Crown Point (also a sport fishing boat for hire in Scarborough) , The Seahorse Inn just passed Mt Irvine and Jemmas tree house in Speyside. We will return to Tobago and the BBC.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AberdeenAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the last year and a half and it is the only place I will stay on Tobago. The location is excellent and I love the private beach and pool. The restaurant serves some of the best food to be had on Tobago. I cannot say enough about how much I enjoy my stays here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Bacolet Beach Club and I do recommend it. The rooms are comfortable with really nice four poster beds, TVs with a variety of stations for the rainy days indoors we had, very nice updated bathroom and the first floor balconies have great views. The pool is small (but beautiful & clean!) and we found that some days we had difficulty finding deck chairs. However, there was always room on the private beach which was great. Every afternoon we ate lunch at the beach bar and had cocktails. The restaurant, Cafe Havana, is really good and compared to London prices, I didn't feel like it was ridiculously expensive and I always enjoyed my food. (We tried the hotel next door once for dinner and THAT was overpriced for bad food.) There is a small shop a couple minutes walk up the road where we bought cheaper beers, soft drinks and some snacks but it's not a full grocery store. We removed some of the mini bar items and just put our own things in it - this didn't seem to upset anyone.

I think the best thing about Tobago generally, which does not suit everyone, is how under developed it is. This really took us by surprise. There are only two recommended restaurants in Scarborough which are run by families and are not open every night. You wouldn't really walk around Scarborough like you would in some tourist areas on other Caribbean islands. Scarborough is a very small city (4 GBP cab ride) and the next closest area we went to eat was Crown Point (10 GBP cab ride) - other than a few drinks and a meal, there isn't much at Crown Point in the evenings either. Most of the island is a nature reserve, so driving around the island gives some really great views and Speyside and Charlotteville are very cute fishing towns with gorgeous views. The roads are winding and small but in good condition as some were only paved three years ago! If you require a high energy, resort filled, five star, built up island this is not for you. If you truly want to relax, have some nice seafood, and enjoy some gorgeous unspoiled views and beaches - Tobago is perfect and BBC will provide a very comfortable and lovely place to stay.

Some tips: Make reservations at the few restaurants in Crown Point or Scarborough and check if they are open before rocking up; Consider a day sailing with Markus Grundman - he was great (he's sailed his boat across the Atlantic), you get to do some snorkeling, you can get involved in the sailing and he does very reasonable private charters; The best way to see the island is to rent a car or some cabbies do island tours

Room Tip: First floor has the best views. I did hear over hear some people disappointed because their ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacolet Bay
0.2 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
253 reviews
13.2 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
6 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
1.5 km away
Half Moon Blue Hotel
Half Moon Blue Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bacolet Bay
136 reviews
12.6 km away
Coco Reef Resort & Spa Tobago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacolet Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacolet Beach Club

Address: Bacolet Street 72, Bacolet Bay, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Bacolet Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bacolet Bay
Price Range: $142 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bacolet Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bacolet Beach Club is an exclusive boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Bar where its owners have created a stylist retreat. This delightful hotel shares a commitment to luxury and personal service, while its intimate size encourages a particularly warm and friendly atmosphere. A deliberately restful and luxurious property enjoying an idyllic crescent-bay setting on an island blessed with exceptional natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bacolet Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bacolet Beach Club Hotel Bacolet Bay
Bacolet Beach Club Tobago/Bacolet Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing